159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

Recreating Social Housing (2nd L.E.A.P competition)

by Anne Cormier, published 2007-10-01
The CCC presents this month the projects and the winners of the second LEAP competition “Rethinking and Redefining Social Housing in the Montreal City Center”. This contest is inscribed in the framework of a research/creation project entitled Social housing as a creative and innovative space and critical agent of the Canadian city centers, subsidized by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada program to support and assist research-creation. This programme has for the past few years, contributed to the renewal and dynamisation of the research that is now impending suspension. This suspension is even more unfortunate since it is the only national programme that promotes the collaboration between the researchers and the creators. Let us remind you that research-creation is a research directly linked to the work of artistic or literary creation which favours the advancement or evolution and contributes to the students' training.

Similar to the first LEAP competition released in Spring 2006, the second contest aims to explore the new ideas that can result from the establishment of social housing in the downtown core and to initiate an architectural, urban and political reflective contemplation on the definition of the city-centers by proposing, this time around, a city and a location. The proposed sector is in fact in Montreal and circumscribed by Guy, Sainte-Catherine, Peel streets, and René-Lévesque Boulevard. This sector is located at the junction of significative zones in the definition of the city center, like the Cité de la Technologie, Concordia University, the large commercial affluent of Sainte-Catherine street, the business center close to two important museums, the Museum of Fine Arts and the Canadian Center for Architecture. The structure of this sector has suffered a considerable decomposition during the past forty-five years and its core is actually primarily composed of vacant lots used for parking. The present time is characterized by the return of the working class to Montreal's down-town core and a transformation of this latter resulting from the construction of luxurious condominiums. The sector up for study seems to represent, in the frame of the competition, an ideal terrain for experimentation.

The results of this research-creation offer a pan Canadian portrait grasping the architecture students' state of thought on social housing and the city. Curiously, in the first competition, like in the second, the work on the urban form was generally set on the detailed study of living spaces, as if the study of domestic spaces only offered a limited field of research and creation. Particularly in the second competition, where it seemed the importance of the urban problematic and the desire to transgress the established order of the alignment, the gauges and the recesses monopolized all the competitors' energy.

Many of the propositions of the second competition witnesses a total disrespect of the existing grid and resort to modular architectures that could easily have been inspired from projects by Archigram or Team Ten, recapturing, 40 years later, some of the ideas realized in the construction of Habitat 67. We could also evoke the urban pedestal of the St-Martin blocks, Benny Farm's irregular façade and the Habitations Jeanne-Mance's wide spaces, devices revisited with great enthusiasm by a new generation ecologically-enamoured (or persuaded of the importance to cover all projects with a green veil), that have urban life, social mixity, and that contain a certain amount of chaos, a vision apparently more serene that of its elders. In the end, the jury was easily seduced by a sensitive project, imaginative and very modest that treated housing at the scale of Montreal's neighbourhoods and that, by its graphic treatment, forgets digital ubiquity.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

157 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 442 projets 42 706 documents

Recréer le logement social

par Anne Cormier, publié le 2007-10-01
Le CCC présente ce mois-ci les projets et les lauréats du concours du LEAP intitulé « Repenser et redéfinir le logement social au centre-ville » centré sur des sites montréalais. Ce concours s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche-création intitulé « Le logement social comme espace de création, d’innovation et de critique dans les centres-villes canadiens » subventionné par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada dans le cadre de son programme d’appui à la recherche-création, un programme qui contribue au renouveau et à la dynamisation de la recherche et dont nous déplorons la suspension. Cette suspension est d’autant plus malheureuse qu’il s’agisse du seul programme national favorisant la collaboration entre chercheurs et créateurs. Rappelons que la recherche-création est une recherche directement liée à un travail de création artistique ou littéraire, qui en favorise l’avancement ou l’évolution et qui contribue à la formation des étudiants.

Tout comme le premier concours du LEAP lancé en 2006, ce second volet vise à explorer les idées nouvelles que peut engendrer l’implantation de logement social en centre- ville et à initier une réflexion architecturale, urbaine et politique sur la définition des centres-villes en proposant, cette fois-ci, une ville et un lieu, soit Montréal et le secteur limité par les rues Guy, Sainte-Catherine, Peel et par le boulevard René-Lévesque. Ce secteur se trouve à la jonction de zones significatives dans la définition du centre-ville, soit la Cité de la technologie, l’Université Concordia, la grande artère commerciale de la rue Sainte-Catherine, le centre des affaires et à proximité de deux importants musées, le Musée des Beaux-arts et le Centre Canadien d’Architecture. Considérablement déstructuré au cours des quarante-cinq dernières années, il est aujourd’hui principalement constitué de lots non construits occupés par des stationnements. À l’heure où le centre-ville de Montréal connait le retour des mieux nantis et se transforme peu à peu sous l’effet de la construction de condominiums de luxe, le secteur mis à l’étude dans le cadre du concours semble constituer un terrain d’essai idéal.

Les résultats de cette recherche-création offrent un portrait pan canadien saisissant de l’état de la réflexion des étudiants en architecture sur le logement social et la ville. Curieusement, dans le premier concours, comme dans le second, le travail sur la forme urbaine a généralement primé sur l’étude fine des espaces de vie, comme si l’espace domestique n’offrait qu’un champ de recherche et de création limité et, particulièrement dans le second concours, comme si l’importance de la problématique urbaine et le désir de transgresser l’ordre établi des alignements, des gabarits et des reculs avaient monopolisé toutes les énergies des concurrents.

Plusieurs des propositions au second concours du LEAP témoignent d’une transgression de la trame existante et ont recours à une architecture modulaire qui pourrait être inspirée des grands projets d’Archigram ou de Team Ten en reprenant certaines des idées qui se sont concrétisées dans la réalisation d’Habitat 67. On pourrait également évoquer ici le socle urbain des Îlots Saint-Martin, les redents de Benny Farm et les grands espaces des Habitations Jeanne- Mance, des dispositifs revisités avec grand enthousiasme par une nouvelle génération férue d’écologie et qui a de la vie urbaine, de la mixité sociale et d’un certain chaos, une vision apparemment plus sereine que celle de ses ainés. En fin de parcours, le jury aura surtout été séduit par un projet sensible, imaginatif, et somme toute, modeste, qui traite du logement à l’échelle du quartier montréalais et qui, par son traitement graphique, fait oublier l’ubiquité du numérique.


AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires