176 competitions documented 423 competitions listed
4 939 projects 45 975 documents

The metamorphosis of a library: from opacity to transparency

by Alexandra Paré, published 2018-09-16
Since the year 2000, more than fifteen architectural competitions aimed at rethinking libraries have been organized in Quebec. The recent Gabrielle-Roy library competition is a perfect example of this desire to change institutions dedicated to knowledge. Architecturally, it questions the contemporary trend towards dematerialization, which has been particularly explicit here due to the formal and massive architectural expression of the old library designed by Gauthier Guité Roy decades earlier. It also questions the paradoxical desire to create spaces that are well adapted to specific uses while being very flexible and versatile.

In March 2017, the City of Quebec launched a single-phase competition for the renovation and expansion of the Gabrielle-Roy library located in the heart of the Saint-Roch neighbourhood. This competition sought out to transform Quebec's first large modern library into a so-called third generation library, offering not only quiet spaces for reading and study, but also dynamic areas for meeting, creating and exchanging knowledge.

Inaugurated in 1983, the Gabrielle-Roy Library was the first public library in Quebec to have a large atrium, a theater for performing arts and multifunctional spaces. It has since been a pioneer though its services (art collections, sound, video and map archives) and various cultural activities. Since its opening, it has also greatly contributed to the revitalization of the neighborhood (which was then quite neglected) and greatly boosted the social and cultural life of the Lower Town.

A former working-class neighbourhood, Saint-Roch gradually became a trendy and creative area with the arrival of students, artists and professionals, and changed immensely in terms of its urban planning and architecture. In 2014, two important elements of the library, the Joseph-Lavergne auditorium and the exhibition center located on Place Jacques-Cartier, were demolished to make room for a huge twenty-story residential tower. The disappearance of these two major spaces and the imposing presence of the Fresk Tower led the city to launch a competition to transform the original building in order to give back its cultural spaces as well as bring it back at the forefront of North America libraries.

With a $ 40-million envelope, the architects' mission was to modernize the library by preserving its skeleton and atrium and to enlarge it on Saint-Joseph Street. The main elements of the program were the following: nine thematic foyers spread over four floors and encompassing the 220,000 documents in the collection; spaces for relaxation, learning and creation at the heart of each of foyer; and, an auditorium with a connected foyer. It had to therefore revolutionize the current concept of libraries in order to make it not only a place of knowledge but also a meeting space and a hub of creation through cooking workshops, music studios, etc.

Following the pre-selection phase of the competition, four teams were invited to transform the former Gabrielle-Roy library into one of the most innovative literary, cultural and social institutions.
• Lemay / Groupe A
• Hanganu / BMD
• Chevalier Morales / ABCP
• Saucier+Perrotte / GLCRM

The jury, chaired by Lise Bissonnette, was very attentive to the integration of the new library in the neighbourhood and the aesthetics of the outer envelope. They carefully examined the spatial organization of the nine thematic foyers and the clarity of the circulation within the building. The location and treatment proposed for the auditorium were also important points. On the other hand, the significance given to the animation portion of the thematic foyers did not seem to have been as determining a factor as the competition program implied.

Of the four finalists, Lemay / Group A's proposal is the only one to have explicitly referred to the former library. The architects were keen to preserve the original atrium as well as elements of the original masonry. This gesture to protect the collective memory has been praised by the jury. The innovative aspect of the project lies in the creation of dynamic spaces alternating between center and periphery, intimacy and animation. The atrium becomes an agora, a large collective space while the vertical circulation takes place at the front of the building. Despite the quality and diversity of the interior spaces, the jury was not persuaded by the proposed path from one floor to another. Furthermore, the addition of vertical slats on the exterior facade as well as the perimetric treatment of the atrium negatively impacted the project in the jury's eyes. These visual elements separate and enclose the building instead of opening it and connecting it to its environment, an architectural quality that was put forward in the competition program.

Hanganu / BMD's proposition asserts itself in the urban landscape. The presence of a huge white wall, a kind of monumental arch, on the side of Place Jacques-Cartier contrasts with the glass facade overlooking St. Joseph Street. This feature, however, separates the building from its urban environment and doesn't make for an inviting place. The strength of the project lies in the design of various sub-spaces within the building which offer convivial environments for reading and meetings. However, the jury seemed to have had difficulty understanding the proposed architectural concept and was concerned about the complexity of the spatial organization and circulation.

The concept developed by the Chevalier Morales / ABCP team caught the jury's attention by the rich spatial experience created by decentralizing the stairs, which have been thought of as "objects of desire" that would attract the user and offer a surprising journey through the thematic foyers (straight brick staircase, spiral staircase, monumental brass staircase). But this bold approach also worked against the project. The jury pointed out the risk of spatial confusion generated by the stairs and the tendency for users to favor the elevator, making the idea irrelevant. This rejection may be surprising when you consider the staircase as an architectural symbol of the progression towards knowledge which certainly deserves to be rethought and emphasized in libraries. The multiplication of entrances according to a cruciform plan which aimed to transform the ground floor into a real public square, place of transition, convergence and exchange has also disadvantaged this project. The jury raised the noteworthy problems created by this spatial configuration which makes the management of documents and building security difficult. Evidently, this attempt to rethink the typology of the library did not convince the jury.

Saucier+Perrotte / GLCRM's proposal was unanimously approved by the jury for the clarity of its concept and the role it gives to light, presented here as a metaphor for knowledge. In contrast to the old library dominated by opaque facades and brick (a legacy of brutalist architecture), the architects focused on transparency, openness and light. The glass envelope, alternating between opacity and transparency according to each floor's theme, introduces abundant natural light into the interior spaces. The main entrance is accentuated by the parvis, which extends into the interior, thus accentuating fluidity. The atrium of the former library, now elliptical in shape, diffuses the zenithal light at the heart of the four floors and highlights the scintillating work of Micheline Beauchemin. A winter garden adjacent to the main entrance skilfully provides natural light in the administrative areas located in the basement. One of the main elements that conquered the jury was the judicious location of the theater on the side of St. Joseph Street and its independent access. A room that will certainly become coveted with its foyer and outdoor terrace overlooking St. Joseph Street from the third floor. The weakest part of the project concerns the layout of the thematic foyers. The architects designed the most open spaces possible to remain flexible for future changes. An architectural parti generating refined, almost banal, interior spaces. The clarity of circulation thus outweighed architectural innovation. Despite the reservations it raises, it is a choice that has proved successful. By its apparent interior simplicity, the project won the competition, which did specify in its program a specific spatial identity for each of the theme foyers. On the other hand, other competitors, taking the risk of creating heterogeneous spaces and atmospheres, have generated spatial organizations and complex circulation that have played against them.

By the time it opens in 2021, the Gabrielle-Roy library will undergo a profound metamorphosis from opacity to transparency, an architectural parti adopted by all the finalists but brought to its peak by the winning team. The new institution will be welcoming, bright and open.

(Translated by Maxime Leblanc)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

177 concours documentés 424 concours répertoriés
4 943 projets 46 092 documents

La métamorphose d’une bibliothèque : de l’opacité à la transparence

par Alexandra Paré, publié le 2018-09-16
Depuis 2000, plus d’une quinzaine de concours d’architecture visant à repenser les bibliothèques ont été organisés au Québec. Celui de la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy illustre parfaitement ce désir de changer les institutions dédiées à la connaissance. Sur le plan architectural, il interroge la tendance contemporaine à la dématérialisation qui s’est avérée particulièrement explicite ici parce qu’en relation directe avec l’expression formelle et massive de l’ancienne bibliothèque conçue par la firme Gauthier Guité Roy. Il questionne aussi la volonté paradoxale de créer des espaces bien adaptés à des usages spécifiques tout en étant très flexibles et polyvalents.

La Ville de Québec a lancé en mars 2017 un concours en une étape pour la rénovation et l’agrandissement de la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy située au cœur du quartier Saint-Roch. Ce concours représentait le défi de transformer la première grande bibliothèque moderne du Québec en une bibliothèque dite de troisième génération, offrant non seulement des espaces calmes et silencieux pour lire et étudier mais aussi des zones dynamiques pour se rencontrer, créer et échanger des connaissances.

Inaugurée en 1983, la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy a été la première bibliothèque publique au Québec à se doter d’un vaste atrium, d’une salle de diffusion pour les arts de la scène et d’espaces multifonctionnels. Elle a été aussi une pionnière par son offre de services (artothèque, phonothèque, vidéothèque, cartothèque) et ses activités culturelles variées. Dès son ouverture, elle a contribué grandement à la revitalisation du quartier qui était alors assez négligé et a dynamisé considérablement la vie sociale et culturelle de la Basse-Ville.

Ancien quartier ouvrier, Saint-Roch est devenu, à partir des années 90, un milieu branché et créatif avec l’arrivée d’étudiants, d’artistes et de professionnels et s’est fortement modifié sur le plan urbanistique et architectural. En 2014, deux éléments importants de la bibliothèque, l’auditorium Joseph-Lavergne et le centre d’exposition situés sur la place Jacques-Cartier, ont été démolis pour faire place à une immense tour résidentielle de vingt étages. La disparition de ces deux espaces majeurs et la présence imposante de la tour Fresk ont conduit la Ville de Québec à lancer un concours visant à transformer l’édifice originel afin de lui redonner des espaces culturels rassembleurs et de la remettre à l’avant-garde des bibliothèques d’Amérique du Nord.

Avec une enveloppe de 40 M$, les architectes avaient pour mission de moderniser la bibliothèque en conservant son ossature et son atrium et d’agrandir celle-ci du côté de la rue Saint-Joseph. Les principaux éléments du programme étaient les suivants : neuf foyers thématiques répartis sur quatre étages et regroupant les 220 000 documents de la collection; des espaces de détente, d’apprentissage et de création au cœur de chacun des foyers de connaissance; une salle de diffusion avec foyer attenant. Le tout devant être mis en forme de façon à révolutionner le concept actuel des bibliothèques pour en faire non seulement un lieu de connaissance mais aussi une place de rencontre et un carrefour de création via des ateliers de cuisine, des studios de musique, etc.

Suite à l'étape de présélection, quatre équipes finalistes ont été conviées à métamorphoser l’ancienne bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy en une institution littéraire, culturelle et sociale des plus innovantes.
• Lemay / Groupe A
• Hanganu / BMD
• Chevalier Morales / ABCP
• Saucier+Perrotte / GLCRM

Le jury, présidé par Lise Bissonnette, a été très attentif à l’intégration de la nouvelle bibliothèque dans le quartier et à l’esthétique de l’enveloppe extérieure. Il a examiné l’organisation spatiale des neuf foyers thématiques et la clarté de la circulation au sein de l’édifice. La localisation et le traitement proposés pour la salle de diffusion ont également été des points importants. En revanche, la mise en valeur des espaces d’animation des foyers thématiques ne semble pas avoir été un élément aussi déterminant que le programme du concours le laissait entendre.
Parmi les quatre finalistes, la proposition de l’équipe Lemay / Groupe A est la seule à avoir fait concrètement référence à l’ancienne bibliothèque. Les architectes ont tenu à conserver l’atrium initial ainsi que des éléments de la maçonnerie d’origine. Un geste visant à protéger la mémoire collective qui a été salué par le jury. L’aspect innovant du projet réside dans la création d’espaces dynamiques alternant entre centre et périphérie, intimité et animation. L’atrium devient une agora, un vaste espace collectif alors que la circulation verticale s’effectue à l’avant de l’édifice. Malgré la qualité et la diversité des aménagements intérieurs, le jury n’a pas été persuadé par le cheminement proposé d’un étage à l’autre. De plus, l’ajout de lattes verticales sur les façades extérieures ainsi que sur le périmètre de l’atrium ont porté considérablement préjudice au projet. Ces éléments visuels séparent et enferment l’édifice au lieu de l’ouvrir et de le relier à son environnement, qualité architecturale pourtant mise de l’avant dans le programme du concours.

Le projet de l’équipe Hanganu / BMD s’affirme dans le paysage urbain. La présence d’un immense mur blanc, sorte d’arche monumentale, du côté de la place Jacques-Cartier contraste avec la façade de verre donnant sur la rue Saint-Joseph. Un marquage spatial qui sépare l’édifice de son environnement urbain et n’en fait pas un lieu invitant, à priori. La force du projet se trouve au niveau de la conception de sous-espaces variés au sein de l’édifice permettant d’offrir des ambiances conviviales pour la lecture et les rencontres. Toutefois, le jury semble avoir eu de la difficulté à comprendre le concept architectural proposé et s’est inquiété de la complexité de l’organisation spatiale et des circulations.

Le concept élaboré par l’équipe Chevalier Morales / ABCP a retenu l’attention du jury par la riche expérience spatiale suscitée par la décentralisation des escaliers. Ceux-ci ont été pensés comme des « objets de désirs » dans le but d’attirer l’usager et de lui offrir un parcours surprenant à travers les foyers thématiques (escalier droit en brique, escalier hélicoïdal, escalier monumental en laiton). Or, cette approche audacieuse a aussi joué en défaveur du projet. Le jury a souligné le risque de confusion spatiale générée par les escaliers et la tendance des usagers à privilégier l’ascenseur rendant l’idée peu pertinente. Ce rejet peut étonner quand on considère l’escalier comme symbole architectural de la progression vers la connaissance qui mérite certainement d’être repensé et mis en valeur dans les bibliothèques. La multiplication des entrées selon un plan cruciforme qui avait pour but de transformer le rez-de-chaussée en une véritable place publique, lieu de transition, de convergence et d’échange a également désavantagé ce projet. Le jury a soulevé les problèmes importants engendrés par cette configuration spatiale qui rend la gestion des documents et de la sécurité de l’édifice difficiles. À l’évidence, cette tentative de repenser la typologie de la bibliothèque n’a pas convaincu.

Le projet de l’équipe Saucier+Perrotte / GLCRM a fait l’unanimité du jury par la clarté de son concept et le rôle qu’il donne à la lumière, présentée ici comme une métaphore de la connaissance. Contrastant avec l’ancienne bibliothèque où dominaient les façades opaques et la brique (héritage de l’architecture brutaliste), les architectes ont misé sur la transparence, l’ouverture et la lumière. L’enveloppe de verre, alternant opacité et transparence en fonction de la thématique des étages, introduit une abondante lumière naturelle au sein des espaces intérieurs. L’entrée principale est soulignée par le parvis de la place publique qui se prolonge à l’intérieur accentuant l’effet de fluidité. L’atrium de l’ancienne bibliothèque, maintenant de forme elliptique, diffuse la lumière zénithale au cœur des quatre étages et met en valeur l’œuvre scintillante de Micheline Beauchemin. Un jardin d’hiver adjacent à l’entrée principale apporte de façon habile un éclairage naturel dans les aires administratives situées au sous-sol. Mais l’un des principaux éléments qui a conquis le jury est la localisation judicieuse de la salle de diffusion du côté de la rue Saint-Joseph et son accès indépendant. Une salle qui deviendra certainement convoitée avec son foyer et sa terrasse extérieure surplombant, du troisième étage, la rue Saint-Joseph. La partie la plus faible du projet concerne la création des foyers thématiques. Les architectes ont conçu les espaces le plus décloisonnés possibles afin qu’ils demeurent flexibles pour des changements éventuels dans l’avenir. Un parti architectural générant des aménagements intérieurs épurés, presque banalisés, la clarté de la circulation l’emportant sur l’innovation architecturale. Malgré les réserves qu’il suscite, c’est un choix qui s’est avéré stratégique. Par son apparente simplicité intérieure, le projet a remporté le concours qui spécifiait pourtant dans son programme une identité spatiale propre pour chacun des foyers thématiques et la mise en valeur de leurs espaces d’animation. À l’inverse, les autres concurrents, en prenant le risque de créer des espaces et des ambiances hétérogènes ont engendré des organisations spatiales et des circulations complexes qui ont joué en leur défaveur.

D’ici son ouverture en 2021, la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy subira une profonde métamorphose allant de l’opacité à la transparence, un parti architectural adopté par toutes les équipes finalistes mais porté à son paroxysme chez l’équipe lauréate. La nouvelle institution sera accueillante, lumineuse et ouverte.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires