177 competitions documented 424 competitions listed
4 943 projects 46 092 documents

If you please, draw me a third place...

by Aurélien Catros, published 2018-11-07
To note the recurrence of this expectation in competition programs for public buildings, it is time to open the debate. In 2014, the team Chevalier Morales and DMA architects won the jury over after arguing the search for a unique, iconic, and emblematic architecture, but especially the search for a "third place". Through this equivocal concept, the Drummondville library competition questions the need for a new definition of the contemporary library itself.

Created in 1989 by Ray Oldenburg, the term "third place" refers to spaces that differ from housing or workplace and fosters important social and civic roles. They are characterized by several points, some of which seem just as much of a contradiction to the very essence of a library - the storage and reading of books - as to the ambitions that fed the jury of the competition in Drummondville - a signal-architecture likely to become the symbol of the city that welcomes it. Indeed, according to Oldenburg, the third places would be spaces treated with sobriety and simplicity, especially inside, in which the conversation would be the main activity. We now understand the difficulty the 4 finalist teams faced when presented with perfectly antinomic objectives.

A $ 15.5M envelope was planned to allow the institution to settle on a site located between the train station and the Drummondville Town Hall, connected by a narrow strip to one of the main shopping streets of the city. The program prescribed a "21st century" library which would live alongside the Drummond History Society and the Arts, Culture and Immigration Department within the future building. Defined as a catalyst for the cultural and socioeconomic development of the city, this "third place" was supposed to facilitate the "convergence of the Drummondvillois".

To address this issue of urban convergence, the team Menkes Shooker Dagenais Letourneux architects proposed a multipurpose public square called the "unifying plate" on which the building would sit as "a pavilion in the heart of a civic pole". In doing so, the library is conceived as an intimate and peaceful setting, a place of reflection and contemplation. The architects mention the famous "third place" but they relate it to the empathy that the building would generate among its users through the creation of a project resolutely focused on the introspection of individuals. By imagining a collection of spaces dedicated to reading (each with its own atmosphere), the team defends a rather classic vision of the library consistent with the sobriety of the proposal that the jury will describe as "conventional", regretting the lack of a distinctive architectural gesture.

On the other hand, the project of Atelier TAG and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architects was able to conquer the jury thanks to its "superb" entrance and the "remarkable" screenprinted concrete of its forecourt. Although certain reservations were expressed regarding the weather resistance of the veil which brings together the different elements of the program onto the roof, it has nonetheless been described as "spectacular". These numerous superlatives betray the search for an object, a symbolic architecture on the part of the jury members in the different projects. Despite this formal enthusiasm and the remarkable qualities of its internal organization, the project appeared confused in its choices of urban settlement. This aspect, without being explicitly mentioned in the program issued to the candidates, was carefully considered in each of the proposals.

Lemay + LAB's proposal stood out on the urban plan by using the narrow strip to offer an entrance to the building via the shopping street. Hailed by the jury, this bold layout required a lengthy linear deployment of the building resulting in a number of internal complications which ultimately harmed the project. Moreover, the volume of glass overlooking the site was appreciated for its architectural treatment, even if its distance from the traffic routes has disappointed a jury that would have liked to combine its qualities of a signal-signal with the presence of the entrance on the street in order to make the building an urban landmark in Drummondville. Another particularity was the increased attention paid to the locality of the project through the desire to integrate the community and the explicit references to the former textile industries of the region.

The winning team, Chevalier Morales and DMA was also praised for the many references to the history of the city both through the resolutely industrial materiality of the envelope, and the urban, environmental and landscape approach which pays homage to the "jardin des voltigeurs". In addition to the staging of the institution from the urban scale to the interior of the building, it's thanks to an original response to the concept of "third place" that won them the competition. Outside, the urban strategy is based on a network of "civic places", which can expand as the city acquires property, and which connects the site to its context, including the main street. A remarkable architectural expression makes the project "iconic" in the words of the jury by reaffirming its specific character in Drummondville. Inside, the concept is formalized by a monumental staircase / café, the nerve center of the "third place" as defined by Oldenburg. Although this architectural object poses several problems of circulation and functionality of the place (as a library), its distinctive sculptural character still underlined the emblematic trait visibly sought after by the jury who defended the project against certain reservations expressed by the technical committee.

In 2018, the public library seems to have become the symbolic program of the "third place" despite the obvious contradiction between conversing and reading at the same time. Solving this paradox implies considering the new mission of libraries at the turn of the 1980s namely: the storage and lending of audiovisual and digital content whose on-site consultation is difficult or impossible. From then on, it will be understood that the library will gradually give up its classic role as a temple of knowledge, peaceful and conducive to study, to get closer to an etymological role that it has never only had: "biblio- thḗkē", ("place of deposit for books": a place where we just borrow documents, whether they support digital data or not). This new library or "media library" can then admit several other programs including that of the famous "third place" which preserves and enriches the political and symbolic function that has always characterized this kind of building since the great ancient libraries, allegory of the power of the cities that built them. From a simple deposit, the library would be destined to become the forum of the contemporary city.

The Drummondville competition shows us once again that this typological mutation can now make the library the urban banner of a cultural and institutional commitment, as well as a "third place" of public convergence. However, this concept remains ambiguous. In the eponymous work of Antoine de Saint Exupéry (1947), the Little Prince asks three times for "the aviator" to draw a sheep before being satisfied by the design of a box with holes that lets him imagine what he wants. The "third place" is a conceptual box of the same kind that conceals the specific expectations of the promoters to architects who must yet blindly propose a project that conforms to it. The architecture must reveal the concept, thus lifting the box.

(Translated by Maxime Leblanc)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

177 concours documentés 424 concours répertoriés
4 943 projets 46 092 documents

S’il-vous-plait, dessine-moi un troisième lieu

par Aurélien Catros, publié le 2018-11-07
À constater la récurrence de cette attente dans les programmes de concours pour des édifices publics, il est temps d’ouvrir le débat. En 2014, l’équipe Chevalier Morales et DMA architectes a remporté l’adhésion d’un jury à la recherche à la fois d’une architecture singulière, iconique, emblématique mais aussi et surtout d’un « troisième lieu ». À travers ce concept équivoque, le concours de la bibliothèque de Drummondville interroge la nécessité d’une nouvelle définition de la bibliothèque contemporaine elle-même.

Créé en 1989 par Ray Oldenburg, le terme de « troisième lieu » ou « tiers-lieu » (« Third place ») désigne des espaces différents du logement ou du lieu de travail et admettant des rôles sociaux et civiques importants. Ils se caractérisent par plusieurs points dont certains semblent contradictoires autant avec l’essence d’une bibliothèque - le stockage de livre et leur lecture - qu’avec les ambitions qu’alimentait le jury du concours à Drummondville - une architecture-signal susceptible de devenir le symbole de la ville qui l’accueille -. En effet, selon Oldenburg, les troisièmes lieux seraient des espaces traités avec sobriété et simplicité, notamment à l’intérieur, dans lesquels la conversation serait l’activité principale. On comprend dès lors la difficulté devant laquelle se trouvaient les 4 équipes finalistes face à des objectifs parfaitement antinomiques.

Une enveloppe de $15,5M était prévue pour permettre à l’institution de s’installer sur un îlot situé entre la gare et l’hôtel de ville de Drummondville, connecté par une bande étroite à l’une des principales artères commerçantes de la ville. Le programme prescrivait une bibliothèque « du 21e siècle » cohabitant avec la Société d'histoire de Drummond et le Service arts, culture et immigration au sein du futur édifice. Défini comme un catalyseur du développement économique culturel et social de la ville, ce « troisième lieu » était censé faciliter la « convergence des Drummondvillois ».

Pour répondre à cette problématique de convergence urbaine, l’équipe Menkès Shooker Dagenais Letourneux architectes proposait une place publique polyvalente appelée la « plaque unificatrice » sur laquelle l’édifice s’implantait comme « un pavillon au cœur d’un pôle civique ». Ce faisant, la bibliothèque est pensée par les architectes comme un écrin intime et paisible, lieu de réflexion et de contemplation. Les concepteurs mentionnent le fameux « troisième lieu » mais ils le rattachent à l’empathie que le bâtiment génèrera chez ses usagers en faisant un projet résolument tourné vers l’introspection des individus. En imaginant une collection d’espaces dédiés à la lecture ayant chacun une atmosphère propre, l’équipe défend une vision plutôt classique de la bibliothèque cohérente avec la sobriété de la proposition que le jury qualifiera de « conventionnelle », regrettant l’absence de geste architectural distinctif.

À contrario, le projet de l’atelier TAG et Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes a su conquérir le jury grâce à sa « superbe » entrée et au béton sérigraphié « remarquable » de son parvis. Si certaines réserves ont été émises quant à la résistance aux intempéries du voile qui rassemble les différents éléments du programme en toiture, il a néanmoins été qualifié de « spectaculaire ». Ces nombreux superlatifs trahissent la recherche d’un objet, d’une architecture-symbole de la part des membres du jury dans les différents projets. Malgré cet engouement formel et les qualités remarquées de son organisation intérieure, le projet est apparu confus dans ses choix d’implantation urbaine. Or, cet aspect, sans pour autant être mentionné de manière explicite dans le programme délivré aux candidats, a été examiné avec attention dans chacune des propositions.

La proposition de Lemay+LAB se démarquait sur le plan urbain en utilisant l’étroite bande pour proposer une entrée de l’édifice de plain-pied sur l’artère commerçante. Saluée par le jury, cette implantation audacieuse a nécessité un déploiement du bâtiment tout en longueur entrainant nombre de complications internes ce qui a finalement desservi le projet. Par ailleurs, le volume de verre dominant le site a été très apprécié pour son traitement architectural, même si son éloignement des axes de circulation a déçu un jury qui aurait aimé combiner ses qualités de bâtiment-signal avec la présence de l’entrée sur la rue pour faire de l’édifice un repère urbain à l’échelle de Drummondville. Une autre particularité remarquée fut l’attention accrue portée à la dimension locale du projet à travers la volonté forte d’intégration de la communauté et les références explicites au passé industriel du textile de la région.

L’équipe lauréate, Chevalier Morales et DMA a également été saluée pour les nombreuses références à l’histoire de la ville tant dans le matériau résolument industriel choisi pour l’enveloppe de la proposition que dans sa démarche urbaine, environnementale et paysagère avec notamment le jardin des voltigeurs. Outre la mise en scène de l’institution depuis l’échelle urbaine jusqu’à l’intérieur du bâtiment, c’est grâce à une réponse originale au concept de « troisième lieu » qu’elle s’est véritablement démarqué. A l’extérieur, la stratégie urbaine est fondée sur un réseau de « places civiques », susceptibles de s’étendre au gré des acquisitions foncières de la ville, qui connecte le site à son contexte, notamment à l’artère commerçante. Une expression architecturale remarquable rend le projet « iconique » dans les mots du jury en réaffirmant son caractère spécifique à Drummondville. A l’intérieur, le concept est formalisé par un escalier/café monumental, centre névralgique du « tiers-lieu » tel que défini par Oldenburg. Bien que cet objet architectural pose plusieurs problèmes de circulation et de fonctionnalité des lieux (en tant que bibliothèque), son caractère sculptural distinctif soulignait encore le trait emblématique visiblement recherché par le jury qui a défendu le projet contre certaines réserves exprimées par le comité technique.

En 2018, la bibliothèque publique semble être devenue le programme symbole du « tiers-lieu » malgré la contradiction manifeste que ces deux concepts partagent : converser et lire en même temps. Résoudre ce paradoxe implique de considérer la nouvelle mission des bibliothèques au tournant des années 1980 à savoir : le stockage et de prêt de contenus culturels audiovisuels puis numérique dont la consultation sur place est difficile voire impossible. Dès lors, on comprendra que la bibliothèque abandonnera peu à peu son rôle classique de temple du savoir, paisible et propice à l’étude pour se rapprocher d’un rôle étymologique qu’elle n’a jamais seulement eu « biblio- thḗkē », littéralement « lieu de dépôt à livre » : un lieu où l’on vient seulement emprunter des documents (qu’ils soient support pour des données numériques ou non). Cette nouvelle bibliothèque ou « médiathèque » peut alors admettre plusieurs autres programmes dont celui du fameux « troisième lieu » qui conserve et enrichi la fonction politique et symbolique qui a toujours caractérisé ce genre d’édifice depuis les grandes bibliothèques antiques, allégorie de la puissance des villes qui les bâtirent. D’un simple dépôt, la bibliothèque serait donc destinée à devenir le forum de la ville contemporaine.

Le concours de Drummondville nous montre une fois de plus que cette mutation typologique peut désormais faire de la bibliothèque l’étendard urbain d’un engagement institutionnel culturel autant qu’un « tiers-lieu » de convergence publique. Cependant, ce concept reste toutefois équivoque. Dans l’œuvre éponyme d’Antoine de Saint Exupéry (1947), le Petit Prince demande par trois fois à « l’aviateur » de lui dessiner un mouton avant d’être satisfait par le dessin d’une boite trouée qui le laisse imaginer ce qu’il veut. Le « troisième lieu » est une boite conceptuelle de la même sorte qui dissimule les attentes précises des commanditaires à des architectes qui doivent pourtant proposer à l’aveugle un projet qui s’y conforme. L’architecture doit révéler le concept, soulever la boite.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires