156 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 426 projects 42 638 documents

Architects, the CCC belongs to you!

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2006-06-01
Since its launch in April of 2006, the CCC has been visited by more than 2500 people, in numerous different countries and more than 25000 pages have been consulted. These statistics are encouraging for our team and we eagerly anticipate the active participation of architects and students in assisting us with updates of this valuable publication.

The majority of search engines now produce results (and quite rapidly) for searches on architects having participated in an architectural competition in Canada and more than half of all visitors who access our site do so from Google. Undoubtedly, it is mainly the latest competitions that interest visitors of the CCC, however it is increasingly evident that this library of projects permits those who take the time to consult it, to discover many "little treasures". For example, the competition for the Musée d'art contemporain (1983) - which is perhaps less well-known to a younger generation, and for which our documentation is limited to several reproductions of black and white drawings, delivers nonetheless a remarkable overview of architectural production during the 1980s in Québec as well as the rest of Canada.

The June 2006 update of the CCC includes items of particular interest, such as: projects submitted to the competition organized by the University of British Columbia in Vancouver (2004), recent images of the winning project by Jacques Plante for the Théâtre de la Bordée in Québec City as well as the réaménagement du Musée de la Gaspésie and the Palais Montcalm competitions. We also made it a priority to correct a few errors and omissions that were communicated to us via our e-mail address (leap-lab@umontreal.ca) and encourage all visitors to collaborate in this collective publication.

Finally, you will also notice the addition of two drop-down menus on the main page of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue that enable searches by "City" or by "Category" or architectural typology.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

156 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 426 projets 42 638 documents

Architectes, le CCC vous appartient!

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2006-06-01
Depuis son lancement, en avril 2006, le CCC a été visité par plus de 2500 personnes, dans de nombreux pays, et plus de 25000 pages ont été consultées. Ces statistiques sont encourageantes pour notre équipe et nous comptons sur la participation active des architectes, y compris des étudiants, pour nous aider dans la mise à jour de cette publication au service du plus grand nombre.

La plupart des moteurs de recherche retournent désormais, de surcroît assez rapidement, des résultats sur des requêtes de noms d'architectes ayant participé à un concours organisé au Canada, et plus de la moitié des visiteurs passent par Google. Certes, ce sont surtout les concours les plus récents, qui intéressent d'abord les visiteurs du CCC, mais il est de plus en plus clair que cette bibliothèque de projets permet à ceux qui prennent le temps de la consulter, de découvrir de multiples « petits trésors ». Par exemple, le concours pour le Musée d'art contemporain (1983), déjà moins connu des plus jeunes, et pour lequel notre documentation se limite à quelques reproductions de dessins en noir et blanc, livre tout de même une saisissante vue d'ensemble de la production architecturale des années 1980, tant au Québec qu'au Canada.

Dans la mise à jour de juin, on découvrira, en particulier : les projets présentés au concours organisé par l'Université de Colombie Britannique à Vancouver (2004), des images récentes du projet lauréat de Jacques Plante pour le Théâtre de la Bordée à Québec, ainsi que pour le réaménagement du Musée de la Gaspésie et du Palais Montcalm. Nous avons également attaché beaucoup d'importance à la correction de certaines erreurs ou omissions qui nous ont été signalées via notre courriel (leap-lab@umontreal.ca) et nous encourageons tous les visiteurs à collaborer à cette publication collective.

Enfin, on remarquera l'addition de deux menus déroulants sur la page d'entrée du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens, pour effectuer des requêtes par « villes » et par « catégories » ou typologies architecturales.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires