159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

Waiting For The Bus While Reflecting On Climate Change

by Cheryl Gladu, Carmela Cucuzzella, published 2016-06-30
Contrary to the famous aphorism by architectural historian Nikolaus Pevsner who did not recognise the bicycle shelter as architecture, this competition was grounded on the conviction that a bus shelter can, and should be as architectural as a cathedral or even a museum. With this open and anonymously judged competition which received 26 proposals from Canada, USA, Brazil, France and Iran, the ideas had to be feasible since this augmented bus shelter will indeed be built by the not profit organisation CoLLaboratoire from Concordia University.

A boundary breaking exercise in community engagement around the issue of climate change, CoLLaboratoire, is a research project of the Concordia University Research Chair in Integrated Design, Ecology, And Sustainability for the Built Environment (IDEAS-BE). This competition was the first of a series of design challenges and was launched on April 15, 2016. The aim of this initiative is to successfully make connections between artists, designers, architects, professionals, academics, community members, and business leaders in order to better address sustainability challenges together. The installations are to be context sensitive, taking into consideration the concerns of the community within which they are intended. CoLLaboratoire has adopted the urban corridor of Sherbrooke Street in Montreal, which runs 31km east to west of Montreal, as an organizing principle for all future urban installations. For this inaugural competition, CoLLaboratoire partnered with the NSERC Smart Net-zero Energy Buildings Strategic Research Network and the Centre for Zero Energy Building Studies, directed by Dr. Andreas K. Athienitis, in order to assist the winning team to incorporate solar power into the final phase of design and construction, as well as in the early conceptual phase when major decisions about orientation and form are made. The Université de Montréal Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture was also part of the project bringing along the expert team of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue.

The project challenge consisted in designing a bus shelter at the Loyola campus of Concordia University, considering the extreme weather conditions of Montreal and which may also be used for other activities during non-peak hours, while creatively including the potential of solar energy. Teams were encouraged to develop ideas that can both contribute to educate and encourage public conversation that might heighten awareness around climate change issues. The proposals were to be sufficiently documented technically and the teams were asked to be ready to interact with the CoLLaboratoire team in order to complete the detailed design within the budgetary restrictions.

There was a vast array of responses to the brief, ranging from projects that chose to focus on symbolic gestures to those that were completely pragmatic in their approaches; from easily buildable to overly complicated parametric designs (for a bus shelter); from the all too obvious exhibition of solar panels on basic architectural forms to the sophisticated adoption of new solar technologies discreetly hidden in elegant forms; or from site focused designs to object focused designs, the idea of a shelter by young designers from various parts of the world is quite diverse.

Three proposals were selected as originally announced, but the jury decided to add two honourable mentions. An art historian, a gallery director, an expert in solar energy, two architects, an interdisciplinary designer, and a doctorate candidate comprised the jury. This short editorial meant to coincide with the unveiling of the winners can only briefly comment on the 5 selected projects and the public vote. A more comprehensive jury report will be released later in July.

The first prize went to a project that displayed a bold architectural proposition, with an elaborate, yet clear reinterpretation of the 'bus shelter' (team: Guertin/Amiot-Bédard/Desharnais/Duchesne/Cloutier-Laplante/Côté). The panels and the text were concise enough to underline how the team proposed to incorporate the existing vegetation into the shelter and the sophisticated manner in which the solar panels could be integrated into the floating canopy, which glows at night. In addition to being elegantly minimal while providing both interior and exterior shelter, the designers allowed themselves to be inspired by one of the key challenges of this site: the presence of a large canopy of trees. Just as the trees work to transform the sunlight into oxygen, the proposal collects energy in order to create a night-time beacon, providing a feeling of security for users of the shelter over the darker months that make up the majority of the school year.

The second prize also proposed a poetic gesture for the site, alluding to a lighthouse in its design (team: Proulx/Guinard). The project has a light touch, and relatively low-tech approach to demystifying solar energy production. The proposal, which included the addition of a delicate installation for social gathering adjacent to the original, albeit refurbished, shelter had great symbolic potential as a landmark, however remained too deferential of the design of the existing bus shelter.

The third prize was innovative in form and composition and extended the program of the bus shelter by proposing a structure that might also be useful as a weekend market (team: Tardif/Yesayan). The proposal stood out for its distinctive, variable form, as well as its playful and interactive approach to solar power production. However, the design did not seem capable of providing true shelter from the extreme weather conditions common in Montreal.

The two honourable mentions were selected for their pragmatic approaches. One of these doubled the capacity of the shelter, by designing a structure that straddled the path to the Vanier Library, thus allowing for an extended interior program, such as the inclusion of a sharing library within the shelter (team: Moro/Tornich/de Oliveira/Junger). The second designed a series of modular shelters that can be combined in a variety of permutations to increase the capacity of the shelter while revealing perhaps too directly the solar technology (team: Montani/Zanlorenzi/Paris/Kashala/Hirayama/Shinohara).

The last prize was a popular prize where we received almost 1600 public votes through the competition's voting platform: http://www.ideas-be.ca/competition-submissions.html. The majority of the public votes went to projects from Brazil (over 900 public votes), while a considerable amount focused on the project entitled 'The Rising Hill', by team Coulon/Han/Mourtada/Quintero, which received 196 votes. Our analysis cannot yet conclude if this type of public vote indeed concerned the projects or confirms the solidarity of the social networks of the various teams.

This unique competition offers a rich diversity of innovative responses by young designers and will be interesting to compare the winning proposal with its technical realization, which will coincide with Montreal’s 375th anniversary.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

154 concours documentés 415 concours répertoriés
4 370 projets 42 503 documents

Attendre le bus en méditant sur les changements climatiques

par Cheryl Gladu, Carmela Cucuzzella, publié le 2016-06-30
Contrairement au célèbre aphorisme de l’historien de l’architecture Nikolaus Pevsner qui ne considérait pas l’abri pour vélo comme un programme relevant du domaine de l’architecture, ce concours reposait sur la conviction qu’une aubette de bus peut, et devrait être autant architecturale qu’une cathédrale ou un musée. Ce concours ouvert, jugé de façon anonyme, a reçu 26 propositions en provenance du Canada, des États-Unis, du Brésil, de France et d’Iran. Les idées devaient être réalisables, puisque cet « abribus augmenté » sera effectivement construit par l’organisation à but non lucratif CoLLaboratoire basée à l’Université Concordia.

CoLLaboratoire est un projet de recherche piloté par la chaire de recherche de l’Université Concordia IDEAS- BE (Integrated Design, Ecology, And Sustainability for the Built Environment). Il s’agit d’une série d’initiatives visant à stimuler l’engagement communautaire relativement aux impacts des changements climatiques : ce concours, lancé le 15 avril 2016, constituant l’amorce d’un processus. Encourageant les relations entre artistes, designers, architectes, chercheurs et organisations communautaires sans oublier les entrepreneurs, ce projet considère que les défis environnementaux doivent reposer sur des collaborations. Chaque installation doit répondre au contexte de réception tout en prenant en considération les particularités des communautés auxquelles elles s’adressent. CoLLaboratoire a choisi de rassembler les différentes expérimentations tout au long des 31 km du corridor urbain de la rue Sherbrooke à Montréal. Pour ce concours inaugural, les organisateurs s’étaient adjoints les expertises du Réseau de recherche stratégique du CRSNG sur les bâtiments intelligents à consommation énergétique nette zéro de l’Université Concordia. Le Dr Andrea K. Athienitis devant accompagner l’équipe gagnante dans le processus d’intégration de l’énergie solaire pour la bonne mise en oeuvre du projet. La Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture de l’Université de Montréal apportant toute l’expertise de son équipe dédiée au Catalogue des Concours Canadiens était également de la partie.

On demandait aux concurrents de concevoir une aubette de bus sur le site du campus de Loyola appartenant à l’Université Concordia dans l’ouest de la ville. Il s’agissait de prendre en compte les conditions climatiques extrêmes de Montréal et d’envisager des activités alternatives hors des heures de pointe, tout en intégrant le potentiel de l’énergie solaire de façon créative. Les équipes étaient invitées à développer des idées susceptibles de contribuer à l’éducation et à la stimulation d’un débat public dans le but d’accroître la conscience des enjeux liés aux changements climatiques. Chaque proposition devait faire état d’un traitement technique approprié sachant que les équipes pourraient compter ultérieurement sur l’interaction avec l’équipe de CoLLaboratoire pour mener à terme la construction détaillée à l’intérieur des limites budgétaires.

Le spectre des 26 réponses fut somme toute assez vaste, allant de projets ayant misé sur les gestes symboliques aux approches les plus pragmatiques. On trouve des propositions aisément constructibles tandis que d’autres convoquent de complexes techniques de conception paramétriques (pour un abribus). Du point de vue technologique, les projets vont de l’exposition la plus banale et la plus évidente des panneaux solaires jusqu’à l’intégration sophistiquée de nouvelles techniques dissimulée dans des formes élégantes. Des projets les mieux intégrés aux concepts focalisés sur les objets, on peut dire que l’idée de l’abri qui s’est manifestée par les réponses de jeunes concepteurs en provenance de diverses régions du monde fut pour le moins diversifiée.

Comme cela fut annoncé dans le programme du concours, trois propositions furent sélectionnées, mais le jury a décidé d’adjoindre 2 mentions honorables. Le jury se composait d’une historienne de l’art, d’une directrice de galerie d’art, d’un expert en énergie solaire, de deux architectes, d’une designer interdisciplinaire et d’une candidate au doctorat. Cet éditorial succinct rédigé pour coïncider avec le dévoilement des lauréats ne peut que commenter brièvement les 5 projets retenus ainsi que le vote du public. Un rapport de jury détaillé sera diffusé dans le courant du mois de juillet.

Le premier prix a été octroyé à un projet qui a su présenter une vision architecturale aussi claire que raffinée, donnant une réinterprétation audacieuse de l’aubette de bus (équipe : Guertin/Amiot-Bédard/Desharnais/Duchesne/ Cloutier-Laplante/Côté). Textes et planches graphiques misent sur la concision pour mettre en évidence le choix de l’équipe d’intégrer certains éléments de la végétation existante et surtout pour exposer une façon sophistiquée d’intégrer les panneaux solaires à une grande canopée flottante pouvant être illuminée la nuit. Ce minimalisme offrant à la fois une protection intérieure et extérieure repose en outre sur les ressources d’un site riche en arbres. De la même façon que les arbres transforment la lumière solaire en oxygène, la proposition collecte l’énergie pour offrir un complément de confort et de sécurité lumineux pendant les longs mois d’hiver qui constituent la majorité de l’année scolaire.

Le deuxième prix a également joué de façon encore plus clairement poétique avec la métaphore du « phare » (équipe : Proulx/Guinard). Un projet léger et relativement low-tech qui entend démystifier la production de l’énergie solaire. Cette proposition, qui incorporait un élément de socialisation illuminant cette partie éloignée du campus en phase nocturne a toutefois semblé trop respectueux de l’abribus existant dont la communauté des usagers à souvent souligné les nombreux inconvénients.

Le troisième prix est allé une composition formelle aussi innovante que sa proposition programmatique d’un petit marché de fin de semaine (équipe : Tardif/Yesayan). Cette proposition assume une forme distinctive, quoique mouvante, ludique, voire interactive, dans son approche de la production d’énergie solaire. Ce concept ne s’est toutefois pas préoccupé d’offrir le confort nécessaire eu égard aux conditions climatiques extrêmes propres à l’hiver montréalais.

Les deux mentions honorables ont été accordées à deux projets au remarquable pragmatisme. L’un deux proposant de doubler la capacité d’accueil de l’abri tout en constituant une nouvelle entrée en enjambant le chemin du parc du campus de Loyola le tout offrant un espace pour une petite bibliothèque communautaire (équipe : Moro/Tornich/ de Oliveira/Junger). Le second projet offrant une série de modules pouvant être combinés tout en révélant de façon sans doute un peu trop crue la technicité solaire ainsi mobilisée (équipe : Montani/Zanlorenzi/Paris/Kashala/ Hirayama/Shinohara).

Le dernier prix fut accordé suite au vote du public organisé sur la plateforme du concours. La majorité des votes du public s’est portée sur des projets brésiliens (près de 900 votes sur les 1596 enregistrés et triés). 196 votes sont allés au projet The Rising Hill de l’équipe Coulon/Han/Mourtada/ Quintero qui bénéficie du « prix du public ». Notre analyse des données ne permet pas cependant de conclure si ce type de vote concerne effectivement les projets ou témoigne plutôt de la solidarité manifestée par les réseaux sociaux des équipes concurrentes.

Ce concours original offre donc une riche diversité de réponses innovantes de la part de jeunes concepteurs et il sera intéressant de comparer la proposition lauréate avec sa réalisation technique qui coïncidera avec le 375e anniversaire de Montréal en 2017.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires