159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

11 built gardens, 92 potential gardens

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2008-07-01
In this July 2008 update, the L.E.A.P. celebrates, in its own way, the 400th anniversary of the foundation of the city of Quebec by presenting ALL the propositions conceived for the Ephemeral Gardens competition. 5 were awarded by the jury presided by Pierre Thibault, 6 were directly invited, but non-the less 92 are still to be discovered.

The winning projects who are actually presented to the public in Quebec City are also presented on the official website of the 400th (http://monquebec2008.sympatico.msn.ca/MonQuebec2008/?module=static&id=19), but as usual when a competition receives a large number of project entries, organizers do not give themselves the means or judge necessary to render justice to all the other projects and idea originators from several European countries and America. The Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle picks up where they left off, assuming an academic mission of archiving, analyzing and diffusing all project according to the principle that competitions is first and foremost a place of convergence, debate, comparison, judgment but mostly of excellence and of… … … knowledge.
It is important to present these projects from an equal point of view, in order to appreciate their diversity and in this case their inventiveness. Landscape architecture is certainly one the fields most open to creativeness et experimentation in the first part of the 21st Century and the L.E.A.P. will allow more and more room in the next few months to documenting competitions concerning landscape. As for the 400th, visitors will gain to discover the gardens in Quebec and will have to do so before the end of the summer. But there will be many visitors from abroad who will only get to know these projects through the pages of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue in order to appreciate the longevity of these potential gardens, which will last as long as the C.C.C” shall live: statistics don't lie, over 3000 visitors a month worldwide and, for more dynamic competitions numbers climb easily to 5000 visitors, not withstanding the reference game that enriches great internet search engines.

As for the political situation of competitions in Canada, things are moving slowly, but certain indicators are showing a change of opinion from institutional decision makers. In the case of the Province of Quebec, which was ahead for a while but has slowed lately, it is to be noticed that by the end of 2008 a great international competition for the new Beaux-Arts Museum of Quebec should be launched. Also a few competitions have been announced regarding cultural buildings, particularly public libraries, still a far cry from the 200 annual competitions launched in Switzerland for example. It is to be noticed that the researchers from the prestigious E.T.H. of Zurich, under the direction of Joris van Wezemael, are in contact with those of the L.E.A.P. in order to set up a systematic documentation of these numerous competitions (http://research-design-competitions.org/fr/node/33). We also salute the arrival of a new Japanese player (AKICHIATLAS.com) whose director Nanae Hirota is launching a well-conceived portal - albeit not free of charge - on international competitions.
Regular observers of the C.C.C. will have noticed a 4-month gap separating us from the last February 2008 update. After a few months of reorganization following the renewal of the working grant of the L.E.A.P. allotted for the next 4 years by the Fonds Quebecois de Recherche sur la Société et la Culture, our efforts are now focused towards setting a new research program including a new researcher, Professor Louis Martin of Uqam.

The C.C.C., floret of the L.E.A.P., is more and more called to become a public resource of international caliber more than a research tool like it was at its creation. We intend to solicit private financing in order to insure the evolution and durability of this immense garden of projects… … almost eternal, the C.C.C.that is :)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 488 projets 42 994 documents

11 jardins réalisés, 92 jardins potentiels

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2008-07-01
Dans cette mise à jour de juillet 2008, le LEAP célèbre le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la Ville de Québec en présentant tous les projets conçus dans le cadre du concours des Jardins éphémères. 5 ont été retenus par le jury présidé par Pierre Thibault, 6 ont été invités directement, mais il en reste 92 à découvrir et non des moindres.

Les projets retenus sont actuellement présentés au grand public à Québec sur le site officiel du 400e, mais les organisateurs ne se sont pas donné les moyens, ou n’ont pas jugé nécessaire de rendre justice à tous les autres concepteurs qui ont envoyé idées et projets depuis plusieurs pays d’Europe ou d’Amérique. Le Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle prend le relais en assumant une mission universitaire d’archivage, d’analyse et de diffusion de tous les projets en accord avec le principe voulant que le concours soit un lieu de convergence, de débat, de comparaison, de jugement et donc de connaissance.

Il est important de présenter ces projets sur un pied d’égalité, afin d’en apprécier la diversité et, dans le cas présent, l’inventivité. L’architecture de paysage est certainement un des domaines les plus ouverts à la création et à l’expérimentation en ce début du XXIe siècle et le LEAP accordera de plus en plus de place dans les prochains mois à la documentation de concours touchant les questions paysagères. Dans le cas du 400e, le visiteur gagnera à découvrir les jardins en lieu et place de Québec et il devra, pour cela, le faire avant la fin de l’été. Mais il se trouvera certainement de nombreux visiteurs étrangers qui ne prendront connaissance de l’évènement qu’en parcourant les pages du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens pour apprécier la durabilité de ces jardins potentiels, qui durera tant que durera le CCC : les statistiques ne se démentent pas, plus de 3000 visiteurs par mois en provenance du monde entier et, pour certains concours dynamiques, cela passe facilement à 5000 visiteurs avec le jeu de renvoi qui fait la fortune des grands moteurs de recherche sur Internet.

Pour ce qui est de la situation d’une politique des concours au Canada, les choses avancent lentement, mais quelques indices montrent un changement d’opinion des décideurs institutionnels. Dans le cas du Québec, longtemps en avance, désormais au ralenti, on signale tout de même un grand concours international pour le nouveau Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, qui devrait être lancé d’ici la fin 2008. On signale également quelques concours en préparation pour des édifices culturels, des bibliothèques en particulier, mais on est encore loin des 200 concours annuels organisés en Suisse, par exemple. Notons à cet égard que les chercheurs du prestigieux ETH de Zurich, sous la direction de Joris van Wezemael, collabore avec ceux du LEAP pour mettre en place une documentation systématique des concours. Saluons également l’arrivée d’un nouveau joueur japonais, AKICHIATLAS.com, dont le directeur, Nanae Hirota, lance un portail très bien fait — mais payant — sur les concours internationaux.

Le CCC, fleuron du LEAP, est appelé à devenir une ressource publique de calibre international, débordant l’instrument de recherche qu’il était à l’origine. Concentrant nos efforts sur de nouveaux projets, nous entendons solliciter les financements privés, afin d’assurer l’évolution et la durabilité de cet immense jardin de projets potentiels.



AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires