159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

Sustainable libraries

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2007-12-01
In his famous 1995 manifesto (City of Bits), William J. Mitchell announced the end of paper and brick libraries in favour of digital ones available online. The new addition to the Félix-Leclerc library in Quebec, modest in size yet dynamic but very much in demand, demonstrates yet again the elemental fault with this cyber-evangelist prediction.

Yet again, as one of the major characteristics of the latest in contemporary architecture is certainly the architect's desire to re-formulate programs and spaces we believed we had already explored and definitively formulated. Yet a library, cannot stand to be reduced to a container of books, nor a reading salon and even less to a check-out desk. A public library is first and foremost a public place, as demonstrated by the rampant success of the Grande Bibliothèque du Québec.

And if architecture has indeed contributed to the present infatuation with the library, some of this success has got to be attributed to the librarians who have renewed their practices as well as the politicians who have not ceased to consider new means of intellectual satisfaction for the citizen. But no battle is ever entirely won. The long gone royal and religious literary censorship has nowadays been replaced by a new kind of governance and expurgation driven by the economic profitability assigned to the places of knowledge. Soon enough, someone will come along and ask for a comparison between the cost of a traditional library and the cost of a digital database of literary titles in order to justify W.J.Mitchell's prediction.

Before presenting the documented competition for this updating of the CCC, we should already mention that the final selection of teams for the Montarville-Boucher-de la Bruère Library New Addition competition is known since November 28th. These are: Architectes Faucher Aubertin Brodeur Gauthier, Brière, Gilbert + Associés, architectes and Manon Asselin architecte (Atelier TAG).

For this December updating of the CCC, we present the competition for the Félix-Leclerc library addition which was organized in 2006 under the supervision of Jacques White, although its need was already felt in 1998, just ten years after its original construction. The competition program pertained to an addition, but it also addressed the question of sustainable architectural practices. Anne Carrier's project which demonstrated a kind of elegant yet conventional modernity won over the jury. Its form elongated and re-equilibrated the existing edifice without obliterating it. The project by Atelier BiG City played the “green” card, insisting on a natural park environment which would reunite the existing library and its addition to its surroundings in order to form a new image for the whole. The entry by Boutros and Pratte was adamant about the insularity of the building and proposed treating it as a point of assembly and convergence. The forth project, presented by Croft Pelletier architects, aimed to evoke a kind of new morphology which enveloped the existing library in a distinctly experimental wood cladding materiality. With the competition behind us, we can observe that the differences between these four projects are quite notable even if each and every single one of them emphasizes the importance of the creation of places for gathering and reception of the public.

The publication of this competition will be our final undertaking before the end of 2007. It will coincide with an event which we judge highly important in the realm of contemporary Canadian architecture. In fact, the beautiful analytical exhibition organized for L.E.A.P. by Denis Bilodeau in collaboration with the Design Centre of UQAM will be presented at the Pavillon de l'Arsenal in Paris during the whole month of December ( http://www.pavillon-arsenal.com/home.php ). Selected cultural projects born out of competitions organized between 1991 and 2005 will be subject to the critical consideration of the Parisian public and the reflection on the coherence of this new cultural territoriality raised by the assembly of such a considerable number of projects will undoubtedly produce a substantial interest in a country where more than 1000 competitions are organised every year.

For 2008, we are preparing two surprises for those interested in the activity of L.E.A.P. In January, we should finally be able to make accessible the website of the documentary database which we have conceived for the Europan France organisation. And in March, with the collaboration of a number of Canadian schools, we will lauch an online forum which will aim to question and evaluate the place of environmental conception in architectural education: another one of those sustainable libraries!
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

150 concours documentés 411 concours répertoriés
4 274 projets 42 109 documents

Durables bibliothèques

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2007-12-01
Dans son célèbre manifeste de 1995, City of Bits, William J. Mitchell avait annoncé la fin des bibliothèques de papier et de brique, au profit des bibliothèques numériques en ligne. L’agrandissement de la bibliothèque Félix-Leclerc à Québec, modeste par la taille, mais dynamique et très achalandée, donne tort, une fois de plus, à cette prédiction cyber évangéliste.
Une fois de plus, car une des caractéristiques majeures de l’architecture contemporaine de ces dernières années est certainement le soin apporté par les architectes à la réécriture de ces programmes et de ces espaces que l’on croyait définitivement formulés. Mais une bibliothèque ne se réduit ni à une boîte de livre, ni à un salon de lecture, encore moins à un comptoir d’emprunt. Une bibliothèque publique est d’abord et avant tout un lieu « public », comme en témoigne le succès envahissant de la Grande Bibliothèque du Québec.

Si l’architecture contribue à cet engouement, la réussite doit aussi être partagée avec les bibliothécaires qui ont su renouveler leurs pratiques et avec les décideurs politiques qui tablent encore sur l’épanouissement intellectuel des citoyens. Mais rien n’est jamais définitivement gagné.

S’il est loin le temps où les rois d’Europe s’inquiétaient du succès de l’Encyclopédie de Diderot et d’Alembert et où le Vatican décidait de mettre à l’index la diffusion du savoir et la liberté des idées, l’emphase mise aujourd’hui sur la rentabilité économique des lieux du savoir et de la culture cache d’autres formes de gouvernance et de censure. Il va certainement se trouver quelqu’un bientôt pour demander que l’on compare le coût d’une bibliothèque et celui d’une base de données d’ouvrages numérisés, pour s’appliquer à donner raison à la prédiction de W. J. Mitchell.

Dans un même ordre d’idées, notons tout d’abord que les finalistes du concours pour l’agrandissement de la bibliothèque Montarville-Boucher-de la Bruère sont connus depuis le 28 novembre 2007. Il s’agit de : les Architectes Faucher Aubertin Brodeur Gauthier, Brière, Gilbert + Associés, architectes (FABG) et de Manon Asselin architecte (TAG).

Le concours pour l’agrandissement de la Bibliothèque Félix-Leclerc que nous présentons dans cette mise à jour du CCC fut quant à lui organisé en 2006, sous la supervision de Jacques White, mais le besoin s’en faisait déjà sentir en 1998, soit dix ans après sa construction qui date du milieu des années 1980. Le programme concernait certes un agrandissement, mais s’adressait aussi à la question du développement durable. Le projet de l’architecte Anne Carrier, fort d’une modernité aussi élégante que conventionnelle, a su convaincre le jury. Sa forme prolonge et rééquilibre l’organisation de l’édifice existant sans le gommer. Le projet de l’équipe Big City jouait la carte de la « mise au vert », insistait sur l’environnement naturel et du parc, tout en réunifiant la bibliothèque et son extension dans une nouvelle image. Le projet de Boutros et Pratte forçait, pour ainsi dire, l’insularité de l’édifice et proposait d’en faire un point de ralliement et de convergence. Le quatrième projet, celui de Croft Pelletier architectes, tentait une nouvelle morphologie, à la fois enveloppante pour la bibliothèque d’origine et d’une matérialité distincte par son usage du bardage de bois. Après coup, on constate que les différences entre ces quatre projets sont assez nettes, mais que tous insistent sur l’importance de l’accueil du public, de la rencontre des individualités en un même lieu.

La publication de ce concours sera notre dernière proposition pour 2007. Elle coïncide avec un évènement que nous jugeons très important pour le rayonnement de l’architecture canadienne contemporaine. En effet, la belle exposition analytique organisée pour le LEAP par Denis Bilodeau avec la collaboration du Centre de Design de L’UQAM sera présentée au Pavillon de l’Arsenal à Paris pendant tout le mois de décembre. Les projets culturels issus des concours lancés entre 1991 et 2005 seront alors soumis à l’esprit critique du public parisien et la réflexion sur la cohérence de cette nouvelle territorialité culturelle suscitée par ce grand rassemblement de projets devrait assurément faire l’objet d’un intérêt marqué dans un pays où il s’organise annuellement plus de 1000 concours.

Pour 2008, nous réservons deux surprises aux internautes intéressés par les travaux et activités du LEAP. En janvier, nous devrions enfin pouvoir mettre en ligne le site de la base de données documentaire que nous avons conçue pour l’organisation Europan France (une des plus importantes institutions de concours), tandis qu’en mars, dans le cadre d’une collaboration entre plusieurs écoles canadiennes, nous lancerons un grand forum sur la place des conceptions environnementales dans l’éducation architecturale : une autre de ces durables bibliothèques !
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires