159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

270 Gardens of Delight for Métis 2010

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2010-02-01
For the organizers of the open international competition for the design of the Jardins de Métis 2010 (Reford Gardens), the 276 teams from 34 countries responded with talent and generosity: one thing is certain, they did not ask anyone for the keys to paradise, they designed the outlines, by imagining the forms, by sensing the fragrances.

For this unavoidable and, let us immediately add, abundant meeting of creativity, the question was challenging: “what does paradise look like today”? In fact, it called for an extraordinary brainstorming on current concepts and practices of landscape architecture. The result, unveiled here in its entirety, is offered as a dizzying kaleidoscopic view against which the board's work was certainly daunting. At least 5 projects emerge with honor. The "Veil Garden" by the architect and landscape team DIGSAU from Philadelphia relied on the very old myth of 4 elements (wind, fire, water, earth) organizing spaces of a perforated metal enclosure. The project by the Australian Housing Group plays on the desire for transgression, on the need to taste that which is on the other side of the fence: a ladder in equilibrium allows crossing the boundary between two backdrops hung with greenery. The third project selected, by a Canadian landscape architect exiled in the Netherlands, reminds us, with humor and critical thinking, the importance of the little worlds on the forest floor that our distracted feet tread upon: these micro natures (Tiny Taxonomy) become much smaller gardens of wonder. The jury also gave mention to two other projects (only two of 276?): the project “Dirt Roll” by another Holland team, laid down and rolled out with a great spirit of systems, the principle of rolls of lawn, while the group assembled in and around the collective called Ekip - well known in Montreal and its suburbs – reminds us of “the other side of paradise”, through these projects that are as hollow as mine sites, objects of desire and, lest we forget, devastation.

There's still much to say about the hundreds of ideas and points of view that this extraordinary edition of Métis 2010 delivers - hours of pleasure – to our insatiable curiosity. We will emphasize that the LEAP Laboratory, which assures the update of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue (CCC), has thus far, never documented as many projects for the same competition. It took over three weeks of work by students/assistants recruited for the task, to index thousands of documents, but we believe that the entire project, and therefore the event, is accessible to as many as possible: to those who will have the chance to discover firsthand the three gardens selected, and to those who will not discover them but through the CCC, at times, very far from Canada. Bear in mind that the CCC site is visited monthly by thousands of visitors from around the world and with this February 2010 update we have reached the figure of 2,000 projects for 73 documented competitions!

We suggest two ways to gauge the distressing vertigo which the jury had to face at the moment of selection: click on the + sign on the “List of Competitors” or better, move the cursor from left to right along the horizontal bar of projects. In his triptych entitled the "Garden of Delights" (1504), Jérôme Bosch, the last great painter of the Middle Ages, imagined thousands of wild forms, human and fantastic unfolding between heaven and hell: here are at least 270 more to put into the account of this great collective myth ...

(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)


IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 488 projets 42 994 documents

270 jardins des délices pour Métis 2010

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2010-02-01
Aux organisateurs du concours international ouvert pour la conception des Jardins de Métis 2010 (Reford Gardens), les 276 équipes en provenance de 34 pays ont répondu avec talent et générosité : chose certaine, ils ne demandent pas à d’autres les clés du paradis, ils en conçoivent les contours, en imaginent les formes, en pressentent les parfums.

Pour cet incontournable et, disons-le d’emblée, foisonnant rendez-vous de la créativité, la question ne manquait pas de piquant : « à quoi ressemble le paradis aujourd’hui ? » Elle appelait en fait un grand remue-méninge sur l’actualité des concepts et des pratiques en matière d’architecture de paysage. Le résultat, ici dévoilé dans sa totalité, s’offre comme une vertigineuse vision kaléidoscopique face à laquelle le travail du jury fut certainement titanesque. Au moins 5 projets en ressortent avec les honneurs. Le Veil Garden des architectes et paysagistes de l’équipe DIGSAU de Philadelphie a misé sur le très ancien mythe des 4 éléments (vent, feu, eau, terre) organisant les espaces d’un enclos de métal perforé. Le projet des Australiens du groupe Habitation joue sur le désir de transgression, sur le besoin d’aller y goûter de l’autre côté de la clôture : une échelle en équilibre permettant de franchir la limite entre deux fonds de scène tapissés de verdure. Quant au troisième projet sélectionné, celui d’une architecte paysagiste canadienne exilée aux Pays-Bas, il nous rappelle, avec humour et sens critique, l’importance de ces petits univers que nous foulons de nos pieds distraits, sur le sol des forêts : ces micronatures (Tiny Taxonomy) devenant autant de petits jardins des merveilles. Le jury a tenu également à mentionner deux autres projets (deux seulement sur 276 ?) : le projet Dirt Roll d’une autre équipe hollandaise, décidément, décline et déroule avec beaucoup d’esprit de système le principe des rouleaux de pelouse, tandis que le collectif rassemblé par et autour du collectif Ekip — bien connu à Montréal et dans ses banlieues — nous rappelle à l’ordre sur « l’envers du paradis », sur ces projets en creux que sont les sites miniers, objets de convoitise et, ne l’oublions pas, de dévastation.

Il y aurait encore beaucoup à dire sur les centaines d’idées et de points de vue que cette extraordinaire édition de Métis 2010 livre — pour des heures de plaisir — à notre insatiable curiosité. On nous permettra de souligner que le LEAP, qui assure la mise à jour du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens, n’avait, jusque-là, jamais documenté autant de projets pour un même concours. Il a fallu plus de trois semaines de travail aux étudiants/assistants recrutés pour cette tâche pour indexer ces milliers de documents, mais nous tenions à ce que l’intégralité des projets, et donc de l’évènement, soit accessible au plus grand nombre : à ceux qui auront la chance de découvrir de visu les trois jardins sélectionnés, comme à ceux qui ne les découvriront que sur le site du CCC, parfois de très loin du Canada. Rappelons que le site du CCC est fréquenté mensuellement par plusieurs milliers de visiteurs du monde entier et qu’avec cette mise à jour de février 2010 nous atteignons le chiffre de 2000 projets pour 73 concours documentés!

Dans son triptyque intitulé le « Jardin des délices » (1504), Jérôme Bosch, le dernier grand peintre du Moyen Âge, avait imaginé des milliers de formes folles, humaines et fantastiques se déployant entre l’enfer et le paradis : en voici au moins 270 de plus à mettre au compte de ce grand mythe collectif.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires