160 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 303 documents

Covering a stadium without retraction

by Bechara Helal, published 2014-04-30
We will have to wait until 2019 before the recurring problem of the Montreal Olympic Stadium could potentially be fixed. Could a new retractable flexible canvas be the solution, or a fixed, traditional roof? What if the stadium remained roofless? And what if the whole building needed to be demolished in order to solve this problem that some now consider a dead end? While engineers debate these questions-come-political-issues, architects explore the constructive problem of massive spans in sport stadiums by means of architectural design competitions.

A two-stage competition, organized by the city of Montreal in 2011, aimed for the construction of a municipal soccer complex in the Villeray/Saint-Michel/Parc-Extension borough on the western perimeter of the Complexe environnemental de St-Michel (CESM). The program of this 12,700 square meter project included two soccer fields, one indoor and another outdoors, serviced by connecting servant spaces (lobby, bleachers, locker rooms, multipurpose room, amongst others). Of the thirty competitors who submitted proposals in the anonymous first stage of the competition, the jury selected four teams to proceed to the second stage: Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes, Éric Pelletier/GLCRM, Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes, and Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design.

The competition program identified three major "challenges" that the future stadium needed to address: the "architectural expression" (volumetric concern, treatment of the long walls, relationship with the street and the site), the "structural challenge of an unobstructed span over the playing field", and the "principles of a sustainable sport-oriented architecture that integrates into the CESM park" (the LEED-NC Gold standard was used as a measure of sustainable development performance). This editorial examines the way these challenges were addressed by the competitors, with a particular emphasis on the architectural figure of the roof.

First, let us consider the "architectural expression" aspect. The competition program goes beyond the traditional problem of architectural composition by mentioning the idea of "architectural identity": the building should absolutely project a "strong image". These terms are found more than once in the jury's comments on each of the second stage proposals. A volumetric analysis of the thirty first-round proposals reveals a clear division into two categories according to the general formal scheme of the projects: the "volume" type buildings and the "roof" type buildings. The former are buildings that appear as monoliths containing the entirety of the interior functions, whereas the latter appear as elongated elements that cover the functions without necessarily containing them. Some proposals are situated at the cusp of the two categories, as is the case of the entries by Atelier Pierre Thibault Martin and by Marcotte/Bienhaker, for example, in which a "roof" type building folds onto itself to become a "volume" type building. The formalization of the "roof" style buildings varies greatly. Thus, some can be identified by the strong expression of their upper section, as is the case with the non-planar surfaces of Cardin Ramirez Julien and Thibodeau Architecture + Design's proposals. In other projects, the roof is not limited to a simple surface but becomes a floating volume that integrates functions into its thickness. This is the case in such projects as Labonté Marcil/Bourgeois Lechasseur or Ruccolo + Faubert Architectes. Overall, there is an equal number of projects of each type both in the first and second round. If Éric Pelletier/GLCRM's and Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes' projects fall into the "volume" category, Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes' and Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design's proposals are definite "roof" type projects. The jury comments clearly reveal a preference for this last category. Thus, the roof is immediately seen as a "strong image" (comment on Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design) "with a simple and strong identity" (comment on Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes). On the contrary, the jury qualifies one of the monolithic project volumes as a project "whose identity lacks character" (comment on Éric Pelletier/GLCRM) and questions the architectural reading of the other: "this concept is ambiguous on a volumetric level, regarding the guiding principles that generated this form; is it a shell or a box with four different sides and a roof?" (comment on Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes). One could conclude that "roof" type buildings responded better to the question of "architectural expression", regardless of the quality of the projects' architectural solutions.

The concept of the roof is directly tied to the "structural challenge of an unobstructed span over the playing field" as stressed in the competition's program. How to architecturally design a roof capable of spanning a soccer field? The buildings in both aforementioned categories envision vastly different solutions. As shown in the sections, the roof over the playing field is envisioned by the first category more as a technical problem: Côté Leahy Cardas / Provencher Roy Associés Architectes' project details a complex constructive composition, while Éric Pelletier/GLCRM consider it a simple large-spanning roof without further detailing it in the presentation documents. Quite the opposite, in the "roof" type buildings, the roof is developed in a more expressive manner, a sort of interior fifth façade. Both teams presenting such proposals push this approach of architectural composition to a level of detail that includes reflected roof/ceiling plans. For Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design, the aforementioned plan is akin to an abstract graphic work of art, whereas for Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes, it is used to simultaneously express the complexity and aesthetics of the structural concept, left visible in the project.

Let us now consider the notion of "sustainable architecture" mentioned in the program. Numerous competition juries assign what may seem like a disproportionate amount of importance to the LEED-NC Gold standard. This is not the case in this competition, where the LEED-NC standard was barely mentioned in the jury's comments. In reality, the jury does not see the notion of "sustainable architecture" only as a materialization of the technical requirements, but also as an integration of the building within the existing context of the park of the CESM. Here too, the "roof" style buildings have an advantage: they are perceived as horizontal, floating above the ground and thus not conflicting with the park. Better yet, Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes' proposal shows a strong intention of fluidly linking the floating roof and the ground: the presentation documents explain that the roof is not simply a floating plane but a result of a delamination of a layer of the ground itself following a folding (pliage) operation.

"A pavilion in the park, with a simple and strong architectural identity" is the way the jury qualified the winning project, from the team comprised of Saucier + Perrotte and Hughes Condon Marler Architectes. Although qualifying a project of 12,700 square meters as a "pavilion" may be somewhat surprising, this description emphasizes the impression one can have of a building that can be summarized by the simple, light and solid figure of its roof. If, in the case of the Olympic Stadium, the roof is seen today as a problematic element materializing the crisis, or even the ruin, of a radical architecture, in the case of the future CESM soccer complex it should be seen as the very heart of an adventurous and integrated architecture.

Finally, we should highlight two unusual conclusions drawn by the competition's jury. On the one hand, as was the case for the Saint-Laurent sports complex competition in 2010, and as Jean-Pierre Chupin mentioned in his editorial on the competition (November 2012), the jury decided to publish not only a winning proposal but also a list of recommendations to the winners that they consider to be "essential to the development of the project". This highly unusual double operation enabled the jury to assume a more complete role in the design process than is normally seen in a design competition. On the other hand, in addition to naming a winner, the jury awarded a special mention to Éric Pelletier/GLCRM, thus recognizing the quality of the architectural ideas of a non-winning project. The history of architectural design competition is rich with projects that, while not being identified as winners, yet deserve this level of appreciation, either for the quality of the design solution they propose or for the relevance of the disciplinary questions they raise. The fact that the jury report ends with these unusual conclusions reminds us that the architectural competition should not be solely seen as the means of selecting a solution to a given problem, but also as a process of collective construction.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

Couvrir un stade sans se rétracter

par Bechara Helal, publié le 2014-04-30
Il faudra attendre 2019 pour que soit potentiellement réglé le problème récurrent du Stade olympique. Faudra-t-il installer une nouvelle toile flexible rétractable ou un toit rigide fixe ? Et si le stade restait sans toit ? Et s’il fallait démolir l’ensemble pour régler ce problème, pour certains, insoluble ? Alors que les ingénieurs débattent de ces questions devenues de véritables enjeux politiques, des architectes exploraient le problème constructif de la grande portée des stades sportifs dans le cadre d’un concours d’architecture.

Le concours en deux étapes organisé par la Ville de Montréal en 2011 vise la construction d’un complexe de soccer municipal dans l’arrondissement de Villeray/ Saint-Michel/Parc-Extension, au périmètre ouest du parc du Complexe environnemental de Saint-Michel (CESM). Le programme du projet de 12 700 m2 inclut deux terrains de soccer — l’un intérieur, l’autre extérieur — qui seront desservis par des espaces servants connexes (lobby, gradins, vestiaires, salle polyvalente, etc.). Des trente concurrents ayant présenté des propositions lors de la première étape — anonyme — du concours, le jury a retenu quatre équipes pour une seconde étape : Saucier + Perrotte/ Hughes Condon Marler Architectes, Éric Pelletier/GLCRM, Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes, et Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design.

Le programme du concours identifie trois grands « défis » auxquels le futur stade devra répondre : la « facture architecturale » (volumétrie, traitements des longues parois, relation à la rue et au site), le « défi structural des portées sans obstacle de l’aire de jeu » et enfin les « principes d’une architecture verte à caractère sportif qui s’intègre au parc du CESM » (la norme LEED-NC Or est utilisée comme mesure de développement durable). Cet éditorial se penche sur la façon dont ces défis ont été abordés par les compétiteurs tout en considérant en particulier la figure architecturale du toit.

Dans un premier temps, considérons le défi de la « facture architecturale ». Le programme du concours va au-delà du problème de composition architecturale en exprimant clairement une « volonté identitaire » : le bâtiment devra absolument présenter une « image forte ». Ces termes se retrouvent dans les commentaires du jury sur chacune des propositions du second tour. Une analyse volumétrique des trente propositions du premier tour montre que l’ensemble des projets peut être séparé en deux grandes catégories selon leur schéma formel général, soit les bâtiments de type « volume » et les bâtiments de type « toit ». Les premiers seraient les projets qui apparaissent comme des éléments monolithiques abritant l’ensemble des fonctions intérieures alors que les seconds seraient ceux qui surplombent ces fonctions sans nécessairement les contenir. Certains projets semblent se situer à la jonction de ces deux catégories : c’est le cas par exemple des projets de l’Atelier Pierre Thibault et de Martin Marcotte/Bienhaker qui peuvent être vus comme des bâtiments de type « toit » se repliant sur eux même pour devenir des bâtiments de type « volume ». L’expression des bâtiments de type « toit » varie largement. Ainsi, certains peuvent être identifiés par l’expression formelle forte de leur partie supérieure : c’est le cas des surfaces non-planes dans les projets de Cardin Ramirez Julien et de Thibodeau Architecture + Design. Dans d’autres projets, le toit ne se limite pas une simple surface, mais, par son épaisseur, devient un volume flottant qui intègre des fonctions : c’est le cas des projets de Labonté Marcil/ Bourgeois Lechasseur ou encore de Ruccolo + Faubert Architectes. Dans l’ensemble, il est intéressant de noter qu’il y a un nombre équivalent de projets de chacun de ces types, tant au premier qu’au second tour. Ainsi, si le projet de Éric Pelletier/GLCRM et celui de Côté Leahy Cardas/ Provencher Roy Associés Architectes sont des bâtiments de type « volume », la proposition de Saucier + Perrotte/ Hughes Condon Marler Architectes et celle de Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design sont clairement des bâtiments de type « toit ». On notera que les commentaires du jury montrent clairement un penchant pour cette dernière catégorie. Ainsi, le toit est immédiatement vu comme « une image forte » (commentaire pour Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design) « à l’identité simple et forte » (commentaire pour Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes). Au contraire, le jury qualifie l’un des volumes monolithiques de projet « dont l’identité manque de caractère » (commentaire pour Éric Pelletier/GLCRM) et se questionne sur la lecture de l’autre : « ce concept est ambigu au plan volumétrique quant aux principes directeurs qui ont généré cette forme ; est-ce une coquille ou une boîte avec quatre faces différentes et un toit ? » (commentaire pour Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes.) On le voit, le bâtiment de type « toit » apparaît clairement comme une réponse plus adaptée à la question de la « facture architecturale », et ceci indépendamment de la qualité de la résolution architecturale des projets.

La notion de toit est bien entendu directement liée au « défi structural de la portée sans obstacle de l’aire de jeu » souligné par le programme du concours. Comment architecturer un toit permettant d’enjamber un terrain de soccer? Les bâtiments de type « volume » et ceux de type « toit » proposent des solutions bien différentes. Comme le montrent les coupes sur les planches de présentation, le toit surplombant l’aire de jeu semble être vu chez les premiers davantage comme un problème technique : le projet de Côté Leahy Cardas/Provencher Roy Associés Architectes détaille une composition constructive complexe, alors que celui de Éric Pelletier/GLCRM le considère comme un simple toit de grande portée sans le développer outre mesure dans les documents de présentation. Au contraire, dans les bâtiments de « toit », le toit est développé de façon plus expressive, à l’image d’une cinquième façade, mais intérieure. Tant Affleck de la Riva Architectes/Cannon Design que Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes vont pousser cette opération de composition architecturale jusqu’à présenter des plans du toit/plafond réfléchi. Pour les premiers, le plan de plafond réfléchi s’apparente presque à une toile d’art graphique abstrait, alors que, pour les seconds, il s’agit d’exprimer à la fois la complexité et l’esthétique du concept structural laissé apparent dans le projet.

Considérons enfin, dans un troisième temps, la notion « d’architecture verte » mentionnée au programme. De nombreux jurys de concours attribuent une importance qui peut paraître démesurée à la norme LEED-NC. Or ce n’est pas le cas ici : LEED-NC est à peine, voire pas du tout, mentionnée dans les commentaires du jury. En réalité, la notion « d’architecture verte » n’est pas tant vue par le jury comme une matérialisation d’exigences techniques que comme une intégration du bâtiment dans le contexte existant du parc du CESM. Ici encore, les bâtiments de type « toit » prennent l’avantage : perçus comme beaucoup plus horizontaux, ils semblent être en flottement au-dessus du sol sans entrer en conflit avec le parc. Mieux encore, la proposition de Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes présente une intention forte de lier de façon fluide le toit flottant et le sol : les documents de présentation montrent que le toit n’est pas simplement un plan flottant, mais qu’il est le résultat d’un décollement d’une strate du sol lui-même suite à une opération de pliage.

« Un pavillon dans le parc, à l’identité architecturale simple et forte » : c’est ainsi que le jury qualifie le projet de l’équipe de Saucier + Perrotte/Hughes Condon Marler Architectes, lauréat du concours. Qualifier un projet de 12 700 m2 de « pavillon » peut paraître étonnant, mais cette description souligne la lecture qu’on peut faire d’un bâtiment qui, au final, se résume à la figure à la fois simple, légère et solide de son toit. Si, dans le cas du Stade olympique, le toit est vu aujourd’hui comme l’élément problématique qui matérialise la crise voire la ruine d’une architecture radicale, il faut plutôt le voir dans le cas du futur Stade de soccer du CESM comme la colonne vertébrale d’une architecture à la fois aventureuse et intégrée.

Au final, nous voudrions souligner deux aspects relativement inusités des conclusions du jury du concours. D’une part, comme ce fut le cas pour le Complexe sportif Saint-Laurent en 2010 et tel que le mentionne Jean-Pierre Chupin dans son éditorial sur ce concours (novembre 2012), le jury a décidé, tout en proposant une équipe lauréate, de rendre publique une liste de recommandations qu’il considère « essentielles au développement de [son] esquisse ». Cette double opération hautement inhabituelle permet au jury d’assumer de façon plus complète son rôle d’intervenant dans le processus de conception qu’est le concours d’architecture. D’autre part, en plus de nommer un lauréat, le jury a recommandé de décerner une mention spéciale à un autre projet, celui de Éric Pelletier/ GLCRM. Ceci a le mérite de reconnaître une qualité aux idées architecturales d’un projet non primé. L’histoire des concours d’architecture est riche de projets non lauréats qui méritent néanmoins une telle sorte de reconnaissance, que ce soit pour la qualité de la solution particulière qu’ils apportent ou, mieux, pour l’importance des questions disciplinaires qu’ils soulèvent. Le fait que le rapport du jury se clôt sur ces conclusions inhabituelles rappelle que le concours d’architecture ne doit pas être vu seulement comme une opération de sélection d’une solution à un problème donné. Il peut également être un processus de construction collectif.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires