158 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 441 projects 42 912 documents

OMA in Quebec: Office for MNBAQ Architecture

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2010-04-01
It is an immense sign of cultural maturity, by choosing to open the design of one of the most prestigious buildings in Quebec to international competitors, by allowing Quebec architects to measure themselves, at home, against the best teams in the world, based on a three phases process that was as balanced as it was rigorous, the Musée National des Beaux-Arts, in addition to the unanimous selection of a response to a difficult problematic, has finally assured that Quebec made it into the major league of international competitions.

A brief historical overview of the past 50 years reveals that the world of architecture has not always been so open, as we may sometimes think, in the “belle province”. In the fall of 2013, or even winter 2014, when the proposed new pavilion will have been built by the winning team comprised of a consortium including OMA, the leading Dutch agency (under the direction of Rem Koolhaas) and the leading Quebec office, Provencher Roy and Associates, architectural historians may say - and this in itself is surprising - that this is the first time in Quebec history that a foreign team will have been authorized to build here following a competition.

Let me be clear. There were many other competitions and many other foreign architects to flourish in Quebec. But by consulting the current data of the CCC, certainly always under construction, I found barely any foreign winners and never any projects built by foreigners. Careful, we are not referring to the painful episode of the Olympic stadium, by the visionary mayor and the French Mandarin, an operation that forced many people to smoke cigarettes in order to repay the propensities for the oblique because the stadium was primarily a princely order. We are also not comparing the MNBAQ competition with the extraordinary competition for Toronto City Hall in 1958, which brought together over 520 participants from around the world – a shocking figure that invalidates any possibility of a fair judgment - because this competition primarily allowed Québec architects to measure themselves with their Canadian counterparts. A few major competitions were organised in the 1980s, especially for museums (National Museum of Civilization in 1980 and the Museum of Contemporary Art in 1983), but whether it involved 5 or 101 competitors, they came exclusively from Quebec. We are neither referring to competitions of ideas, which we accept to open at an international level, primarily because these refer just to ... ideas. A first breach was opened in 1990, with the Place Jacques Cartier competition, which brought together 8 international teams and was won by a promising Quebec architect, Jacques Rousseau.

The cultural competitions of the 1990s, often small scale, were systematically restricted to Quebec practitioners, but they had a very important function. The exhibition organized within the framework of a research by Professor Denis Bilodeau, for the period 1990-2005, showed the considerable impact that all these competitions of museums, libraries, cultural centers, etc., had at the time for the recognition of a territorial imaginary across Quebec. It is difficult to understand why the competition procedure continues to create distrust in the profession, when we measure their educative power over decision makers and those that provide the work, as many of them recognize a posteriori. This cultural policy was intended to stimulate Quebec architecture and it was a success.

Only at the turn of the century, exactly in 2000, Quebec architecture accepted once more to compete on an international scale, with the competition of the Grande Bibliothèque du Québec. The result was relatively conclusive, the collaboration between the Canadian and Quebec winners, was rough at times, may we say, and the jury's verdict gave rise to much speculation, fuelled by the fact that the government has not yet released the jury report: more than 10 years after the verdict. If this competition was not the most transparent, the building continues to demonstrate its relevance to users.

That leaves, as the only previous competition won by foreign architects, the one held for the Cultural and Administrative Complex (MSO) in 2002. Remember from the outset that the cultural program was literally phagocytised by the surface area allocated for offices, that however led to a major two stage competition, the first phase completely open, gathered more than a hundred projects from around the world, and where the second phase positioned 5 teams, with at least two comprised entirely of Quebec practitioners, on an equal footing, and the winner of which was both Dutch and Quebecois (consortium of De Architekten, Aedifica and TPL and associates). A change of government precipitated the cancellation of the order, where this government never authorized the release of the jury report: a perfect recipe to undermine the process (presumably for the benefit of PPP), a perfect recipe to frustrate the professionals (an abortive competition is not good for anyone) and a perfect recipe to give free rein to the journalists always quick to reduce the complexity of an architectural project to some metaphorical caricature, as it is easy to mock the "big box" (since, may we specify that the 100 000 m2 of the brief was difficult to contain in a small box).

It is therefore slightly easier to understand the enthusiasm of the architects (young and less young) conscious of the international recognition of their discipline, concerned with quality and excellence, but equally, the surprise of critics and historians who today realize that with the result announced by the management of the Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Québec, and if all proceeds as planned, the shock waves and influence of the outcome should have exemplary effects. History will tell if this is really the first competition in which the search for the best project took precedence over other considerations. The fact that it is a foreign team that leads the development of a national project is not at all a failure of Quebec architecture, it is all the more commendable in its quest for excellence and therefore it can be seen as an encouraging sign of cultural maturity.

We will take other opportunities to comment on the actual architectural projects presented, because it is important here to highlight one final aspect of this great event. It is essentially the first time that a competition organizer for a public building ensures the dissemination of ALL projects IMMEDIATELY after the announcement of the result, as an obvious concern for transparency. Hoping that the Canadian Competitions Catalogue serves as a platform for dissemination to the widest audience, both here and internationally, the management of the Musée National des Beaux-Arts recognizes the importance of the mission for the diffusion of contemporary architecture that the researchers of the L.E.A.P were given, which confirms the status of this competition as an exemplary event.
(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

OMA à Québec : Office for MNBAQ Architecture

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2010-04-01
Il faut y voir un signe de maturité culturelle! En choisissant d’ouvrir la conception d’un des plus prestigieux édifices du Québec à l’international, en permettant aux architectes québécois de se mesurer, chez eux, aux meilleures équipes mondiales, selon un processus, en trois étapes, aussi équilibré que rigoureux, le Musée national des beaux-arts, outre la sélection unanime d’une réponse à une problématique difficile, inscrit enfin le Québec dans la ligue majeure des concours internationaux.

Un rapide survol historique des 50 dernières années permet de réaliser que le monde de l’architecture n’a pas toujours été aussi ouvert, qu’on le pense parfois, dans la belle province. À l’automne 2013, ou même à l’hiver 2014, quand le projet de nouveau pavillon aura été construit par l’équipe lauréate regroupant en consortium la grande agence hollandaise OMA (sous la direction de Rem Koolhaas) et le grand bureau québécois Provencher Roy et associés, les historiens de l’architecture pourront dire — et c’est en soi surprenant — que ce sera la première fois dans l’histoire du Québec qu’une équipe étrangère aura été autorisée à construire ici au terme d’un concours.
Que l’on me comprenne bien. Il y eut bien d’autres concours et bien d’autres architectes étrangers à sévir au Québec. Mais en consultant les données actuelles du CCC, nous n’avons trouvé que de rares lauréats étrangers et jamais de projets construits. Attention, on ne parle pas des avatars du stade olympique, du maire visionnaire et du mandarin français, car le stade fut avant tout une commande princière. On ne comparera pas non plus le concours du MNBAQ avec l’extraordinaire concours pour l’Hôtel de Ville de Toronto en 1958, qui a rassemblé plus de 520 participants du monde entier — chiffre effrayant qui ébranle toute procédure de jugement équitable — car ce concours a surtout permis aux architectes québécois de se mesurer avec leurs homologues canadiens. Il y eut bien quelques grands concours dans les années 1980, pour des musées en particulier (Musée national de la civilisation en 1980 et Musée d’art contemporain en 1983), mais qu’il s’agisse de 5 ou de 101 concurrents, ils venaient exclusivement du Québec. On ne parlera pas non plus des concours d’idées, dont on accepta qu’ils s’ouvrent à l’international, essentiellement parce qu’il ne s’agissait que... d’idées. Une première brèche fut ouverte en 1990, avec le concours pour la Place Jacques-Cartier, qui regroupa 8 équipes internationales et fut remporté par un architecte québécois prometteur, Jacques Rousseau.

Les concours culturels des années 1990, souvent d’échelle modeste, furent systématiquement restreints aux praticiens du Québec, mais ils eurent une fonction très importante. L’exposition montée dans le cadre de la recherche du professeur Denis Bilodeau sur la période 1990-2005 a démontré l’impact considérable que tous ces concours de musées, de bibliothèques, de centres culturels, etc. ont eu cette fois pour la reconnaissance d’un imaginaire territorial à l’échelle du Québec. On comprend d’ailleurs difficilement pourquoi les concours continuent de susciter la méfiance de la profession, quand on mesure leur pouvoir éducatif sur les décideurs et les donneurs d’ouvrage, comme nombre d’entre eux le reconnaissent a posteriori. Cette politique culturelle visait à stimuler l’architecture québécoise et ce fut une réussite.

Ce n’est qu’au tournant du siècle, en 2000 exactement, que l’architecture québécoise accepte de nouveau de se mesurer à l’international avec le concours de la Grande Bibliothèque du Québec. Le résultat fut relativement concluant, la collaboration entre les lauréats canadiens et québécois fut, dit-on, parfois houleuse, et le verdict du jury a donné lieu à de nombreuses spéculations alimentées par le fait que le gouvernement n’a toujours pas diffusé le rapport du jury : plus de 10 ans après le verdict. Si ce concours ne fut pas des plus transparents, l’édifice ne cesse de démontrer sa pertinence auprès des utilisateurs.

Reste donc, comme seul précédent de concours remporté par des architectes étrangers, celui pour le Complexe culturel et administratif (OSM) en 2002. Rappelons d’emblée que le programme culturel était en fait littéralement phagocyté par les surfaces allouées aux bureaux, qu’il donna lieu pourtant à un grand concours en deux étapes, dont la première phase totalement ouverte rassembla plus d’une centaine de projets du monde entier, dont la deuxième phase mettait sur un pied d’égalité 5 équipes mixtes dont au moins deux entièrement québécoises, et dont le lauréat fut à la fois hollandais et québécois (consortium De Architekten, Aedifica et TPL et associés). Un changement de gouvernement a précipité l’annulation de la commande, lequel gouvernement n’a jamais autorisé la diffusion du rap- port du jury : recette parfaite pour discréditer le processus (sans doute au profit des PPP), recette parfaite pour la frustration des professionnels (un concours avorté n’est bon pour personne) et recette parfaite pour donner le champ libre aux plumes journalistiques toujours promptes à réduire la complexité d’un projet d’architecture à quelques métaphores caricaturales, tant il est aisé de moquer la « grosse boîte » (puisque les 100 000 m2 du programme tenaient difficilement dans une petite boîte, faut-il le préciser).

On comprendra donc un peu mieux l’enthousiasme des architectes (jeunes et moins jeunes) soucieux de la reconnaissance internationale de leur discipline, soucieux de qualité et d’excellence, mais également la surprise des critiques et des historiens qui réalisent aujourd’hui qu’avec le résultat annoncé par la direction du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, et si tout se passe comme prévu, l’onde de choc et le rayonnement devraient avoir des effets exemplaires. L’histoire dira si c’est effectivement le premier concours dans lequel la recherche du meilleur projet prime sur les autres considérations. Le fait que ce soit une équipe étrangère qui mène la conception d’un projet national n’est pas à lire comme un échec de l’architecture québécoise. Confirmant la recherche de l’excellence, on ne pourra y voir que le signe encourageant de sa maturité culturelle. On reportera à d’autres occasions les commentaires proprement architecturaux sur les projets présentés, car il importe ici de souligner un dernier aspect de ce grand évènement. C’est en effet la première fois qu’un organisateur de concours pour un édifice public s’assure de la diffusion de tous les projets immédiatement après l’annonce du résultat dans un souci évident de transparence. En souhaitant que le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens serve de plateforme de diffusion auprès du public le plus large, ici et à l’échelle internationale, la direction du Musée national des beaux-arts ne fait pas que reconnaître la mission de diffusion de l’architecture contemporaine que les chercheurs du LEAP se sont donnée, elle érige ce concours au rang d’évènement exemplaire.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires