158 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 441 projects 42 912 documents

Private competitions: Anamorphosis of profitability

by Jacques Lachapelle , published 2007-01-01
The winning project of Quadrangle and Peter Pran for the competition on the Tip Top Tailors site proposed a deformed curvilinear tower that followed Deconstructivist trends. If this competition was reduced to the simple design of an iconic tower to stand out in the urban landscape, it would be of little interest. This however is not the case.

Launched in 1994, this competition was one of the rare to be initiated by a private company, Dylex Ltd. In the competition outline, the Professional Consultants, Urban Strategies Inc., highlighted the site's wealth of qualities. It was located both at the edge of the Harbourfront - the old port of Toronto successfully redeveloped, and Corona Park in the hip neighbourhood of Garrison Common. Finally, the property itself included the Tip Top Tailors factory, an Art Deco style building recognized for its historical value.

A port and landscape site offering views of the city as well as Lake Ontario, the range of possible sources of inspiration was very extensive. Of the five participants, only Dan Hanganu insisted on a lower volume in order to structure his proposal in response to the existing building. Justifying forms and designs by axes, views, and site opportunities, all the other competitors chose to add a tower in contrast, at times, with the historical building, itself left on its own. The change of attitude is clear: historicism, for some, is a thing of the past.

This process gained popularity amongst developers, who stepped off the beaten path and took advantage of the competition formula. Yet, the winning project was not constructed as Dylex Ltd. was unable to follow through. A single case does not form a rule. Other examples are needed in order to determine whether the competition formula is profitable for the private sector. The CCC includes another such example, the Absolute Design Ideas Competition which also took place in Toronto. The winning team, MAD Office, proposed an elegant deformed tower which, in addition to the Tip Top Tailors case, could incite irony on the anamorphosis which is the current outlet of real estate profitability in urban centres. The attentive comparison of these two competitions reassures us of the serendipity of analyses and solutions proposed by architects.

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

150 concours documentés 411 concours répertoriés
4 274 projets 42 109 documents

Concours privé: l'anamorphose de la rentabilité

par Jacques Lachapelle , publié le 2007-01-01
Le projet gagnant du concours du site Tip Top Tailors, celui de Quadrangle et Peter Pran, présentait une tour aux déformations courbes qui suivaient les tendances du déconstructivisme. Si on devait réduire ce concours à celui d’une tour qui doit faire image dans le paysage urbain, il n’aurait qu’un intérêt limité. Ce n’est cependant pas le cas.

Lancé en 1994, ce concours est l’un des rares à avoir été initié par une compagnie privée, Dylex Ltd. Les conseillers professionnels, Urban Strategies Inc. ont su dans la commande faire ressortir la richesse du site. Celui-ci se trouve, d’une part, aux confins du Harbourfront, le vieux port de Toronto réaménagé avec succès et, d’autre part, à la limite de Corona Park, dans le quartier branché de Garrison Common. Enfin, la propriété elle-même comprend la manufacture Tip Top Tailors, de style art déco, dont la valeur historique était reconnue.

Site portuaire et paysager, offrant des vues sur la ville aussi bien que sur le lac Ontario, l’éventail des sources d’inspiration possibles était fort étendu. Des cinq participants, seul Hanganu s’en tient à un volume bas, cherchant à structurer son projet en fonction du bâtiment existant.

Justifiant les formes et les aménagements par les axes, vues et opportunités du site, tous les autres ont choisi d’ajouter une tour qui contraste, parfois, avec l’édifice historique, laissé à lui-même. Le changement d’attitude est clair : l’historicisme, pour certains, est affaire du passé.

L’exercice fait rêver à un plus grand nombre de promoteurs qui sortiraient des sentiers battus et profiteraient de la formule du concours. Pourtant, le projet gagnant n’a pas été construit, Dylex Ltd. n’ayant pas pu y donner suite. Un cas ne fait pas une règle. Il faudrait plus d’exemples pour savoir si la formule du concours est rentable pour le privé. Le CCC en comprend un autre, l’Absolute Design Ideas Competition, situé à Toronto lui aussi. Le lauréat, MAD Office, propose une élégante tour déformée qui, en s’ajoutant au cas du Tip Top Tailors, pourrait inciter à ironiser sur l’anamorphose qui serait aujourd’hui l’exutoire de la rentabilité immobilière en milieu urbain. La comparaison attentive des deux concours rassure sur l’heureuse imprévisibilité des analyses et des solutions apportées par les architectes.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires