159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents

Living in the city center

by Anne Cormier , published 2006-10-01
From Vancouver to Halifax, 118 master students from the 10 Canadian schools of architecture, and forming 35 teams, took part in the first phase of the first LEAP architectural competition. Of the 35, 15 selected and remunerated teams developed proposals to rethink and redefine social housing in the city center. These projects are now presented exclusively in the CCC and the winners are announced on the LEAP website.

This recent competition recalls «L'Art de vivre en ville», a competition launched in Montreal 15 years ago, and for which over a hundred projects were submitted. This competition, just as the LEAP competition, testifies of architects' interest in the rich and difficult program of social housing and of housing in general. The example of the Europan competition attests, at another scale (15000 proposals in 15 years), and in the context of late XXth century Europe, about the importance of housing from the point of view of creation and of typological innovation. It is in this spirit that the LEAP student competition «Rethinking and Redefining Social Housing in the City Center» was launched. As a matter of fact, it is framed within a vast research creation project financed by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada that considers social housing as a space for creation, innovation and criticism within Canadian city centers.

This ideas competition reveals the comprehension students in architecture have about student housing and it offers a journey «a mari usque ad marem» through the Canadian urban mosaic. If the competitors proposals show a certain naivety, and if they are not totally in sync with construction reality, they nevertheless remain intelligent, generous, and stimulating and our research team hopes that they will strongly contribute in stirring up architectural and urban debate which, in Canada, is much needed.

Considering social housing as a space propitious to creation, innovation and critique, next spring we will launch a second student competition.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

150 concours documentés 411 concours répertoriés
4 274 projets 42 109 documents

Vivre en centre-ville

par Anne Cormier , publié le 2006-10-01
De Vancouver à Halifax, 118 étudiants de maîtrise provenant des 10 écoles d'architecture, formant 35 équipes, ont répondu à l'invitation du LEAP qui lançait au printemps son premier concours d'architecture. Les 15 équipes sélectionnées et rémunérées ont développé des propositions visant à repenser et à redéfinir le logement social en centre-ville. Ces projets vous sont présentés en exclusivité et les lauréats sont dévoilés sur le site web du Leap.

Ce tout récent concours en évoque un autre : «L'Art de vivre en ville» lancé à Montréal il y a 15 ans et auquel plus d'une centaine de projets avaient été soumis. Ce concours tout comme le concours LEAP de 2006 témoigne de l'intérêt des architectes pour ce riche et difficile programme qu'est le logement social et le logement en général. L'exemple des concours Europan atteste, à une tout autre échelle (15000 propositions en 15 ans de concours) et dans un autre contexte, celui de l'Europe de la fin du XXe siècle, de l'importance du logement du point de vue de la création et de l'innovation typologique. Et c'est dans cet esprit que le concours étudiant LEAP «Repenser et redéfinir le logement social en centre-ville» a été lancé. En effet, il s'inscrit dans le cadre d'un vaste projet de recherche création financé par le Conseil de Recherche en Sciences Humaines du Canada qui traite du logement social comme espace de création, d'innovation et de critique dans les centres-villes canadiens.

Ce concours d'idées révèle la compréhension qu'ont les étudiants en architecture de la question du logement social et il nous propose un parcours «a mari usque ad marem» de la mosaïque canadienne urbaine. Si les propositions des concurrents témoignent sans doute d'une certaine naïveté et si elles sont très éloignées de ce qui se construit ici, elles n'en demeurent pas moins intelligentes, généreuses et stimulantes et notre équipe de recherche espère qu'elles contribueront activement à alimenter un débat architectural et urbain qui, au Canada, en a fortement besoin.

En pariant que le logement social soit un espace propice à la création, à l'innovation et à la critique, nous vous donnons rendez-vous au printemps prochain pour le lancement d'un second concours étudiant.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires