158 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 441 projects 42 912 documents

The Saint-Hubert Library

by Pierre Boyer-Mercier, published 2009-10-01
The kickoff of the Saint-Hubert library, long expected by the Hubertins and their city officials, was finally realized in September 2007 following the announcement of 4.4 million dollars of financial aid by the Ministry of Culture, Communications and Status of Women. With close to 4000 m2, this equipment will become, at its completion, the main library within the territory of the city of Longueil. Rooted in the Parc de la Cité, a very popular place among citizens, the library will not only benefit from a green space but will also become the meeting point of the park. Consequently, it will establish itself within the existing management plans of the park, to create a new institutional focal point for the district, in addition to the already installed CLSC, two secondary schools and the police station.

To make “an innovative project, which is inventive, positions itself on the various environmental choices such as the selection of materials, the planning of facilities, the effective management of water and air quality” the promoter launched on September 8, 2008, a call for candidates from members of the Ordre des architectes du Québec from which, on the following October 3rd, three teams were selected as finalists: Saucier + Perrotte architects, Manon Asselin architect in association with Jodoin Lamarre Pratte & Associated Architects and acd f * architecture_urbanisme_intérieur.

The selection of the winning team, after jury deliberations and recommendations from a technical committee, ended with the proposal of the consortium formed by Manon Asselin, Architect and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte & Associates Architects. The building, an off-center square and hollow at its center, is modulated with facades that orchestrate with the functional interior plan and subtly chosen points of view, to enrich the user's experience. The irregular plan, gives an impression of openness and diversity of spatial experiences. The shape of the building which "ripples and floats" lightly above the ground like a "flying carpet" (a topic highlighted in introduction by the architects) is supported by a skirt that flows in accordance with the alternating solids and voids, from which access to the building emerges.

The jury appreciated the particular attention given to readers and the places that were dedicated to reading. They also were sensitive to the efforts regarding the implementation of an aggressive monitoring of the environment and of the "subtleties suggested by the treatment of the envelope" especially those of green roofs where parts were cleverly folded to flood the central terrace with light and nourish a pond of storm water.

Saucier + Perrotte for their part have designed a rectangular building, which invokes the sky by an illuminated appendix which flows from its dark mass. An effort of imagination which nevertheless left the jury sceptical regarding its feasibility and its semantic argument. While embedded within the mass of vegetation, the library wrapped in reflective material, dissolves into the green. Paradoxically, the jury concluded that the general tonality did not respond to the “bucolic context of the Parc de la Cité”.
The proposition of acd f*, despite its obvious merits, left the jury in a state of great perplexity. Even if a "strong presence" was desired, the building was seen as an embarrassing presence, rather than an invitation to visit the park, in contrast to the architects' intentions. The plan of the building, despite its functionalist rigour, includes various areas such as the "tree house" which were favourably met by members of the jury. The treatment of the facades and the modulation of the ceilings which were derived from the fragmentation of the volume-concept, were particularly successful, but the disposition of the reading and working rooms along the sides and oriented directly south seemed problematic. On the ground floor, the duplication of the lobby did not ultimately convince the jury of its usability.

To be continued... This past September 18th, acd f * architecture was selected among 28 candidates with three other finalists, for the St. Lawrence library competition. Similarly, Manon Asselin in association with Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architects will participate in the final phase of the Marc Favreau library competition in the Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie district against three other teams.

(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)


IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

154 concours documentés 415 concours répertoriés
4 370 projets 42 503 documents

La bibliothèque de Saint-Hubert

par Pierre Boyer-Mercier, publié le 2009-10-01
Le coup d’envoi de la bibliothèque de Saint-Hubert, longuement espéré par les Hubertins et leurs édiles, s’est enfin actualisé en septembre 2007 suite à l’annonce d’une importante aide financière de 4,4 millions de dollars de la part du ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine. Avec près de 4000 m2, cet équipement s’avérera, à sa complétion, la principale bibliothèque du territoire de la ville de Longueuil. Ancrée dans le Parc de la Cité, un lieu hautement fréquenté par les citoyens, non seulement la bibliothèque pourra-t-elle bénéficier d’une enceinte végétale, mais elle en deviendra le point d’accueil. Ainsi s’inscrira-t-elle dans le plan directeur du parc déjà occupé par le CLSC, deux écoles secondaires et le poste de police pour créer un nouveau pôle institutionnel d’arrondissement.

Pour en faire «un projet innovateur, inventif qui se positionne quant aux différents choix environnementaux tels que la sélection des matériaux, des aménagements, la gestion efficace de l’eau et la qualité de l’air», le maître d’œuvre a lancé, le 8 septembre 2008, un appel de candidatures chez les membres de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec parmi lesquels, le 3 octobre suivant, étaient sélectionnés trois équipes finalistes : Saucier + Perrotte architectes, Manon Asselin architecte en consortium avec Jodoin Lamarre Pratte & associés architectes et acdf* architecture_urbanisme_intérieur.

Le choix du projet lauréat, après la délibération du jury et les recommandations d’un comité technique, s’est arrêté sur la proposition du consortium formé par Manon Asselin, architecte et Jodoin Lamarre Pratte & associés architectes. Le bâtiment, un carré désaxé et évidé en son centre, est modulé de façades qui s’orchestrent avec une planification intérieure fonctionnelle et des points de vue subtilement choisis pour enrichir l’expérience des utilisateurs. Le plan, irrégulier, dégage une impression d’ouverture et de diversité d’expériences spatiales. La forme du bâtiment qui «ondule et flotte» avec légèreté au-dessus du sol tel un « tapis volant » (un thème évoqué en liminaire par les architectes) s’appuie sur une jupe qui se rythme selon une alternance de pleins et de vides parmi lesquels se présente l’accès au bâtiment.

Le jury a témoigné de son appréciation pour l’attention particulière apportée au bien-être des lecteurs et aux lieux qui leur sont dévolus. Il s’est aussi montré sensible aux efforts de mise en œuvre d’un contrôle audacieux de l’environnement et aux «subtilités suggérées par le traitement de l’enveloppe » particulièrement celui des toitures végétalisées, dont les pans sont savamment pliés pour inonder la terrasse centrale de lumière et pour nourrir un bassin de rétention d’eaux pluviales.

Saucier + Perrotte pour leur part ont conçu un bâtiment de forme rectangulaire qui invoque le ciel par un appendice lumineux qui jaillit de sa masse sombre. Un effort d’imagination qui aura néanmoins laissé le jury sceptique quant à sa faisabilité et conséquemment vis-à-vis de son argument sémantique. Bien campée dans sa masse végétale, la bibliothèque enveloppée de matériaux réfléchissants se fond dans la verdure. Paradoxalement, le jury a conclu que sa tonalité générale ne répondait pas au «contexte bucolique du Parc de la Cité ».

La proposition d’acdf*, malgré ses mérites évidents, aura laissé le jury dans un état de plus grande perplexité. Se voulant une « présence forte », le bâtiment a été perçu comme une présence gênante, à l’inverse des intentions des architectes, plutôt qu’une invitation à fréquenter le parc. Le plan du bâtiment, malgré sa rigueur fonctionnaliste, recèle des espaces variés, dont celui de la « cabane dans les arbres » favorablement reçu par les membres du jury. Le traitement des façades et la modulation des plafonds qui sont issus de la fragmentation du volume-concept sont particulièrement réussis, mais la disposition des salles de lecture et de travail en bordure et orientée plein sud semble problématique. Au rez-de-sol le dédoublement du hall d’entrée n’aura finalement pas convaincu le jury de sa convivialité.

À suivre... acdf* architecture a été retenu parmi 28 candidatures avec trois autres finalistes, le 18 septembre 2009, pour le concours de la bibliothèque de Saint-Laurent. De même, Manon Asselin en consortium avec Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes participera à l’ultime étape du concours de la bibliothèque Marc-Favreau de l’arrondissement Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie contre trois autres équipes.


AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires