159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

Or how to bury the imagination

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2014-04-16
If it is useless to hold a competition when there are no beliefs in the virtues of emulation and collective judgment, it is, above all, futile to hold an ideas competition when one fears the surprises of imagination and experimentation. The first part of the Green Line ideas competition (Toronto, 2012), presented in the most recent update of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue, proposed an ideation exercise aiming to generate public debate. However it is harder to understand the relevance of the second part, entitled "Underpass Solutions", which required designers to stick to "realistic and feasible ideas".

Editorials that go with each update of the CCC are not written as part of a platform for opinions or for the promotion of any competition, nor do they try to praise the winners or console the losers. Nonetheless, as researchers devoting a significant part of our scientific activities to the documentation and understanding of competitions and contemporary practices of projects, both in Canada and elsewhere in the world, it behooves us to take this opportunity to emphasize that the use of ideas competitions requires a minimum of respect for design teams. In its rules for international competitions, the International Union of Architects insists on the distinction, perhaps unfairly, between ideas and projects competitions. Some people will emphasize the inherent misnomer associated with this distinction, as it implies that most projects are separated from ideas. However, this distinction is generally understood as stemming from a clarification of the objectives of any type of competition. The organization of a projects competition always entails a measure of feasibility and appropriateness for each proposal; thus there is always a form of realism since the winning project is not necessarily the most daring and the most innovative. Adolf Loos' famous response to the great competition for the Chicago Tribune in 1922 remained in people's minds precisely for its critical capacity, but the competition's organizers expected a good "solution", in addition to their desire to have a successful event, as they were all good communication professionals. That being said, the organization of an ideas competition requires a willingness to open the question to all possible forms of responses, including, and perhaps especially, those answers that will challenge the question, the site, as well as the very idea of the competition. A non-restrictive ideas competition is perhaps the best way to prepare a great project competition as it opens the door to a reformulation of the issue addressed by the competition, based on the contenders' proposals.

As for the "Underpass Solutions" part of the Green Line ideas competition (Toronto, 2012), 15 projects were submitted and all of them were somehow reflecting the characteristics of the double contradictory injunction imposed by the organizers: mediocre, confused, and uninteresting. The aim of the competition was to address these crossing places. There are at least 8 underpasses along the 5 km-long power line corridor crossing the city of Toronto, often disturbing, for which designers were invited to address the issues of mobility, security, and visibility. The program stressed the need to provide "realistic and achievable" ideas, in addition to sticking to a modest budget, although no further precisions were provided about this financial constraint. The issue was very interesting, potentially a real "competition question", especially since there is not a lack of comparable situations in the Canadian context. The act of reflecting on the quality of these underpasses is, indeed, well worth the exercise of collective intelligence that is a design competition.

So, what is the problem then? Looking through the 15 proposals available on the organizers' website (http://www.greenlinetoronto.ca/index.htm), which we are relaying here in the hope of supplementing the competition's documentation, we do not find any real models in the true sense of the term. We find underpasses poorly designed (see the horseshoe project), figurative green projects (the attempt to design an arc of greenery is rather elegant), as well as literal green projects (one competitor found nothing better than covering the lanes with a synthetic green carpet). Some urban markers can also be found in some projects, similar to what was done for the first cable-stayed bridges in the nineteenth century, the one in Bristol for instance, except that, in this case, it is underground. Then, when it comes to functional and utilitarian projects, there is an attempt for an "underground theater", which will be particularly disrupted by the deafening noise of the trains (the project cross section is betraying the weakness of the idea). Speaking of sounds, the winning project actually focuses on making acoustic walls meant to receive artistic interventions. Among the other propositions, we can find a large mirror wall which attempts to hide the gateway behind an electronic wall, a device project to circumvent flooding underground passages (or how to create a problem just before solving another one), and most frequently, we can find ideas from contenders who seem to be completely inhibited by the contradictory rules of the competition, at the point of regurgitating the original message. This is the case for the project called "Watershed Refuge" which concludes its project description as follows: "The solutions are cognizant of the fiscal realities facing municipal governments and stakeholders today. These solutions are submitted through a lens of what is practical to implement and replicable at other underpasses within the city."

Fortunately for the world of ideas, although it did not seem to please the jury, several competitors have focused on the "light at the end of the tunnel" and have proposed different lights or illumination devices in accordance with underpasses, bystanders, and situations. One proposal plays with magnetic fields, remembering that the site is, after all, a large power line corridor, while another proposal tries a rainbow-shaped decomposition: always useful in this type of underground situation, even though it is short.

If a competition may also lead to examples that one should not follow, the Green Line "Underpass Solution" competition offers itself as a counterexample of what a good ideas competition should be used for. An ideas competition does not seek a "solution", it rather seeks imagination, to validate the complexity of an issue, or even to identify the most innovative teams. Ideas first, please!
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Ou comment enterrer l'imagination

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2014-04-16
S'il ne sert à rien d'organiser un concours, quand on ne croit pas aux vertus de l'émulation et du jugement collectif, il faudrait surtout se garder d'organiser un concours d'idées quand on craint les surprises de l'imagination et de l'expérimentation. Le premier volet du concours d'idées Green Line (Toronto, 2012), présenté dans la récente mise à jour du CCC, assumait l'exercice d'idéation pour susciter le débat public, mais on comprend mal l'intérêt du second volet, intitulé « Underpass Solutions », qui imposait aux concepteurs de s'en tenir aux « idées réalistes et réalisables ».

Les éditoriaux qui accompagnent chaque mise à jour du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens ne sont pas rédigés comme des tribunes d'opinions et ne visent pas plus la promotion des concours qu'ils ne cherchent à encenser les lauréats ou à consoler les perdants. Par contre, en tant que chercheurs consacrant une part importante de nos activités scientifiques à la documentation et à la compréhension des concours et des pratiques contemporaines du projet, tant au Canada que dans le monde, il nous appartient de saisir cette occasion pour souligner que l'usage des concours d'idées requiert un minimum de respect des équipes de conception. Dans son règlement sur les concours internationaux, l'Union Internationale des Architectes insiste pour distinguer, peut-être abusivement, entre concours d'idées et concours de projets. Certains souligneront l'abus de langage, car cela sous-entendrait presque que les projets ne contiennent pas d'idées. On comprendra toutefois que la distinction relève d'une clarification des objectifs de chaque type de concours. Organiser un concours de projets, c'est toujours mesurer le degré de faisabilité et d'adéquation des propositions, c'est donc toujours une forme de réalisme, puisque le projet gagnant n'est pas forcément le plus audacieux ou le plus innovant. La célèbre réponse d'Adolf Loos, au grand concours du Chicago Tribune en 1922, est restée dans les mémoires justement pour sa capacité critique, mais les organisateurs attendaient bien une « solution », outre leur souhait de faire événement, en bons professionnels de la communication. Par contre, le fait d'organiser un concours d'idées suppose une volonté d'ouvrir la question à toutes les formes possibles de réponses, y compris, et peut-être surtout, ces réponses qui remettront en cause la question, le site, l'idée même d'une réalisation. Un concours d'idées, ouvert, peut-être la meilleure façon de préparer un grand concours de projet en permettant justement une reformulation de la problématique basée cette fois sur les propositions des concurrents.

Dans le cas du volet « Solutions souterraines » du concours d'idées Green Line (2012), les 15 projets reçus ont été à la hauteur de la double injonction contradictoire imposée par les organisateurs : médiocres, confus, inintéressants. Il s'agissait de s'adresser à ces lieux de franchissement, il y en a au moins 8 le long des 5 km de la ligne d'électrification qui traverse la ville de Toronto, ces passages souterrains, le plus souvent inquiétants, pour lesquels les concepteurs étaient invités à régler les questions de mobilité, de sécurité et de visibilité. La commande insistait sur la nécessité de fournir des idées « réalistes et réalisables », y compris en s'en tenant à une modestie budgétaire, sans que cette limite fasse vraiment l'objet de précision. La question était très intéressante, potentiellement une vraie « question de concours », d'autant qu'il ne manque pas de situations comparables dans le contexte canadien. Réfléchir à la qualité de ces passages souterrains vaut bien cet exercice d'intelligence collective qu'est le concours, la chose est entendue.

Dès lors quel est le problème ? En parcourant les 15 propositions qui se trouvent sur le site des organisateurs ( http://www.greenlinetoronto.ca/index.html ) et que nous nous contentons de relayer pour compléter la documentation, on ne trouvera pas vraiment de modèles au sens propre du terme. On trouvera des passages mal dessinés (voir le projet en fer à cheval), des projets verts au sens figuré (la tentative de constituer un arc de verdure est plutôt élégante), et des projets verts au sens propre (un concurrent n'ayant rien trouvé de mieux que de recouvrir les voies de circulation d'un tapis synthétique de couleur verte. On trouvera encore des marquages urbains, comme on en faisait pour les premiers ponts à hauban au XIXe siècle, celui de Bristol par exemple, sauf que dans le cas présent, il s'agit d'un souterrain. Puis du côté des projets fonctionnels et utilitaristes, on trouvera un essai de « théâtre souterrain », qui sera particulièrement troublé par le bruit assourdissant des passages de trains (la coupe trahissant la faiblesse de l'idée). Sur le plan sonore, on trouvera justement un projet (lauréat) misant sur la confection de murs acoustiques destinés à recevoir des interventions artistiques. Ailleurs, un autre mur en forme de grand miroir tente de faire disparaître la passerelle derrière un mur électronique, ou encore un projet de dispositif permettant de contourner les inondations de passages souterrains (ou comment créer un problème juste avant de le résoudre), et on trouvera surtout des idées de concurrents totalement inhibés par la commande contradictoire du concours au point de régurgiter le message. C'est par exemple le cas du projet de « Watershed refuge » qui conclut : « Les solutions prennent acte des réalités fiscales qui touchent aujourd'hui les gouvernements municipaux et les parties prenantes. Ces solutions sont soumises à un filtrage de ce qu'il est possible de réaliser et de reproduire dans les autres passages souterrains ».

Heureusement pour le monde des idées, mais cela n'a pas eu l'heur de plaire aux membres du jury, plusieurs concurrents ont misé sur la « lumière au bout du tunnel » et ont proposé différents dispositifs d'éclairage ou d'illumination fonction des passages, des passants et des situations. L'un joue sur les champs magnétiques, n'oubliant pas après tout qu'il s'agit d'un vaste corridor électrique, l'autre tentant une décomposition en forme d'arc-en-ciel : toujours utile dans ce type de souterrains, même aussi courts.

Si un concours peut aussi conduire à des exemples à ne pas suivre, le concours Green Line « Underpass Solution » s'offre lui-même en contre-exemple de ce à quoi un bon concours d'idées devrait servir. Car un concours d'idées ne recherche pas la « solution », mais de l'imagination, il cherche à valider la complexité de la question, ou même à identifier les équipes les plus innovantes. De l'idée avant tout !
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires