159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

My (international) cabin in Eastern Canada

by Adrien Python, published 2016-04-19
EDITORIAL for Blur the lines – Cabin Design Challenge 2014

From the folklore of the small Canadian house to the concept of the ideal global cabin, 57 variations were designed for a rare competition in New Brunswick. Launched in early 2014 by Community Forests International (CFI), the contest Blur the lines - Cabin Design Challenge, was globally open to all architects, artists, nature enthusiasts and DIYers to discuss the subject of the ideal cabin. The site was the only constraint, situated on 235 hectares of forest site on the edge of Sussex, New Brunswick. This contest was the first step for CFI in establishing a rural innovation campus. In short, fifty-seven international entrants answered this contest in one round, submitting their ideal of a cabin of seventeen square meters in the woods.

Is the hut primarily a shelter, by definition intrinsic within the surrounding environment, or is it more a formal object for which quality is recognised from its design? Through its insertion in the forest, how does the cabin become the link between the human and the nature? Finally, how may we tangibly transcribe these parameters in order to make a realistic and achievable project while streamlining costs?

The projects that were not picked for the final selection redundantly expressed the following themes: osmosis with nature, technical ingenuity, ancestral precepts, rationality, etc. The participants who dedicated themselves to the guidelines mentioned above, while being clear, also had a tendency to forego other equally important elements. The proposal from Alessandro Cascone & Luca Preziosa, for example, focused on the forest’s composition and the ensued senses invoked. The result was a seemingly complex multi-stage structure for which constructive aspects were less developed. Conversely, the "Wrap it Up" project from Kyle Reckling & Kevin Jele was a model of rationality, proposing detailed diagrams and a careful budget. The cabin was developed according to existing dimensions of materials, disappointingly recalling a prefab cabin kit. While the project was almost ready to build, it felt like it could be implanted anywhere, making a project for which, in the end, we learn little in regards to the cabin’s relationship to the forest. The same remarks also applied to "Helios Cabin" by Nizar Neruda for which the context was completely absent, even in graphical representations. Some projects, such as the spheres by Jean C.I. Wang, seemed happily located, consistent with the forest background, but not with the harsh winters and the geographical context.

The project designed by Kyle Schumann & Katie MacDonald received a special mention because of its unique ability to innovate from a simple and basic need: the storage of firewood. The design procedure of the hut was based on the interpretation of a concrete need, giving the cabin the uncanny aesthetic of a large pile of wood. Here, the need and the use contributed in defining the form.

"Acadian Abstraction" by Belle Stone & Jeffrey Sullivan won the second prize. This project was distinguished by the care taken by the designers in its relation to the site. Interactions and visual links between the occupant and the environment were highlighted with a large patio with an open view to the front and "fragmented" on the sides. This feeling of peripheral inclusion grows vertically, framing the sky and the canopy with two openings. As noted by the jury, the project makes “sleeping out under the stars possible in any weather, any time of year; you get to enjoy nature without giving up all your creature comforts!"

The winning project, "The Whaelghinbran Cabin" by Nathan Fisher, was the only one, in the eyes of the jury, for which the concept of the cabin genuinely harmonised within the local context. The forest was treated as an indispensable partner, with whom all interactions were respectful. The cabin, a model of rationality and constructive efficiency, as demonstrated by details and estimate costs, imbeds itself with a minimal footprint. Indeed, the ground contact was reduced to four points of support - designed using caravan racks - thereby not distressing the forest floor. This system also contributed to a nomadic aesthetic, recalling Eastern Canadian wigwams; without needing disassembly, the construction could be moved on a sled or trailer by animal power, allowing the site to regenerate between periods of use punctuated by seasons. This reinterpretation of an ancestral aboriginal custom is made through constructive modern thinking, for which, according to the jury, proposes solutions in adequacies with the ambitions of the organism Community Forest International (CFI).
Large glazed openings on the four sides of the cabin, a large bay window, invite the user south. This is one of the few projects offering the option of a beautiful indoor-outdoor transition, enhanced by the presence of a real outdoor space that was designed for use and not only as transient. The cabin offers a standard configuration without eccentricity which, in the end, won over the jury.

By the attractiveness of the fascinating cabin theme and the openness to the international, the competition gathered an impressively varied and interesting collection of proposals. It remains that many competitors seem to have been very oriented towards the development of the hut as an object, realizing a form of fantasy combining childhood memories and compositional freedom. The result often takes the form of a dropped item in context, without any real dialogue with the forest context.

In conclusion, it is important to highlight the fact that the jury could not stand to prevent a critical regionalism in rethinking the theme of the generic cabin. The jury’s final words, on the subject of the winners, explicitly contradict the opening statement of the competition, as declared by the Executive Director of the CFI, “I'm proud that it was a young Canadian who came out on top - this was a very competitive international contest and I think Mr. Fisher did great by drawing on his personal knowledge of our environment and traditions while also pushing the envelope on small, environmentally friendly buildings.”

(English version revised by Chantal Auger)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

156 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 426 projets 42 638 documents

Ma cabane (internationale) à l’est du Canada

par Adrien Python, publié le 2016-04-19
Du folklore de la petite maison canadienne au concept de la cabane idéale mondiale, ce sont pas moins de 57 variations qui ont été conçues pour l’un des rares concours organisés depuis le Nouveau-Brunswick. Lancé au début de l’année 2014, par l’organisme Community Forests International (CFI) , le concours Blur the lines — Cabin Design Challenge fût ouvert internationalement à tous les architectes, artistes, passionnés de nature et bricoleurs en tout genre sur le thème de la cabane idéale. Seule contraintes : dix-sept mètres carrés sur un site forestier de 235 hectares en bordure de Sussex au Nouveau-Brunswick. Pour CFI, ce concours voulait inaugurer l’établissement d’un campus d’innovation rural.

La cabane est-elle avant tout un abri, par définition indissociable de son environnement, ou se présente-t-elle comme un objet formel, dont les qualités ne se jugent que par sa conception ? Comment s’insère-t-elle dans la forêt afin de devenir le lien entre l’humain et cette dernière ? Enfin, comment retranscrire de manière tangible ces paramètres afin d’en faire un projet réaliste et réalisable tout en rationalisant ces coûts ?

Parmi les projets écartés, plusieurs affichèrent un parti relativement clair évoquant tour à tour : l’osmose avec la nature, l’ingéniosité technique, les préceptes ancestraux, la rationalité, etc. Certaines de ces orientations ont peut-être pris le pas sur d’autres aspects jugés importants. La proposition d’Alessandro Cascone & Luca Preziosa, par exemple, est très orientée sur la composition de la forêt et la mise à contribution des sens. Il en résulte une construction multi étagée à l’apparence complexe dont l’aspect constructif est moins développé. À l’inverse, le projet Wrap it Up de Kyle Reckling & Kevin Jele se révèle un modèle de rationalité, développé selon les dimensions des matériaux standards, mais qui ne nous en apprend finalement peu sur ce que peut être la cabane aujourd’hui en dépit d’un budget et de schémas détaillés, prêts à construire, mais sans rapport à la forêt, telle une cabane en kit à l’implantation libre. Les mêmes remarques s’appliquent à Helios Cabin, de Nizar Neruda où le contexte est cette fois littéralement évacué des représentations graphiques. Certains projets, comme les sphères de Jean C. I. Wang, semblent en adéquation avec un contexte forestier, sans prendre en compte le contexte géographique canadien et ses hivers contraignants.

Le projet de Kyle Schumann & Katie MacDonald, a reçu une mention spéciale pour sa capacité à innover à partir d’un besoin simple et élémentaire : le stockage du bois de cheminée. Le traitement de la cabane repose sur l’interprétation d’un besoin concret qui ordonne une esthétique camouflée, à l’image d’un grand tas de bois. Le besoin et l’usage ont ici contribué à définir la forme.

Acadian Abstraction, de Belle Stone & Jeffrey Sullivan, a remporté le second prix. Ce projet s’est distingué par le soin apporté au site. Les interactions et les liens visuels entre l’occupant et son environnement exacerbés par un grand patio offrant une vue ouverte à l’avant et des fragmentations sur les côtés. Cette inclusion périphérique du contexte se développe verticalement, le ciel et la canopée faisant l’objet de deux ouvertures. Avec ce projet, souligne le jury : « (il est) possible de dormir à la belle étoile, peu importe le temps, où le moment de l’année ; vous vous retrouvez à savourer la nature sans abandonner votre confort ! »

Le projet lauréat, The Whaelghinbran Cabin de Nathan Fisher fut, pour le jury, le seul à véritablement générer une harmonie entre le concept de la cabane et son inscription dans le contexte local. La forêt est traitée comme un partenaire de jeu, avec lequel on interagit de façon en tout point respectueuse. La cabane, modèle de rationalité et d’efficacité constructive — détail et coûts à l’appui — s’implante avec le minimum d’empreinte. Le contact avec le sol est réduit à quatre points d’appui — conçus à l’aide de supports pour caravane — n’affectant ainsi jamais durablement le tapis forestier. Ce système contribue à une lecture nomade de la cabane à l’image des wigwams de l’Est canadien. Ne nécessitant pas de démontage, la construction peut être déplacée sur un traîneau ou une remorque par la force animale, permettant la régénération des sites entre des périodes d’utilisation rythmées par les saisons. Cette relecture des coutumes aborigènes ancestrales se fait au travers d’une pensée constructive moderne, proposant, au dire du jury, des solutions en adéquations avec les ambitions de CFI. Des ouvertures sur les quatre faces de la cabane, une large baie vitrée — que l’utilisateur est invité à diriger au sud — devraient offrir des transitions renforcées par la présence d’un réel espace extérieur conçu pour être utilisé et non comme uniquement transitoire. Il s’agissait au demeurant d’un des rares projets offrant une telle option. Au final, cette cabane lauréate présente une configuration standard, sans véritable excentricité et c’est peut être aussi ce qui a séduit le jury.

Ce concours a reçu de nombreuses propositions intéressantes en particulier sur le plan de la variété. Il reste que si de nombreux concurrents semblent avoir été stimulés par l’envie de développer la cabane comme objet, réalisant une forme de fantasme mêlant souvenirs d’enfance et liberté de composition, le résultat a souvent pris la forme d’un objet déposé, sans réelles interactions envisagées avec le contexte forestier.

Il est important de souligner que le jury — sur un thème aussi générique que la cabane — a quelque peu versé dans un « régionalisme critique ». Les déclarations du jury à l’endroit du gagnant sont explicites et contredisent l’ouverture internationale du concours puisque, comme l’a déclaré le directeur exécutif : « Je suis fier que ce soit un jeune Canadien qui se soit imposé — il s’agissait d’un concours très compétitif, et je pense que M. Fisher s’en est très bien tiré en s’appuyant sur sa connaissance personnelle de notre environnement et de nos traditions pour son projet tout en repoussant l’enveloppe des petits bâtiments respectueux de l’environnement ».
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires