159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents

An International Competition of Environmentally Engaged Ideas

by Carmela Cucuzzella , Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2017-04-19
The competition asked to reflect on the reinvigoration of public spaces around 4 bus stops situated on Sherbrooke Street East in Montreal. Open to students and graduates of less than 5 years in the fields of architecture, design, landscape and urban design, this ideas competition sought both designs that are environmentally engaging; and a series of principles that could be adopted for future implementation in collaboration with the City of Montreal, the STM and private landowners. The chosen slogan, “MORE THAN WAITING FOR THE BUS” invites designers to reflect on contemporary approaches that can help invigorate these spaces in interactive, poetic, critical and meaningful ways: from solely utilitarian to more multi-purposed spaces surrounding bus stops.

This competition was part of a joint initiative by the Concordia University Chair of Integrated Design, Ecology, and Sustainability for the Built Environment (ideas-be) and the Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture de l’Université de Montréal to stimulate debate on the importance of public space for heightening awareness to climate change issues and to mobilize the creativity of young designers of the built environment. This 2017 edition was done in collaboration with Conseil régional de l’environnement de Montréal (CRE-Montreal), an organization that focuses on the environmental protection and the promotion of sustainable development for the island of Montreal.
The jury was composed of:
• André-Anne D’Amours - CRE-Montréal
• Zachary Patterson – Canada Research Chair in Transportation and Land Use Linkages for Regional Sustainability, Associate Professor, Concordia University
• Howard Davies - Architect, Big City and Professor at McGill University
• Ron Rayside – Architect, Rayside
• Peter Fianu - Architectand planning consultant atthe City of Montreal
• Christelle Kouotze - YQQ - Éco-quartier MHM
• Jean-Pierre Chupin – Research Chair on competitions of Université de Montréal and professor at l’Université de Montréal
Mr. Peter Fianu was unanimously named president of the jury, while Dr. Carmela Cucuzzella, co-organizer of the competition, was named the competition consultant for the jury, without being part of the jury deliberation. Ms. Christelle Kouotze was not able to be part of the jury deliberations, which took place on April 10th, 2017 at Concordia University. The jury was asked to select four winners, one for each of the four bus stop sites. It was at the discretion of the jury to select honourable mentions, knowing that the four winning teams would each receive 1500$ each.

Before presenting the results and taking into account the considerable number of entries and projects submitted, a few reminders are necessary.
Indeed, out of the 200 registered teams coming from thirty countries, over 96 projects were submitted by 72 teams from more than 20 countries: a third coming from Canada, a quarter from China and the remaining projects coming from the Americas, Europe and the Middle-East.

Given this large number of projects, the jury decided to carefully check the understanding and respect of the initial instructions in order to retain only those projects which addressed the great difficulty of the question presented by the competition. The organizers would like to point out that this competition was not intended to redesign the bus shelter, let alone to remove it from its context, rather, competitors were invited to rethink the sites surrounding the bus stops. The aim was to make waiting for the bus more pleasant in various ways, by encouraging citizens to use the bus rather than their car all year round, even during the hot summer days and the long periods of extreme cold winters.

In addition, and contrary to common approaches that consider bus stops to be objects placed indifferently on urban spaces, the organizers sought, with this series of competitions, to constitute a Guide to Best Practices which can be a summary of the principles submitted by each competing team. Some of the submitted projects were favored by several jury members, but their lack of "environmental design" principles that could be generalized to other sites became a disadvantage.

The jury proceeded in sequence by examining projects submitted to each site, in turn, knowing that several teams had chosen to present projects for several of the sites, which was allowed. The competition was judged in a strictly anonymous manner. Only Cheryl Gladu, a PhD candidate at Concordia University had access to the list of team details.

The results are presented by site and have been archived by the Canadian Competition Catalog (CCC) considering that there were essentially 4 competitions held simultaneously: www.ccc.umontreal.ca/index.php?lang=en

Below are extracts from the jury report:

Competition site 1 Corner Sherbrooke and Joffre, link Thomas-Chapais, in front of CH Judith-Jasmin)
Winners:
• Team120 - César Cruz-Merino + Carlos Cruz-Merino, Canada

The jury appreciated the highly social and cultural dimension of the proposal. The incentive to read, moreover, to individual reading in a public place remains a simple and strong image. The proposed system is as elegant and flexible since it can be deployed and moved according to seasons and needs, both in summer and winter. The design makes it possible to imagine various ways to animate the site and takes into account the fact that this district welcomes many families. Some members of the jury also saw a reference to the fishing booths used on frozen lakes. The balance between security and openness is what has allowed this project to prevail.
(NB. The jury did not attribute any honorary mention for site 1)

Competition site 2 Cadillac Station, north-east corner
Winners:
• Team 132 - Adrianna Karnaszewska + Sara Niepieklo + Sylwia Pedziejewska + Aleksandra Przywozka, Poland
This project proposes to constitute a luminous forest. Starting from a principle of modularity, which several competitors have chosen to adopt, given the repetitive nature of bus stop in the city, the project adds a playful and interactive dimension. The concept - highly cultural - is intended to be both educational and informative. It is of a scale that is as adaptable as it is reproducible and in so doing it responds to the possibility of its generalization. The jury considered that this proposal was an excellent complement to the generic bus shelter.

Honorary Mentions (site 2):
• Team 104 - Rikke Sandbugt + Anyana Zimmermann, Denmark & Germany
Project resolutely playful. One of the few proposals adaptable to all season. The focus given to children characterizes its underlying didactic canvas.
• Team 6 - Kloe Gagnon + Adélie Gélinas-Leguerrier + Nicole Kamenovic, Canada
This proposal received a mention because of its claim for a principle of conservation, which is as simple as it is strong: to work with the existing resources and natural entities. The principle is generalizable and it especially reminds us that all pre-existing conditions of any design situation carry a potential of invention.

Competition site 3 Langelier Station, south-west corner
Winners:
• Team 142 – Vid Bogovic + Vlasta Damjanovic + Andraz Hudoklin + Lara Gligic + Laura Klenovsek + Sasa Kolman, Slovenia
For this site that received the most proposals, the deliberations of the jury were more difficult. This project has emerged as the most elegant in its design and presentation. Municipal water management is a real problem with considerable environmental implications and it is the only proposal that has chosen to integrate this issue into the bus stop. The proposal is very elaborate and presents itself as a series of systems that illustrate and implement devices for water reuse, energy production in a composition representing the water cycle. The microcosm of the bus shelter is then transformed into a true macrocosm. This project is paradoxically as minimalist as it is didactic.

Honorary Mentions (site 3):
• Team 28 – Leila Hormozi Nejad + Matthew Coelho + Gabriel Scott-Séguin + Florence Vanasse, Canada
A proposal that is conceivable regardless of the season. The idea of an urban terrarium, which can appear as an element of urban place-marker disconnected from its context, is nevertheless connected to the metro station in an astute way. The information exchange regarding the reduction of GHG’s through the use of the bus is done in a ludic manner and will therefore appeal to all ages.
• Team 74 – Zhu Jinyun + Qin Jin, China
The jury wished to mention this proposal, based on the excesses of public art which would be put here at the service of the modesty of bus stops. The project is audacious and frank, it is as playful - even ironic - as intriguing.
• Team 103 – Julien Guerineau + Axel Demazieres, France
This proposition is rich in references as it makes good use of the famous territorial grid imagined by the Italian collective Superstudio in the 1970s. The presentation is very beautiful. It could be transposed to most sites, but if the components were indeed transferable, the designers did not clearly formulate what would make it an environmental commitment.
• Team 105 – Paul Beaucé, Canada
Despite its great qualities, this project has a major flaw: it is not universally accessible. The elevation marking of the site, the overflow of the bus shelter ladder is in itself a remarkable concept that would be convincing on the urban scale. Would it have been possible to imagine it on one level while maintaining verticality?
• Team 165 – Amanda Barbosa da Silveira + Lucas Veloso Schwab Guerra, Brazil
A system that relies as much on technology as on the game. The jury appreciated how the proposal takes the whole site by intervening on the interstices. The explicit and voluntary consideration of the constraints of universal access was emphasized as a remarkable approach.

Competition site 4 Corner of Sherbrooke and Carignan
Winners:
• Team 109 - Anne Wolff + Eve Gagnon-Levert, Canada
This is an excellent presentation. The jury appreciated the ground work and the different degrees of porosity and animation of the site. The idea of a "body machine" operating at the scale of the site is very interesting and the drawings - very elaborate and very well realized - show that it could work. The environmental principles are very well formulated. The networking of such a system would find its meaning both locally and globally.

Honorable Mentions (site 4):
• Team 131 – Hyunje Joo, Germany
An exceptional project, elegant and truly urban that could have been the first place winner. The proposal truly grasps the context. Including the automobiles from the nearby parking, the project constitutes a public space where the stands provide a social space for waiting. Removal of the bus shelter was not necessary, however.
• Team 139 – Junxing Lu + Zhixin Guo + Qinwei + Suqin Jia, China
The degree of elaboration of the drawings is particularly detailed. The overall quality of the presentation is excellent and the proposal offers an intimate scale which was highly appreciated by the jury.

• Team 164 – Drew Miller + Karine Lachance, Canada
The jury was particularly sensitive to the approach that led to this project, rather than to its aesthetic qualities. A series of rotations, additions and transformations manage to literally "absorb" the bus shelter. The resulting project is as tough as it is resistant. The site is really busy and the users are invited to reappropriate the public space.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

157 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 441 projets 42 799 documents

Un concours international d’idées engagées pour l’environnement

par Carmela Cucuzzella , Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2017-04-19
Il s’agissait de réfléchir à la dynamisation des espaces publics autour de 4 arrêts de bus situés sur la rue Sherbrooke Est à Montréal. Ce concours, ouvert aux étudiants et aux diplômés de moins de 5 ans dans les domaines de l'architecture, de la conception, du paysage et du design urbains, visait à la fois les conceptions engagées pour l'environnement et une série de principes qui pourraient être adoptés pour une mise en œuvre future en collaboration avec la Ville de Montréal, la STM et les propriétaires fonciers privés. Le slogan choisi « En plus d’attendre le bus » invitait les concepteurs à réfléchir sur des approches contemporaines permettant de dynamiser ces espaces publics de manière interactive, poétique, critique et significative : faisant passer l’environnement immédiat des arrêts de bus d’une spatialité simplement fonctionnelle à une spatialité polyvalente.

Ce concours a été organisé conjointement par la chaire IDEAS-BE (Integrated Design, Ecology, and Sustainability for the Built Environment) de l’Université Concordia et de la chaire de recherche de l’Université de Montréal sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture. Ce partenariat interuniversitaire vise à stimuler les débats sur le rôle des espaces publics dans la mise en évidence des problèmes reliés aux changements climatiques, tout en mobilisant la créativité des jeunes concepteurs des domaines de l’environnement bâti. Le concours de 2017 a été organisé en collaboration avec le Conseil régional de l’environnement de Montréal (CRE-Montréal), une organisation qui se consacre à la protection de l’environnement et à la promotion du développement durable sur l’île de Montréal.

Le jury était composé de :
• André-Anne D’Amours - CRE-Montréal
• Zachary Patterson – Chaire de recherche du Canada « in Transportation and Land Use Linkages for Regional Sustainability » professeur associé à l’Université Concordia
• Howard Davies - Architecte, Big City et professeur à l’Université McGill
• Ron Rayside - Architecte
• Peter Fianu - Architecte, conseiller en aménagement, Ville de Montréal
• Christelle Kouotze - YQQ - Éco-quartier MHM
• Jean-Pierre Chupin - Chaire de recherche sur les concours UdM et professeur à l’Université de Montréal

Monsieur Peter Fianu a été nommé président du jury à l’unanimité, tandis que Dr. Carmela Cucuzzella, coorganisatrice du concours, agissait comme conseillère de concours auprès du jury, sans faire partie du processus de jugement. Madame Christelle Kouotze n’a pas été en mesure de participer aux délibérations qui ont eu lieu le lundi 10 avril à l’Université Concordia. Le jury devait sélectionner un lauréat pour chacun des emplacements d'arrêt de bus de type profil. Il lui appartenait de désigner des mentions sachant que seuls les projets lauréats recevaient un prix de 1500$ chacun.

Avant de présenter les résultats et compte tenu du nombre considérable d’inscriptions et de projets soumis, quelques rappels s’imposent. En effet, sur les 200 équipes inscrites en provenance d’une trentaine de pays, 96 projets diversement répartis sur les 4 sites ont été soumis par 72 équipes en provenance de plus d’une vingtaine de pays : un tiers venant du Canada, près d’un quart de Chine, le reste se répartissant entre les deux Amériques, l’Europe et le Moyen-Orient.

Face à ce nombre imposant de projets, le jury a procédé à une vérification minutieuse de la compréhension et du respect des consignes initiales en vue de ne retenir que les projets qui avaient affronté la singularité et la difficulté de la question posée par le concours. En effet, pour les organisateurs ce concours n’avait pas pour objectif de redessiner l’abribus, encore moins de le supprimer de son contexte, les concurrents étant d’abord invités à repenser les sites entourant les arrêts de bus. Il s’agissait de contribuer à rendre plus agréable le fait d’attendre le bus, de diverses façons, d'encourager les citoyens à utiliser le bus plutôt que leur voiture, toute l'année, y compris pendant les chaudes journées d'été et les longues périodes d'hiver glacial.

En outre, et contrairement aux approches courantes qui considèrent les arrêts de bus comme des objets déposés de façon indifférente sur des espaces urbains, les organisateurs cherchent, avec cette série de concours, à constituer un Guide des Meilleures Pratiques qui peut être constitué d’une synthèse des principes soumis par chaque équipe de concurrents. Certains projets soumis avaient la faveur de plusieurs membres du jury, mais l’absence de principes de « conception environnementale » pouvant être généralisés à d’autres sites que ceux proposés au concours a joué en leur défaveur.

Le jury a procédé en séquence en examinant tour à tour les projets soumis à un même site sachant que plusieurs équipes avaient choisi de présenter des projets pour plusieurs des sites ce qui était permis. Le concours a été jugé de façon strictement anonyme, seule madame Cheryl Gladu, doctorante à l’Université Concordia ayant accès à la liste des inscriptions.

Les résultats sont présentés en distinguant les 4 contextes typiques et sont archivés par site dans le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens (CCC) en considérant qu’il y avait 4 concours organisés simultanément : www.ccc.umontreal.ca

Nous livrons ci-dessous des extrait du rapport du jury :

Concours site 1 (Coin Sherbrooke et Joffre, lien Thomas-Chapais, devant CH Judith-Jasmin)
Gagnants:
• Equipe 120 - César Cruz-Merino + Carlos Cruz-Merino, Canada
Le jury a apprécié la dimension fortement sociale et culturelle de la proposition. L’incitation à la lecture qui plus est à la lecture individuelle dans un lieu public reste une image simple et forte. Le système proposé est aussi élégant que flexible puisqu’il peut être déployé et déplacé en fonction des saisons et des besoins, tant en été qu’en hiver. La conception permet d’imaginer diverses façons d’animer le site et prend en compte le fait que ce quartier accueille de nombreuses familles. Certains membres du jury y ont vu également un clin d’œil aux cabines de pêches utilisées sur les lacs gelés. L’équilibre entre sécurité et ouverture est ce qui a permis à ce projet de l’emporter.
(NB.Le jury n’a pas attribué de mentions pour le site 1)

Concours site 2 (Station Cadillac, coin nord-est)
Gagnants:
• Equipe 132 - Adrianna Karnaszewska + Sara Niepieklo + Sylwia Pedziejewska + Aleksandra Przywozka, Pologne
Ce projet propose de constituer une forêt lumineuse. Partant d’un principe de modularité, que plusieurs concurrents ont choisi d’adopter été donné le caractère répétitif des situations d’arrêt de bus, le projet ajoute une dimension ludique et interactive. Le concept – fortement culturel - se veut aussi éducatif qu’informatif. Il est d’une échelle aussi adaptable que reproductible et ce faisant il répond à la possibilité d’une généralisation. Le jury a considéré que cette proposition présentait un excellent complément à l’abribus générique.
Mentionnés (site 2) :
• Equipe 104 - Rikke Sandbugt + Anyana Zimmermann, Danemark & Allemagne
Projet résolument ludique. Une des rares propositions adaptables en toutes saisons. La place accordée aux enfants caractérise l’arrière-plan didactique.
• Equipe 6 - Kloe Gagnon + Adélie Gélinas-Leguerrier + Nicole Kamenovic, Canada
Cette proposition s’est mérité une mention par sa revendication d’un principe de conservation aussi simple que fort : travailler avec l’existant et les entités naturelles. Le principe est généralisable et il nous rappelle que toutes les conditions préexistantes sont porteuses d’un potentiel d’invention.

Concours site 3 (Station Langelier, coin sud-ouest)
Gagnants:
• Equipe 142 – Vid Bogovic + Vlasta Damjanovic + Andraz Hudoklin + Lara Gligic + Laura Klenovsek + Sasa Kolman, Slovénie
Pour ce site qui a reçu le plus grand nombre de propositions, les délibérations du jury ont été plus ardues. Ce projet est apparu comme le plus élégant autant dans sa conception que sa présentation. La gestion de l’eau municipale est une véritable problématique aux implications environnementales considérables et c’est la seule proposition qui a choisi d’intégrer cette question à la thématique de l’arrêt de bus. L’ensemble, très élaboré, se présente comme une série de systèmes qui illustrent et mettent en scène des dispositifs de réutilisation de l’eau, de production d’énergie dans une composition représentant le cycle de l’eau. Le microcosme de l’abribus se voit dès lors transformé en un véritable macrocosme. Ce projet est paradoxalement aussi minimaliste que didactique.
Mentionnés (site 3) :
• Equipe 28 – Leila Hormozi Nejad + Matthew Coelho + Gabriel Scott-Séguin + Florence Vanasse, Canada
Une proposition qui serait envisageable quelque soi la saison. Façon intéressante de maintenir une dimension végétale tout au long de l’année, l’idée d’un terrarium urbain, qui peut apparaître comme un élément de mobilier urbain déconnecté de son contexte, est néanmoins reliée à la station de métro de façon astucieuse. L’échange d’information concernant la réduction des gaz à effet de serre est fait de façon ludique propice à l’adhésion des générations.
• Equipe 74 – Zhu Jinyun + Qin Jin, Chine
Le jury a tenu à mentionner cette proposition qui prend appui sur la démesure de l’art public qui serait mise ici au service de la modestie des arrêts d’autobus. Le projet est audacieux et franc, aussi ludique – voire ironique – qu’intrigant.
• Equipe 103 – Julien Guerineau + Axel Demazieres, France
Proposition riche en références qui fait bon usage de la grille imaginée par le collectif italien Superstudio dans les années 1970. La présentation serait transposable dans la plupart des sites bien que les concepteurs n’aient pas formulé clairement son engagement environnemental.
• Equipe 105 – Paul Beaucé, Canada
En dépit de ses grandes qualités, ce projet comporte un défaut majeur : il n’est pas accessible universellement. Le marquage en hauteur du site, le débordement de l’échelle de l’abribus est en soi un concept remarquable qui serait convaincant à l’échelle urbaine. Aurait-il été possible de l’imaginer sur un seul niveau tout en maintenant la verticalité?
• Equipe 165 – Amanda Barbosa da Silveira + Lucas Veloso Schwab Guerra, Brésil
Un système qui mise autant sur la technologie que sur le jeu. Le jury a beaucoup apprécié la façon ton la proposition s’empare du site au complet en intervenant sur les interstices. La prise en compte explicite et volontaire des contraintes de l’accès universel a été soulignée comme une approche remarquable.


Concours site 4 (Coin Sherbrooke et de Carignan)
• Gagnants: Equipe 109 - Anne Wolff + Eve Gagnon-Levert, Canada
Il s’agit d’une excellente présentation répondant aux attentes du concours. Le jury a particulièrement apprécié le travail de texturation du sol et les différents degrés de porosité et d’animation du site. L’idée d’une « machine corporelle » fonctionnant à l’échelle du site est très intéressante et les dessins – très élaborés et très bien réalisés - montrent comment cela pourrait fonctionner. Les principes environnementaux sont bien formulés. La mise en réseau d’un tel système trouverait son sens autant localement que globalement.
Mentionnés (site 4) :
• Equipe 131 – Hyunje Joo, Allemagne
Un projet exceptionnel, élégant et véritablement urbain qui aurait pu l’emporter. La proposition s’empare véritablement du contexte. Enjambant les automobiles, le projet constitue un espace public et les gradins offrent un espace social pour l’attente. La suppression de l’abribus n’était pas nécessaire cependant.
• Equipe 139 – Junxing Lu + Zhixin Guo + Qinwei + Suqin Jia, Chine
Le degré d’élaboration des dessins est particulièrement détaillé. La qualité générale de la présentation est excellente et la proposition offre une échelle intime qui a été fort appréciée du jury.
• Equipe 164 – Drew Miller + Karine Lachance, Canada
Le jury a été particulièrement sensible à la démarche qui a présidé à ce projet, plus qu’à ses qualités esthétiques. Une série de rotations, d’additions et de transformations parviennent à littéralement « absorber » l’abribus. Le projet qui en résulte est aussi rude que résistant. L’espace public est véritablement occupé et les usagers sont invités, par quartier, à se réapproprier l’espace public.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires