159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 105 documents

Designing a contemporary abbey: silence of words!

by Mandana Bafghinia, published 2017-09-18
Coalition between koinos bios (life in the community) and monos bios (an inner life) is the life of a monk in the heart of an abbey. The competition of the Cistercian Abbey of Val-Notre Dame exposes the issues of the Cistercian idyllic model; a tension between the historical nostalgia of an enclosed form and the contemporary manifesto of a form opening up to nature.

Launched by the monks of the Cistercian abbey of Oka in 2004, the two-stage competition aimed for a new abbey in Saint-Jean-de-Matha. The building is now happily situated in the Lanaudière region between the Assumption River and a road by the name of Montagne Coupée, meaning a cut mountain. Since the first construction in 1881, which has been destroyed three times by fire, Notre-dame-du-lac has sheltered 178 monks. At the dawn of the 21st century, Montreal’s urban sprawl is accelerating and the number of monks is reduced to 30, giving reason for a relocation.

In the first stage of the competition, 59 competitors submitted their proposals. Consisting of architects, historians (architecture and geography), a theologian, and representatives of the Cistercian community of Oka, the jury selected four teams for a second stage:
• Pierre Thibault,
• Manon Asselin architect + Louis Brillant architect,
• Atelier BRAQ,
• Human nature / Aedifica.
Two mentions were granted to the teams: MEDIUM + Anne Bordeleau, Croft Pelletier.
The monks defined a challenging program through three parameters: a contemporary architecture (design and materials and acoustics) that respects the traditional principles of an abbey, a union between spiritual life and public life, and finally an external/internal contemplation on the surrounding environment.

It should be noted that, at first, the judges were undecided between the proposals by Naturehumaine and Pierre Thibault, in the end choosing the latter.

While the competition called for new approaches to religious heritage, the answers strangely shared one element: the image of a square, inducing the expression of a main promenade around an empty space, a courtyard. A volumetric analysis of the four projects reveals two categories. The first is characterized by a monolithic roof that circulates on a surface, keeping the simplicity of a single geometric level. The second consists of a volumetric game of different levels around a central square that evokes a museum, which can be perceived in the BRAQ project. For their part, Manon Asselin and Louis Brillant propose a project at the junction of the two categories: a monolithic approach and a play between different levels. As for Pierre Thibault’s project, while maintaining the same height, the proposed solution offers a light roof floating on piles that separate the public space, the hotel, the church, the library from the monastic space. As for the atelier Naturehumaine, the project justifies the square form with a quote from Saint Bernard: “God is quadruple, He is length, height, breadth and depth.”

A monastic life in Manon Asselin and Louis Brilliant’s project is distinguished by a meditation on nature, water and stone. This poetic presentation focuses on the gardens within the courtyard. As for the integration of the building within its context, the jury reports are unanimous on the project by Pierre Thibault, claiming that the outer envelope is the key element of harmonization with the landscape. While the other three other finalists did not meet this criterion, it was the watercolor boards and the perceivable movement culminating in the church that had the strongest influence on the jury’s decision.

Let us now take a step back to locate the questions raised by this competition within their historical context, the long typological trajectory of the monasteries. Irrespective of their specificities—Benedictine, Augustinian and Cistercian—the abbeys are centered on a church articulating the whole conventual life, a dormitory, the cloister and other elements. In a classical order, the main characters of the Cistercian type are simplicity, sobriety, and a low central tower. In the end, each abbey, according to its rule, carries an architecture and a filiation linking it to a “type” from which the monks who founded it are born. If we walk through the traces of this long history, before changing its knots, we must acquire a good understanding of its nature in order to ensure that what we are building will make us achieve an objective of change. Since Le Corbusier and the Convent of La Tourette in 1955-60, a new perspective has changed the classic image of the abbey. The treatment of this project marks innovative ideas in terms of light, sitting, with a new architecture on stilts and an inverted pyramid. At La Tourette, Le Corbusier worked with Iannis Xenakis, composer and architect, on three distinct subjects: individual life, collective life and spiritual life, as well as three functions: living, studying, and praying. The church has been detached from the rest of the buildings and the minimal religious symbolism has remained evident: the cloister, passages rising, descending and crossing the spaces, a harmonic facade through the structure of undulating glass panes, vertical glass panes in geometric panels. The cells were acoustically isolated to allow meditation.

The abbey thus reveals itself above all as a peaceful place for its inhabitants: the monks. The very object of monastic life must remain predominant and must be treated with delicacy. Built for more than a decade by Pierre Thibault, this project seemingly maintains the quality of finishes, the pleasant effects between light and space, and a beautiful tectonic language: An architecture conceived apart from the digital culture despite being so dominant. From a bird’s eye view, a massive gray form stands out from the landscape instead of anchoring the monastic complex in nature. On the horizontal plane, the overall simple and controlled design is clearly discernible upon arrival, by the periphery of the complex; a road that crosses a steep topography and reaches at the parking area, a less attractive part of the project.
According to Ricardo L. Castro in an article published in Canadian Architect (published in 2010): “ … this winning project encouragingly reflects the state of architecture in Quebec during the first decade of the 21st century.” However, one question remains, how can we ensure coherence between the typology of the abbey and the reality of the site? The abbey of Notre Dame du Lac can be presented in the way that Hegel defines architecture: techniques and devices that represent the reality of a historical context. The expression of a building may also work as a metaphor, in this case a linguistic metaphor, as a means of talking. In this case, in silence to communicate the meaning of what can be called a “Talking architecture.”
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

160 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 303 documents

Concevoir une abbaye contemporaine : le silence a la parole !

par Mandana Bafghinia, publié le 2017-09-18
Alliance entre koinos bios (vie en commun) et monos bios (vie intérieure), telle est la vie d’un moine au cœur d’une abbaye. Le concours de l’abbaye cistercienne de Val-Notre Dame, expose les enjeux de cet idéal cistercien. S’agit-il de la nostalgie historique d’une forme close ou d’un manifeste contemporain, celui d’une forme ouverte sur la nature ?

Lancé par les moines de l’abbaye cistercienne d’Oka en 2004, le concours en deux étapes visait la construction d’une nouvelle abbaye à Saint-Jean-de-Matha dans la région de Lanaudière, située entre la rue Montagne coupée et la rivière Assomption. Depuis sa première construction en 1881, trois fois détruite par le feu, Notre-dame-du-lac abritait 178 moines. À l’aube du XXIe siècle, la communauté n’en compte plus qu’une trentaine et l’étalement urbain montréalais appelait une relocalisation.

Lors de la première étape du concours, 59 concurrents ont présenté des propositions. Composé d’architectes, d’historiens (architecture et géographie), d’une théologienne et de représentants de la communauté cistercienne d’Oka, le jury a retenu quatre équipes pour une seconde étape :
• Pierre Thibault,
• Manon Asselin architecte + Louis Brillant architecte,
• Atelier BRAQ,
• Naturehumaine/ Aedifica.
Deux mentions ont été attribuées aux équipes : MEDIUM + Anne Bordeleau, Croft Pelletier.
Les moines avaient défini un programme à travers trois défis, trois paramètres : une facture d’architecture contemporaine (conception et matériaux et l’acoustique) capable de respecter les principes traditionnels d’une abbaye, une alliance entre vie spirituelle et vie publique et enfin une contemplation extérieure/intérieure dans l’environnement.

Mentionnons toutefois que deux projets ont été jugés à l’unanimité, celui de Pierre Thibault et celui de Naturehumaine et qu’un vote à la majorité a finalement retenu le projet de Pierre Thibault comme laureat.

Si les règles du concours appelaient de nouvelles approches du patrimoine religieux, les réponses se sont étrangement rencontrées sur un élément similaire : l’image d’un carré, induisant l’idée d’une promenade principale autour d’un espace vide ou patio. Une analyse volumétrique des quatre projets fait apparaître deux catégories. La première se caractérise par un toit monolithique qui circule sur une surface, en gardant la simplicité d’un seul niveau géométrique. La deuxième catégorie consiste dans un jeu volumétrique de différents niveaux autour d’un carré central, ce qui donne un aspect plutôt muséal, terme relevé dans les commentaires du jury. C’est le cas par exemple du projet de l’atelier BRAQ. De son côté le projet de Manon Asselin et Louis Brillant semble se situer à la jonction des deux catégories relevant à la fois d’une approche monolithique et d’un jeu de niveaux. Chez Pierre Thibault, la solution proposée déploie sur un même niveau et un toit léger et flottant sur des pilotis qui séparent l’espace public, l’hôtellerie, l’église, la bibliothèque de l’espace monastique proprement dit. Quant à l’atelier Naturehumaine, il justifie la forme carrée par une citation de Saint Bernard : « Dieu est quadruple, Il est longueur, hauteur, largeur et profondeur ».


Dans le projet de Manon Asselin et Louis Brillant, la vie monastique se distingue par une méditation sur la nature, l’eau, la pierre. Une présentation poétique du projet met l’accent sur le travail de jardinage. Pour l’implantation du bâtiment, les commentaires du jury sont unanimes et convergent sur le projet de Pierre Thibault en précisant que l’enveloppe extérieure est l’élément clé d’harmonisation avec le paysage. Les trois autres finalistes ne répondaient pas à ce critère. Les présentations des planches à l’aquarelle et un mouvement qui culmine vers l’église pourraient avoir eu un effet positif sur la décision du jury.

Prenons maintenant un peu de recul historique en tentant de situer la question posée par ce concours dans la longue trajectoire typologique des monastères. Quelles que soient leurs spécificités — bénédictine, augustinienne et à la fin cistercienne —, les abbayes sont centrées sur une église articulant toute la vie conventuelle, un dortoir, le cloître et d’autres éléments. Dans un ordre classique, les caractères principaux du type cistercien sont la simplicité, la sobriété et une tour centrale basse. Au final, chaque abbaye, selon sa règle, est porteuse d’une architecture et d’une filiation qui la relie à un « type » dont sont issus les moines qui l’ont fondée. Si nous marchons à travers les trames de cette longue histoire, avant d’en vouloir en changer les nœuds, nous devons acquérir une bonne compréhension de sa nature afin de nous assurer que ce que nous construisons nous fera atteindre un objectif de changement. Depuis Le Corbusier et le couvent de La Tourette en 1955-60, une nouvelle traduction a changé l’image classique de l’abbaye. Le traitement de ce projet marque des idées innovantes en termes de lumière, d’inscription sur le site, avec une architecture nouvelle sur pilotis et une pyramide inversée. À la Tourette, Le Corbusier a travaillé avec Iannis Xenakis, compositeur et architecte, sur trois termes distincts : vie individuelle, vie collective et vie spirituelle et trois fonctions : habiter, étudier, prier. L’église a été détachée du reste des bâtiments, et le symbolisme religieux, minimal, est resté manifeste : le cloître, des passages qui montent, descendent et traversent les espaces, une façade harmonique par la structure de pans de verre ondulatoires, des vitrages verticaux dans des panneaux géométriques. Les cellules ont été isolées acoustiquement pour permettre la méditation.

L’abbaye se révèle donc, et avant tout, comme un endroit paisible pour ses habitants : les moines. L’objet même de la vie monastique doit rester prédominant et doit être traité avec délicatesse. Dans le projet construit depuis plus d’une décennie par Pierre Thibault, des indices témoignent à la fois d’une qualité de la finition, de jeux de la lumière entre les espaces, d’un beau langage tectonique : une architecture encore conçue à l’écart de la culture numérique désormais dominante. Pour une vue aérienne, verticale, une forme massive et grise se détache du paysage au lieu d’ancrer le complexe monastique dans la nature. Sur le plan horizontal, la conception globale, simple et contrôlée de l’architecture, se relève clairement discernable lors de la première arrivée par la périphérie du complexe, une route qui traverse une topographie abrupte et qui aboutit à un parking, partie sans doute la moins séduisante du projet.
D’après Ricardo L. Castro dans un article de Canadian Architect (paru en 2010) : « … le projet gagnant reflète de manière encourageante l’état de l’architecture au Québec au cours de la première décennie du XXIe siècle ». Une question reste en suspens cependant : comment assurer la cohérence entre le signe et la réalité du lieu ? L’abbaye de Notre Dame du Lac peut se présenter à la manière dont Hegel définissait l’architecture : des techniques et des dispositifs, appelés à représenter la vérité d’un contexte historique. La représentation peut également signifier d’autres choses, que l’architecture fonctionne comme une métaphore linguistique, comme moyen de parler, ici, dans le silence, pour communiquer le sens de ce que l’on peut dénommer, après d’autres, une « architecture parlante ».
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires