160 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 303 documents

“Reinventing Our Rivers” – In Quest for an Emerging Value

by Jacques White, published 2017-11-26
In the province of Quebec, most competitions are approached as a tendering procedure for the awarding of public contracts to design professionals (understood in its broadest sense), where the main objective is the implementation of an already well-defined project on a predetermined site. They come along with documents that reiterate, from one competition to another, similar conditions for the design, presentation and review of proposals, that often include elaborate sketches and even surprisingly exhaustive preliminary project plans. On the one hand, the Functional and Technical Program (FTP) establishes in advance the detailed expectations – and sometimes solutions – of the client regarding the project, in the wake of an early validation of the needs and budgets through modelling. On the other hand, a preformatted Regulation (based on the MCC, MAMOT or City of Montreal template) covers all the information relevant to the competition process, with ever more pressing contractual requirements, a direct consequence of treating contests as an alternative to tendering procedures for the awarding of public contracts.

In this portrayal that traces, out of repetition, the outlines of a virtually official competition practice at a provincial scale, the city of Quebec chose to walk a different path, going back to the very roots of international practices and, instead of advancing the process, chose to highlight a search for creativity, ingenuity and innovation, values that competitions should be encouraging. With the international competition for ideas “Reinventing Our Rivers”, the city planning leaders imagined, designed, upheld and implemented a distinct competition which did not target the materialization, in whole or in part, of a winning concept, but rather asked for a wide spectrum of visions to enrich a global discussion on the future of the four rivers that vein the vast city of Quebec. The competition then becomes a “competition on the program”, where the proposals are not considered as definitive answers to the questions raised, instead, they become an opportunity to ask those same questions differently or to ask new ones. Moreover, the focus is not on the winning proposal, but rather on all the ideas generated by the competition, like a set of new opportunities, which is what the Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (LEAP Laboratory) of the University of Montreal is aiming for since its creation. In fact, aren’t competitions launched to, first and foremost, generate a breadth of possibilities, instead of simply solving design problems or giving shape to a pre-defined program? By following this approach, we return to the very essence of a competition, tracing it back to its origins, but in a contemporary setting.

“Reinventing Our Rivers” was a competition for ideas held in a single stage, it was open (anonymous), multidisciplinary and international in scope. It was aimed at “landscape architects, urban designers, architects, city planners, and other environmental design professionals who can propose ambitious yet realistic concepts to guide the transformation and conservation of Québec City’s rivers, their banks, and the natural and developed areas that border them.” The contest rules are spread over merely ten pages, a fraction of the usual length. From the outset, they explicitly laid out the City’s expectations of the entrants. The City’s main incentive for organizing the competition was worded as follows: “The City of Québec will consider all proposals received, independently of prizes awarded, as a pool of development options to which existing ideas may be added to eventually create a master plan for the development of the rivers within Québec City’s borders. The master plan will then be used as a guideline for planning all public, private, and public/private projects along the rivers.” Thus, it is on the overall value of the proposals that the competition relied on, and on each of their answers to the questions raised by the City, offering a reward to laureates solely to encourage participation and to bring to light, among all the received ideas, those which deserved particular attention to offer the greatest potential to have a significant impact on the future of Quebec’s rivers, both with respect to citizen ownership and sustainability.

It should be stated that certain circumstances have played a major part in determining the type of competition and the conditions of its implementation. The City’s willingness to act swiftly, due to a pressing need to draw the competition to an end several weeks before the ineluctable municipal elections (November 5th 2017th), could not permit to envision a two-staged competition. Nevertheless, the large territorial expanse and the complexity of the issues involved would have entirely justified the above consideration, forasmuch as there is a higher number of elaborate proposals submitted in a competition involving finalists (with remuneration) than in an open and anonymous competition (without remuneration). But from a different perspective, an open competition allowed the City to meet its objective with greater ease to receive a broader selection of ideas to eventually conceive a more inspired master plan. A solution combining two different models had to be created, namely a competition for ideas with a tight schedule, but with substantially higher benefits than usual, thus allowing to cover the vast expanse of the territory (which the City refused to reduce in any way), while embracing various independent scales of intervention : territorial (with four rivers sharing one legacy), sectors of intervention (a selection of choices per river, arranged in predefined groups), and human scale (corresponding to the same sectors of intervention, to be rendered through varying perspectives of atmosphere). Each of these scales precisely coincided with one of the three required panels. To avoid dispersion, the City accepted that all areas of interest may not be covered by all contestants, limiting its requirements to a minimum of three areas for at least three of the four rivers (Cap-Rouge, Saint-Charles, Beauport and Montmorency). It was hoped – and it was borne out – that the entirety of the received proposals would cover most of the sites foreseen by the City for the establishment of future infrastructures. Furthermore, leaving a freedom of choice for the selection of the sites allowed the City to validate, or invalidate, its anticipations, which in themselves served as a useful addition to the necessary reflections.

At first glance, it appears deceptive that only 21 of the 211 initially participating teams have followed through with a final proposal. Partly, this can be explained by the unusual nature of the competition, namely a relatively short-term competition for ideas held during the summer, in a single phase, significantly more demanding than usual (international) in terms of that it required a reflection on various aspects of design while considering a great territorial expanse, and in terms of the presentation expectations (three A0 panels covering several sites). Although beyond the seemingly low response rate at first sight, it is the thoughtfulness and richness, emerging with eloquence from the 63 panels (accounting for 70sqm of ideas) that had to be reviewed by the jury, whose work was guided by a set of, precise but open, judging criteria, written as to allow the possibility for the unexpected, and even the unpredictable, to emerge.

The jury fully understood the distinctive features of the competition with respect to the City’s expectations, the proposals to be delivered, the issues that needed to be addressed and the considerable challenges that the contestants needed to face. They began by spending the entirety of their first day of deliberations to visit the sites that were most often identified by the contestants as sectors of interest, allowing to engage a collective and comprehensive reading of the state of these sectors as well as their potential. The following day of deliberations opened to a wealth of discoveries, all in perfect harmony with the particular goals of the contest, the jury having indeed spent the best of their energies to fully understand and to clearly emphasize, after much discussion, the emerging value from all of the proposals, instead of aiming exclusively at comparing them in order to find a deserving winner. Thus, it is not surprising that the jury, in their report [1], insisted on commenting on all of the received proposals, instead of focusing solely on the three laureates. And when the time came to justify the choice of the winners, it was strongly emphasized in what those three laureates are complementary and form, collectively, one and a whole, coherent proposal, like an immutable triangle of ideas, in which a segment cannot be retrieved without disrupting its entire symbiosis. The stakes and the benefits of this competition couldn’t be better presented than by Jandrik Hoekstra, president of the jury, released in a video at the very moment of the announcement of the competition results [2]. The jury, undeniably, fully understood and took charge of the mission that the City had entrusted them with. Just like the entrants, as it appears.

Without setting an overall unerring competition model, since walking on roads untraveled involves its own fair share of risks, uncertainties and hopes that will remain only partially carried out, this competition paves the way for a new set of opportunities that Quebec might be missing out on, geared less on procedures and more on shared ambitions; in other words, competitions that leave more space for the marvelous opportunities and potentialities that stem from dreaming, just like those that we allow ourselves to aspire to and that we wish to witness, one day, become reality.


[1] https://www.ville.quebec.qc.ca/apropos/planification-orientations/environnement/eau/rivieres/docs/ConcoursRivieresVQ_RapportJury_FINAL.pdf
[2] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jkfirtodXPE&feature=youtu.be

traduit par Violetta Molokopoy
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

160 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 303 documents

« Rêvons nos rivières » : à la recherche d’une valeur d’ensemble

par Jacques White, publié le 2017-11-26
Au Québec, les concours sont pour la plupart abordés comme un mode d’adjudication de contrats publics à des professionnels du design (pris dans un sens large), avec pour principal objectif de réaliser un projet déjà assez bien défini sur un site prédéterminé. Ils s’accompagnent de documents types qui reproduisent, d’un concours à l’autre, des conditions similaires de conception, de présentation et d’évaluation des propositions, lesquelles prennent souvent la forme d’esquisses avancées ou même de dossiers préliminaires étonnamment élaborés. D’une part, un programme fonctionnel et technique (PFT) établit à l’avance les attentes détaillées – et parfois les solutions – du donneur d’ouvrage à l’égard du projet à réaliser, dans le sillage de modélisations qui ont servi à valider en amont les besoins et les budgets. D’autre part, un règlement pré-formaté (repris d’un modèle du MCC, du MAMOT ou de la Ville de Montréal) regroupe les informations qui ont trait au processus du concours, mettant à l’avant-plan des exigences contractuelles de plus en plus prégnantes, conséquence directe de l’assimilation des concours à un mode alternatif d’adjudication de contrats publics.

Dans ce portrait plutôt constant qui trace, à force de répétition, les contours d’une pratique quasi-officielle des concours à l’échelle québécoise, la Ville de Québec a décidé d’emprunter une autre voie, remontant à l’essence même des pratiques internationales, mettant à l’avant-plan non pas les processus, mais la recherche de créativité, d’ingéniosité et d’innovation que les concours sont sensés encourager. Avec le concours international d’idées « Rêvons nos rivières », les responsables de l’aménagement de la Ville ont imaginé, élaboré, défendu et mis en œuvre un concours différent, qui ne visait d’aucune manière la réalisation d’un concept désigné gagnant ni aucune commande à son terme, mais qui sollicitait plutôt un large éventail de visions pour enrichir une réflexion plus globale sur l’avenir des quatre rivières qui sillonnent son très vaste territoire. Le concours devient ainsi un « concours sur le programme », où les propositions ne sont pas considérées comme des réponses à des questions posées à l’avance, mais comme une occasion de poser différemment les mêmes questions ou d’en poser de nouvelles. Bien plus, ce n’est pas sur le projet gagnant que se porte l’attention, mais sur l’ensemble des propositions que le concours produit, comme autant d’opportunités créées, ce que le Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle de l’Université de Montréal valorise depuis sa création. D’ailleurs, un concours n’est-t-il pas d’abord destiné à générer des possibilités, plutôt que de simplement résoudre des problèmes ou de donner forme à un programme ? Suivant une telle approche, on retourne en quelque sorte à l’essence même de ce qu’est un concours, remontant à ses plus lointaines origines, mais dans un contexte on ne peut plus actuel.

Le concours « Rêvons nos rivières » en était un d’idées, ouvert (anonyme), pluridisciplinaire et d’envergure internationale, tenu en une seule étape. Il s’adressait aux « architectes paysagistes, designers urbains, architectes, urbanistes et autres professionnels du design de l’environnement, susceptibles de proposer des idées à la fois ambitieuses et réalistes qui sauront guider la transformation et la conservation des rivières de Québec, de leurs berges et des aires qui les bordent, naturelles ou urbanisées ». Le règlement du concours tenait sur à peine dix pages, une fraction du nombre habituel. On y retrouvait explicitement énoncées, d’entrée de jeu, les attentes de la Ville envers les concurrents. La motivation principale de la Ville à organiser ce concours était ainsi présentée : « La Ville de Québec considérera l’ensemble des propositions reçues, indépendamment des prix attribués, comme un bassin de pistes d’aménagement qui s’ajouteront aux idées existantes pour éventuellement créer un plan directeur d’aménagement des rivières sur le territoire de la ville. Ce plan directeur servira à son tour de référence pour la planification de tout projet public, privé ou public-privé aux abords des rivières. » Ainsi, c’est sur la valeur d’ensemble des propositions reçues en réponses aux questions posées par la Ville que reposait ce concours, l’attribution de prix ne servant en fait qu’à encourager la participation et à mettre en lumière, parmi toutes les idées reçues, celles qui mériteraient une attention particulière pour présenter le plus grand potentiel d’influencer l’avenir des rivières de Québec, tant en regard de leur appropriation citoyenne que de leur pérennité au plan environnemental.

Il convient de préciser ici que des circonstances particulières ont joué un rôle majeur dans la détermination du type de concours et des conditions de sa mise en œuvre. La volonté de la Ville d’agir rapidement, devant conclure le concours plusieurs semaines avant la date inéluctable des élections municipales (5 novembre 2017), ne permettait pas d’envisager un concours en deux étapes. Pourtant, l’étendue du territoire à couvrir et la complexité des enjeux l’aurait pleinement justifié, les propositions étant évidemment plus élaborées dans un concours avec finalistes (rémunérés) que dans un concours ouvert anonyme (sans rémunération). Mais d’un autre côté, un concours ouvert permettait à la Ville de plus facilement rencontrer son objectif d’obtenir un vaste éventail d’idées pour élaborer un éventuel plan directeur de manière plus inspirée. Il a donc fallu créer une formule hybride, comme un concours d’idées avec un échéancier assez compressé, mais avec des prestations plus substantielles qu’à l’habitude, permettant d’ainsi couvrir la très vaste étendue du territoire à considérer (que la Ville ne voulait d’aucune manière réduire), tout en embrassant plusieurs échelles d’interventions en parallèle : celle du territoire (avec quatre rivières mises en relations), des secteurs d’interventions (plusieurs par rivière, préalablement identifiés en groupes d’idéation) et l’échelle humaine (portant sur les mêmes secteurs, à rendre par des perspectives d’ambiance). Chacune de ces échelles correspondait précisément à l’une des trois planches exigées. Afin d’éviter la dispersion, la Ville a accepté que tous les secteurs d’intérêts ne soient pas couverts par chacun des concurrents, limitant ses demandes à au moins trois secteurs d’intérêts pour au moins trois des quatre rivières (Cap-Rouge, Saint-Charles, Beauport et Montmorency). Il était espéré – et cela s’est avéré – que l’ensemble des propositions reçues couvriraient au final la majorité des sites pressentis par la Ville pour y réaliser d’éventuels aménagements. Aussi, laisser libre le choix des sites permettait justement à la Ville de valider ou d’invalider ses anticipations, ce qui constitue en soi un autre apport intéressant aux réflexions en cours.

À première vue, il semble décevant que des 211 équipes inscrites au concours, seulement 21 aient donné suite avec une proposition complète. D’une part, cela s’explique par le caractère inhabituel du concours, comme un concours d’idées relativement court tenu en période estivale, en une seule étape, significativement plus exigeant qu’à l’habitude (internationale) au plan de la réflexion à engager sous de multiples aspects et sur un vaste territoire, ainsi qu’au plan de la prestation (3 planches A0 couvrant plusieurs sites). Mais au-delà de ce taux de réponse plutôt faible à première vue, c’est le sérieux et la richesse des propositions reçues qui se dégagent avec éloquence des quelques 63 planches (tout de même 70 m2 d’idées) qu’a dû évaluer le jury, guidé dans son travail par un ensemble de critères d’évaluation précis mais ouverts, rédigés de manière à solliciter l’imprévu, voire l’imprévisible.

Le jury a bien compris les particularités de ce concours, en ce qui a trait à la fois aux attentes de la Ville, aux propositions à fournir, aux enjeux à couvrir et aux immenses défis auxquels devaient s’attaquer les concurrents. Il a d’abord consacré l’entièreté de sa première journée de travail à visiter les lieux les plus souvent identifiés par les concurrents comme des secteurs d’intérêt, permettant du coup d’engager une lecture collective très riche de l’état des lieux et du potentiel du territoire. La journée des délibérations qui a suivi s’est avérée fertile en découvertes, en parfaite concordance avec les objectifs singuliers de ce concours, le jury ayant effectivement consacré le meilleur de ses énergies à bien saisir et à faire clairement ressortir, à force d’en discuter, la valeur d’ensemble de toutes les propositions reçues, plutôt que de s’attarder à les comparer dans le but de trouver laquelle ou lesquelles mériteraient d’être désignées gagnantes. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que le jury ait tenu, dans son rapport [1], à commenter l’ensemble des propositions reçues, non seulement les trois lauréates. Et lorsqu’il dut justifier le choix des propositions lauréates, était bien mis en évidence en quoi ces trois propositions lauréates sont complémentaires et forment conjointement une proposition cohérente, comme un triangle immuable dont aucun segment ne peut être retiré sans en briser l’intelligibilité. On ne saurait mieux résumer que le président du jury Jandirk Hoekstra, dans une vidéo présentée aux médias au moment même du dévoilement des résultats du concours [2], à quoi tenait ce concours et quels en ont été les bénéfices. Le jury, incontestablement, a pleinement compris et pris en charge la mission que la Ville lui avait confiée. Comme les concurrents, apparemment.

Sans être exemplaire en tout, puisque de sortir des sentiers balisés comporte forcément son lot de risques, d’incertitudes et d’espoirs partiellement satisfaits, ce concours ouvre la voie à d’autres possibilités qui manquent peut-être au Québec, plus axées sur des ambitions partagées et moins sur les procédures; autrement dit, des concours qui font une plus grande place aux opportunités et aux potentialités formidables du rêve, comme ceux auxquels on se donne la permission d’aspirer et qu’on souhaite voir un jour se concrétiser.


[1] https://www.ville.quebec.qc.ca/apropos/planification-orientations/environnement/eau/rivieres/docs/ConcoursRivieresVQ_RapportJury_FINAL.pdf
[2] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jkfirtodXPE&feature=youtu.be
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires