159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

A publication under permanent construction

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2006-05-01
Devoted to the archiving, analysis and history of contemporary architecture, the Canadian Competitions Catalogue is an interactive publication under permanent construction, in regards to both its contents and its consultation. Developed with the initiative of the Laboratoire d'étude de l'architecture potentielle, in order to render public an essential portion of its documentary database, it currently provides access to more that 4000 reproductions of documents of architecture, landscape architecture and urbanism. The CCC is one of the few data bases and research engines entirely devoted to competitions. (See "competition worldwide" to get access to websites in over 25 countries).

Each of the competitions documented in the Canadian Competitions Catalogue generated tens, and at times hundreds of projects. For example, The Mississauga City Hall Competition in 1981 produced nearly 250 projects; or closer to home, the competition held for the design of the Châteauguay Library in 2001 received approximately 60 proposals during its first stage; and finally, that of the Montréal Symphony Orchestra (OSM) in 2002 generated over 100 preliminary designs from architects worldwide.

Projects developed during architectural competitions represent a particularly unknown and neglected architectural heritage. These projects however, have a value well beyond their possible success in the competition. We can all identify many non-winning projects - truly "potential architecture", which continues to influence the practice and transfer of ideas, in ways that are often more influential than built projects themselves. By definition, the competition environment is rich in critical, reflective, innovative and bold proposals.

Thanks to the generosity of many architectural offices who graciously opened their professional archives to academic research and to a significant financial support from several sponsoring organizations, beginning in 2002 the Laboratoire d'étude de l'architecture potentielle de l'Université de Montréal (L.E.A.P.) team has been assembling information and documents pertaining to architectural, urban planning and landscape architectural competitions organized in Canada since 1945. Founded on the possibilities of comparative procedures, this long-term research project, of which the scientific, cultural, pedagogical and technological impacts are extensive, will also permit to better understand the phenomenon of competitions as well as the relationship between architectural practice and the various modes of cultural mediation. Competition projects offer a reflection on spatial and societal organization; they should also permit an enlightened and detailed comprehension of our cultural history.

Up to now, more than 30 competitions organized in Quebec have been documented and only a dozen from other provinces. In the nearest future, the Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle will build a research network within the 10 canadian schools of architecture in order to progressively ensure the most complete constitution of the CCC.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Une publication en construction permanente

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2006-05-01
Destiné à l'archivage, à l'analyse et à l'histoire de l'architecture contemporaine, le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens est une publication interactive en construction permanente, tant du point de vue de sa constitution que de sa consultation. Le CCC donne actuellement accès à plus de 4000 reproductions de documents d'architecture, d'architecture de paysage et d'urbanisme grâce à une initiative du Laboratoire d'étude de l'architecture potentielle, visant à rendre public une partie essentielle de sa documentation numérique. Il s'agit, en effet, de l'un des rares recueils raisonnés de projets de concours, tant au Canada que dans le monde. (Le CCC renvoie par ailleurs à des sites sur les concours dans plus de 25 pays : voir « concours dans le monde »).

Chacun des concours documentés dans le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens a généré des dizaines, voire des centaines de projets. Par exemple, le concours pour l'Hôtel de Ville de Mississauga (1981) a rassemblé près de 250 projets, plus proche de nous, le concours pour la Bibliothèque de Châteauguay (2001) a reçu près de 60 propositions en première phase et celui pour l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal (2002) a donné lieu à plus d'une centaine d'esquisses détaillées en provenance du monde entier.

Les projets conçus à l'occasion de concours constituent un patrimoine architectural particulièrement méconnu et négligé. Ces projets ont pourtant une valeur bien au delà de leur éventuel succès dans le contexte d'un concours. On connaît nombre de projets non lauréats, véritables « architectures potentielles », qui continuent d'influencer les pratiques ou les transferts de connaissance, de façon souvent plus déterminante que les projets réalisés. Par essence, la situation du concours est riche en pratiques critiques et réflexives, innovantes et audacieuses.

Grâce à la générosité de nombreux bureaux d'architectes disposés à rendre accessibles leurs fonds d'archives professionnelles pour des fins de recherche universitaire, et fort du soutien financier de plusieurs organismes subventionnaires, l'équipe du Laboratoire d'étude de l'architecture potentielle (L.E.A.P.) de l'Université de Montréal rassemble, depuis 2002, informations et documents sur les concours d'architecture, de paysage et d'urbanisme organisés au Canada depuis 1945. En reposant sur les vertus du comparatisme, ce projet de recherche à long terme, dont les incidences scientifiques, culturelles, pédagogiques et technologiques sont multiples, devrait permettre d'éclairer et de mieux comprendre tout aussi bien le phénomène des concours, que la relation entre les pratiques architecturales et les divers modes de médiation culturelle. Les projets de concours proposent des réflexions sur l'organisation de l'espace et de la société, ils devraient aussi permettre d'accéder à une compréhension plus éclairée et plus fine de notre histoire culturelle.

Jusqu'à présent nous avons documenté plus d'une trentaine de concours québécois et seulement une dizaine dans les autres parties du Canada. Dans les prochains mois le Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle s'est donné pour mission de mettre en place un grand réseau de recherche sur les concours dans les 10 écoles d'architecture des universités canadiennes en vue d'assurer progressivement la constitution la plus complète possible du CCC.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires