159 competitions documented 413 competitions listed
4 557 projects 43 122 documents

Fresh firms, opacity of the judgment

by Konstantina Theodosopoulos, published 2013-02-22
As a metropolis, Montréal offers very little undeveloped land. The planning of a new public park represents a unique opportunity for landscape architecture firms to address issues such as counteracting heat islands, meeting places, or even circulation strategies, as well as redefine the notion of contemporary green space. For future designers and students alike, every competition becomes a learning experience, one that should be educational and transparent.

Three landscape architecture firms were selected for the Place de l'Acadie Landscape Architecture Competition (launched in 2010 by the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough) which raised the question of the planning of urban green spaces: NIPpaysage, the Version Paysage + Vlan paysages consortium and Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre. The competition brief stated the objective of creating a new “fresh public space” which would contribute to reduce heat islands. The challenge was the planning of a site of approximately 3200 square meters located southwest of the intersection of de l'Acadie and Henri-Bourassa boulevards, near several parks, arenas and residential developments. The competition is part of a broader context of the redevelopment of place de l'Acadie and place Henri-Bourassa, which includes the demolition and reconstruction of substandard housing.

The three competing teams, with diverging visions, developed three surprisingly different proposals. NIPpaysage's winning project defined the park by a radial circulation leading to a central public square. Version + Vlan Paysage's proposal presented a linear circulation through the park, whereas Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre presented a closed loop circulation centered around water, a fundamental part of Acadia's history. The circular and fluid circulation emphasizes the presence of water on the site, primarily as a cooling element. On the contrary, Version + Vlan Paysage' linear circulation through the site, called “landscape bar” extends past the limits of the site to affect the urban scale.

As was previously mentioned, NIPpaysage's winning proposal relies on a radial circulation leading to a focal meeting point. Entitled “Mosaics”, it is in fact a “sound-proof island”, or, an area protected from the noise of the adjacent boulevards by the planning of mounds on the periphery of the park. The project offers a variety of experiences to future users, including the planting of a diverse vegetation and the integration of a handful of elements such as a slide inserted into a slope, a winter skating rink, misters timed to a light show in the summer, a rock climbing area, a playground for children, gardened spaces, stone benches and an amphitheater. Many elements reference the history of the borough, and the presentation boards show a particularly interesting design process. The jury report states that the project stands out with regards to the competition rules by “the variety, the quality and the coherence of the proposed areas, the intelligence of the response of the concept in relation to the context, the potential freshness producing performance, the sensitivity towards ambiances as a result of the humanist approach of the concept, the subtle and evocative quality of the commemorative elements, the conviviality of the meeting spaces, the technical feasibility and the livableness of the concept with regard to its adaptability to subsequent phases.”(from the jury report)

However, the succinct official document entitled “jury report” (French version available on the competition's site http://mtlunescodesign.com/fr/projet/Concours-darchitecture-de-paysage-Place-de-lAcadie-LAUREAT) limits itself to revealing the qualities of the winning project, it offers no comment on the strengths and weaknesses of the two other projects. Thus, it is not a report but merely a statement of the outcome, and it is up to the CCC readers to form their own opinion. As a bachelor's student in architecture with a growing interest in design competitions, I am compelled to note that the competition organizers have left us a mystery. Therefore, because future architects and landscape architects are reduced to speculation and cannot learn from a barely transparent judgment, we must ask our own questions:

- Are three answers to a specific question sufficient in order to fully discuss the issue on hand?
- Does the selection of three competitors based on previous work contribute or diminish the relevance of the principle of judgment by competition?
- What were the strengths and weaknesses of the two other projects submitted for the competition?
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

150 concours documentés 411 concours répertoriés
4 274 projets 42 109 documents

Fraîcheur des firmes, opacité du jugement

par Konstantina Theodosopoulos, publié le 2013-02-22
En tant que métropole, Montréal offre très peu d’espaces non aménagés. La création d’un nouveau parc public représente donc une opportunité pour les firmes d’architecture de paysage de se pencher sur des questions telles que la lutte aux îlots de chaleur, les lieux de rencontre ou encore les stratégies de circulations, ainsi que de redéfinir l’aménagement d’un espace vert contemporain. Pour les futurs designers comme pour les étudiants, tout concours peut devenir une leçon. Encore faut-il qu’elle soit pédagogique et transparente.

Trois firmes d’architecture de paysage ont été retenues pour le concours d’architecture de paysage Place de l’Acadie, lancé en 2010, organisé par l’arrondissement Ahuntsic-Cartierville, autour de la problématique de l’aménagement des espaces verts en milieu urbain : NIPpaysage, le consortium Version Paysage + Vlan paysages, et Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre. Le programme du concours formulait pour objectif la création d’une « place de fraîcheur » qui contribuerait à la lutte contre les îlots de chaleur. Le défi consistait en l’aménagement d’un terrain d’environ 3200 m2 situé au sud-ouest du croisement des boulevards de l’Acadie et d’Henri-Bourassa, à proximité de plusieurs parcs, d’arénas et de développements résidentiels. Ce concours s’inscrivait dans le contexte plus large de la rénovation des places de l’Acadie et Henri-Bourassa, y compris la démolition et la reconstruction de logements considérés insalubres.

Les trois équipes concurrentes, aux visions diversifiées, ont développé des propositions d’aménagement étonnamment différentes. Le projet lauréat, de NIPpaysage, définissait le parc par un parcours radial menant à une place publique centrale. Le projet de Version + Vlan paysage proposait quant à lui un parcours linéaire dans le parc, tandis que le Groupe Rousseau Lefebvre présentait un parcours en boucle, centré sur l’eau, élément fondamental dans l’histoire de l’Acadie. Ce parcours circulaire et fluide offrait la mise en valeur de l’eau sur le site, notamment comme élément rafraîchissant, contrairement au projet de Version + Vlan Paysage présentant un parcours linéaire à travers le site, appelé « barre paysagère » et s’étendant au-delà des limites du site pour venir toucher l’échelle urbaine.

Nous l’avons dit, le projet lauréat de NIPpaysage misait plutôt sur une circulation radiale conduisant à un point de rencontre focal. Intitulé « Mosaïques », on remarquera qu’il présente une « île coupe-son », c’est-à-dire un endroit protégé des bruits provenant des deux grands boulevards adjacents par l’aménagement de buttes en périphérie du parc. Le projet offre une variété d’expériences aux futurs usagers du parc avec notamment la plantation d’une végétation variée et l’intégration d’une variété de dispositifs, dont une glissoire insérée dans une pente, une patinoire (en saison hivernale), des brumisateurs animés d’un jeu de lumière (en saison estivale), un rocher d’escalade, une aire de jeux pour les enfants, des espaces jardinés, des bancs de pierre et même un amphithéâtre. Plusieurs éléments font également écho au passé de l’arrondissement et les planches de présentation démontrent un processus de conception qui est particulièrement intéressant. Le rapport du jury précise que le projet s’est démarqué par rapport aux demandes dans le règlement du concours par « la variété, la qualité et la cohérence des lieux proposés, l’intelligence de la réponse du concept en regard du contexte, la performance potentielle en terme de production de fraîcheur, la sensibilité des ambiances de par l’approche humaniste du concept, la subtilité et la qualité évocatrice des éléments commémoratifs, la convivialité des espaces de rencontre, la faisabilité technique et la viabilité du concept notamment quant à son adaptabilité en vue des étapes subséquentes » (tiré du rapport du jury).

Cependant, tandis que le document officiel, mais succinct intitulé « rapport du jury » se limite à révéler les qualités du lauréat, il n’offre aucun commentaire sur les forces et faiblesses des deux autres projets. Il ne s’agit pas d’un rapport, mais simplement d’un communiqué du résultat et force est de constater que les organisateurs nous laissent sur une énigme qui ouvre sur au moins trois questions :

• Trois réponses à une question posée suffisent- elles afin de bien débattre de cette même question ?
• La sélection de trois concurrents sur dossier contribue-t-elle ou au contraire nuit-elle à la pertinence du principe de jugement par concours ?
• Quelles étaient les forces et les faiblesses des deux autres projets soumis au concours ?
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires