156 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 426 projects 42 638 documents

The delicate expression of a composite culture

by Simon Bélisle, published 2016-06-23
Vancouver’s Chinese Cultural Centre competition of 1978 called for the fulfillment of functional aspects while putting into question the place granted to traditions of the Chinese community. This aspect did not prevail in the jury’s comments, but despite this, the proposals were much informed by the dialogue between traditional Chinese architecture and the local Canadian context. This competition, as original as rare, puts into perspective the turn of the 1980s, nearly 20 years before the final date of the handover of Hong Kong to China in 1997, which for Vancouver, had an important demographic and cultural impact.

By 1978, there was already a significant Chinese community in Vancouver that had been established for several decades; nonetheless the city remains without a cultural center. The building’s future site and programs were established for the requirements of the competition in cooperation with Chinese sponsors. The competition called for more generalized concepts rather than detailed projects. Taking advantage of a significant plot of land in Chinatown, proposals needed to include a Chinese garden, outdoor areas partly covered to accommodate crowds, bazaars, dances and festival performances, adaptable educational spaces and exhibition spaces for an indoor /outdoor museum. One section, which included a tea room, a restaurant, and a gift shop, had the objective of improving the commercial viability of the streets bordering the center. Restricted to architects registered in British Columbia, the competition attracted some forty firms. Selected by the jury, only the top four proposals were archived in the Canadian Competition Catalogue, being the three first laureates and the honorable mention.

While the jury did not completely forego cultural and traditional facets, the official comments focused on practical, programmatic and contextual considerations. As for the competition program, it called for a symbolic entry that could be "imagined as a focal point [or] a backbone linking the spaces.” All four schemes commended by the jury demonstrated a great concern for Chinese architectural tradition, reflected in two published articles of the Canadian Architect in 1978. Regarding the competition, now a few decades old, one can’t help from noticing the concept’s typically postmodern character of the concepts: The honorable mention confronted the principles of traditional Chinese architecture in a new urban context, the second and the third place prizes attempted to marry this tradition in modern western culture, and the laureate was inspired by prominent Chinese historical elements by reinterpreting its basic principles.

Receiving an honorable mention, the proposal submitted by Joe Wai / Beinhaker Irwin Associates caught the jury’s attention for its ability "to incorporate the essence of the basic principles of Chinese architecture while conscientiously respecting the urban context of the Chinese historic area." On the subject of tradition, the design respected “traditional fundamental principles,” and revisited classical forms and materials. Regarding the urban context, a strong commitment was dedicated to the activities happening in the neighbouring streets, demonstrated through different perspective drawings. If the proposal was to leave room for discussion, the questions brought to light by creating tension between tradition and urban context, remain relevant. The jury chose to recognize the good use of the site, while noting a general incoherence and weakly ordered spaces.

The third place prize went to A. Vandiver / Che - Cheung Poon, who also questioned tension, this time between tradition and modernity. Characterized by the use of a unique monument rather than a fragmented approach, the architects proposed a "traditional building composition […] using modern construction". Far from hiding behind a classical expression, these techniques emphasized: if «the ancient temples [had been evoked to explain a] simple and exposed structure," the exposed structure being a steel open space frame recalling a postmodern marriage between tradition and technology. The jury was sensitive to the symbolic potential of a single dominant element, but expressed some reservations regarding the context; such a large element would be problematic for the urban fabric and the site development. Stressing that such a building would be less effective for the sponsors’ commercial requirements.

Awarded the second prize, Downs Archambault Architects + Planners were described as "wed Eastern thought and traditions with Western needs." If this tension had been more finely expressed, the answer would have had something in common with that of the third prize, for it also proposed a sensibility to traditional Eastern design principles while using modern construction techniques and materials. However, the approach was fragmented, technology and modern materials seemed more practical than expressive, and the drawings, in addition to expressing an architecture inspired by the rules of composition of Chinese architecture, expressed some formal, typological, and aesthetic inspirations beyond traditional principles. Nevertheless, this proposal provoked a heated debate on the issue of tradition and the use of traditional elements of Chinese architecture.

The winning scheme, submitted by James K.M. Cheng / Romses Kwan & Associates, was in fact built. The architects said they were inspired by the Forbidden City, (Imperial Palace of Beijing) burrowing its north-south axial approach while reinterpreting the progression through space: The main gate of the cultural center, located on Pender Street, was analogous to the first impressions of the Imperial Palace, a courtyard entrance becoming the first pause, an inner entrance the first transition, a forecourt as first introduction, a central hall as second climax, a main garden as second pause, a rear pavilion as second transition and a park planned at the rear of the cultural center, the third experiment. Finally, False Creek Bay, which borders the future park, was presented analogous to the ultimate experience of the Imperial Palace. Another drawing expressed an analogy between the proposed drawings and a traditional Pekin house, characterized by inner yards surrounded by buildings, the geometry and the emphasised centrality, all this while keeping the north-south orientation. The jury specified that their choice was motivated by the subtle qualities that distinguished this project from the others, mostly involving contextual and functional considerations, but also the quality of its architectural experience.



Generally, in his report, the jury had admitted a difficulty "to define the aesthetic or spiritual determinant in architectural design," adding that "it was not felt that any particular architectural form seen to be generally Oriental in derivation was either desirable or necessary."

The jury’s comments in their public release focused on practical, contextual and programmatic aspects. It is possible that this tendency reflected the desire to break away from blatant aesthetics or formal analogies, or that an important decisional weight, implemented by the sponsors’ already well-defined program, had overshadowed any open debate on tradition.

Be that as it may, the issue of interpreting modern Chinese architectural traditions, when expressing a drifting away from form and aesthetics, did occupy an important place in the projects selected by the jury. Furthermore, this contest reflected a rare encounter, wanting to offer a cultural center in a community – typically postmodern – between a Chinese ancestral tradition and the city of Vancouver as a living space. Now four decades later, we can perceive the delicate expression of a composite architectural culture.

(English version revised by Chantal Auger)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

160 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 303 documents

L’expression délicate d’une culture composite

par Simon Bélisle, publié le 2016-06-23
Le concours du Centre culturel chinois à Vancouver en1978, outre la réponse aux aspects fonctionnels, appelait une interrogation sur la place accordée à la tradition parla communauté représentée. Bien que cet aspect n’ait pas prédominé dans les commentaires du jury, les propositions se sont effectivement nourries d’une certaine idée de la tradition architecturale chinoise et de sa rencontre avec ce contexte canadien spécifique. Ce concours, aussi original que rare, est à mettre en perspective des tournantes années 1980, près de 20 ans avant la date butoir de la rétrocession de Hong Kong à la Chine en 1997, qui aura l’importantes répercussions démographiques et culturelles pour Vancouver.

En 1978, la communauté chinoise de Vancouver est déjà importante, établie depuis plusieurs décennies, mais ne dispose toujours pas de centre culturel. L’emplacement et le programme du futur centre furent établis dans les exigences du concours en concertation avec des mécènes chinois, tandis que le concours appelait des concepts généraux plutôt que des projets détaillés. Tirant profit d’un terrain significatif de Chinatown, les propositions devaient inclure un jardin chinois, des espaces extérieurs en partie couverts pouvant accueillir foules, bazars, performances festivalières, ainsi que des locaux adaptables liés à dysfonctions éducatives et des espaces d’expositions pour un musée fonctionnant autant en intérieur, qu’en extérieur. Un volet, incluant salle de thé, restaurant et boutique cadeau, se donnait pour objectif d’améliorer la viabilité commerciale des rues bordant le centre. Restreint aux architectes enregistrés en Colombie-Britannique, le concours attira une quarantaine de firmes. Les archives faisant défaut, seules les quatre propositions soulignées par le jury sont répertoriées dans le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens: trois premiers prix et la mention d’honneur.

Bien que le jury n’ait pas complètement gommé les aspects culturels et traditionnels, ses commentaires se sont officiellement concentrés sur des considérations pratiques, programmatiques et contextuelles. Le programme du concours appelait pourtant à concevoir une entrée symbolique pouvant « être imaginée comme un point focal[ou] une colonne vertébrale liant les espaces ». Les quatre propositions retenues ont toutes accordé une large importance à la tradition architecturale chinoise comme le souligne ont deux articles de la revue Canadian Architect en 1978.Avec quelques décennies de recul, on ne peut que constater le caractère typiquement postmoderne des concepts :la mention honorable confrontant des principes de l’architecture traditionnelle chinoise à un nouveau contexte urbain, les deuxième et troisième prix tentant de marier cette tradition à la culture occidentale moderne, tandis que le lauréat s’inspirait d’exemples historiques chinois marquants, tout en réinterprétant ses principes de base.

Recevant une mention honorable, la proposition de JoeWai/Beinhaker Irwin Associates fut remarquée par le jurypour sa capacité à « incorporer les principes de base de l’architecture chinoise tout en étant consciente et respectueuse du contexte urbain voué à accueillir le projet ».Du côté de la tradition, un design respectant certains« principes fondamentaux » ainsi qu’une reprise de formes et de matériaux classiques. Du côté du contexte urbain, un fort engagement voué aux activités des rues avoisinantes, démontré par les différents dessins en perspective. Si la proposition pouvait laisser place à la discussion, le questionnement soulevé, mettant en tension tradition et contexte urbain, restait pertinent. Le jury se contenta de souligner une bonne utilisation des potentiels du site, tout en relevant quelques problèmes de cohérence et des espaces faiblement ordonnés.

Obtenant le troisième prix, la proposition de Russel A. Vandiver/Che-Cheung Poon faisait aussi ressortir un questionnement sur une tension, en la déplaçant vers un rapport entre tradition et modernité. Se démarquant par l’utilisation d’un monument unique plutôt qu’une disposition pavillonnaire, les architectes proposaient un bâtiment« traditionnel dans sa composition [mais] utilisant des techniques modernes de construction ». Loin d’être camouflées derrière une expression classique, ces techniques étaient mises en valeur : si « les temples anciens [avaient été évoqués pour expliquer] une structure simple et exposée », la structure exposée était une charpente ouverte en acier en un mariage postmoderne entre tradition et technologie. Le jury s’est montré sensible au potentiel symbolique d’un élément singulier dominant, mais a exprimé quelques réserves au niveau du contexte, jugeant qu’un élément aussi volumineux serait problématique pour le tissu urbain et l’aménagement du site. Soulignant qu’un tel bâtiment serait moins efficace pour le volet commercial exigé par les mécènes.

Gratifiée du deuxième prix, la proposition de Downs Archambault Architects + planners fut décrite comme« tentant de marier la pensée orientale aux besoins occidentaux». Si cette tension était exprimée de manière plus fine, la réponse ressemble au projet précédent en ce qu’elle proposait de considérer les principes de design orientaux traditionnels tout en construisant avec une technologie et des matériaux modernes. L’approche était toutefois pavillonnaire, la technologie et les matériaux modernes semblaient davantage envisagés dans un sens pratique qu’expressifs, et les dessins, en plus d’exprimer une architecture s’inspirant des règles de composition de l’architecture chinoise, montrent quelques inspirations formelles, typologiques et esthétiques dépassant les principes classiques. Il reste que cette proposition provoqua un débat plus vif sur la question de la tradition et de son utilisation d’éléments traditionnels de l’architecture chinoise.

La proposition de James K. M. Cheng/Romses Kwan & Associates fut lauréate et fut finalement construite. Les architectes disaient s’être inspiré de la Cité interdite(Palais Impérial de Pékin) en reprenant son approche axiale nord-sud tout en réinterprétant la progression des espaces : l’entrée principale du centre culturel, situé sur Pender Street, était analogue à la première impression du Palais Imperial, une cour d’entrée devenant la première pause, une entrée intérieure la première transition, une avant-cour la première introduction, un hall central la seconde étape, un jardin principal la seconde pause, un pavillon arrière la seconde transition et un parc, envisagé à l’arrière du centre culturel, la troisième expérience. Finalement, la baie de False Creek, bordant le futur parc, était présentée comme analogue à l’expérience ultime du Palais Imperial. Un autre schéma montrait une seconde analogie entre la disposition proposée et celle d’une maison pékinoise traditionnelle : des cours intérieures entourées de bâtiments, un accent placé sur la géométrie et la centralité sans oublier une orientation nord-sud. Le jury précisa avoir sélectionné la proposition en vertu de subtilités la distinguant de toutes les autres, la plupart faisant appel à des considérations contextuelles et fonctionnelles, mais aussi à la qualité de l’expérience architecturale.

Dans son rapport final, le jury admit « avoir trouvé difficile de définir des déterminants spirituels et esthétiques dans le design architectural [des propositions] », ajoutant « ne pas avoir ressenti qu’une forme architecturale particulière vue comme étant généralement orientale était désirable ou nécessaire ». Comme nous l’avons souligné à plusieurs reprises, les commentaires du jury, à tout le moins dans leur version publique, se sont concentrés sur les considérations pratiques, contextuelles et programmatiques. Il est possible que cette tendance reflétât une volonté de se détacher d’analogies esthétiques ou formelles trop évidentes, ou qu’un poids décisionnel important issu du programme bien défini par les sponsors ait délicatement éclipsé tout débat ouvert sur la tradition.

Quoi qu’il en soit, la problématique de l’interprétation contemporaine de la tradition architecturale chinoise occupa une place importante dans les projets retenus par un jury, s’exprimant le plus souvent autrement que parla forme ou l’esthétique. À cela s’ajoutait la spécificité d’un des rares concours voulant offrir un centre culturel à une communauté reflétant elle-même une rencontre typiquement postmoderne entre une tradition ancestrale chinoise et la ville de Vancouver comme lieu de vie. Quatre décennies plus tard, nous y décelons l’expression délicate d’une culture architecturale composite.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires