157 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 441 projects 42 799 documents

What Future for Built Heritage?

by Nicholas Roquet, published 2013-04-05
A competition open to all, with notoriety at stake more than a construction mandate, the ideas competition has become increasingly rare over the last twenty years. Laval University's architecture school must be congratulated in having marked the 50th anniversary of its founding by holding an international ideas competition in 2010. With the school of architecture itself as an experimental field, the competition offered students and teachers alike a rare occasion to imagine alternative pedagogy, and professionals to return to the basis of practice.

From its founding in 1960, the School of Architecture at Laval University strived to be a modern school, run by young professionals. Paradoxically, the school is housed within one of the oldest buildings in Canada: the Seminary of Quebec. Built from the end of the 17th century to the end of the 19th century, the Seminary is a dominant structure, without equal in the city. Its vast quad breaks with the geometry and scale of the surrounding streets, whereas its rooftops and steeples blend with the views of Old Québec.

As much as the Seminary stands out in the genral landscape, at street level it is austere and introverted. In fact, the school is practically invisible to the untrained eye… located mainly on the upper floors, and facing the courtyard rather than the street. Consequently, the competition brief asked the competitors to rethink the school's relationship to the site, through the use of new equipment, the reorientation of the public circulation, and the creation of a symbol that would promote the school (and, by extension, architectural creation) within the city. The exact nature of the new functions and their implementation are left to the competitor.

Despite these rather modest ambitions, the competition's name – Ajout Manifeste – possesses a certain provocative nature, hoping that a simple addition to a heritage building could spark controversy. Indeed, in the modernism of the beginning of the 20th century, the manifesto calls for rupture, a time to theorize new goals and means for architecture, and consequently, a new foundation for architectural practice. From this standpoint, the competition implicitly invited competitors to rethink an architect's training, with regard to history, materials and technology.

Was the promise kept? Not entirely. Despite nearly a hundred submittals from several countries, the six projects selected and exposed at Laval University in spring 2011 reflect profound indecisiveness between two opposing approaches. The jury and competitors alike were undecided weather the manifesto is a theoretical program or a spectacular object.

Among the six winning projects, three responded to the competition's problematic by highlighting the formal autonomy of the intervention. Based on the prior evolution of the Seminary by the addition of new wings, Aljebouri‘s winning project proposes a new volume, inserted within the existing circulations on the site. The implementation stems from a freehand gesture, which pierces the walls of the Seminary's courtyard in order to reveal the hitherto concealed river landscape. The autonomy of this addition is solidified by the dynamic promenade as well as the cantilevered structure, which projects the visitor into emptiness. Despite the project's many spectacular qualities, the project is only a reiteration of the picturesque vision that reconfigured Québec at the end of the 19th century, where architecture and the city are merely eye candy.

Optical qualities also dominate Decq's project, one of the honourable mentions. The project consists of a shimmering bean placed in the middle of the Seminary's courtyard, with only a visual relationship between the existing buildings and the addition. The new volume is a hermetically sealed programmatic box, which animates and sculpts the courtyard without participating in school life. The most interesting aspect of the project is without a doubt the ambiguity it proposes between autonomy and inflection. The addition is generated by a sphere, which slowly deforms while in contact with the physical site. On the contrary, the Seminary's façades are deformed, even dissolved, by the complex stereometry of the addition's reflective skin.

In a more conservative vein, Kim's winning project focuses on historical fiction by building the “fourth side” of the courtyard, which was never realized. The contemporary feel of the intervention translates into a game of similarity/dissimilarity with the existing buildings. While borrowing narrow plans and pitched roofs from the original construction, the project subverts the historic model by making the new volume float above a sunken courtyard, and by substituting the traditional window with a light and translucent outer shell.

All things considered, the most energetic and provocative projects are those that bet on the theoretic or educational potential of the addition. Thus, Boucher's project, which garnered a honourable mention, seems at first glance to present a contemporary formal paradigm: architecture as an atmospheric bubble, liberated from earthly gravity and the weight of the past. That is not the case however, for the abstract spheres that constitute the intervention are in fact “found objects”, a reference to Buckminster Fuller, Haus-Rucker-Co and Rem Koolhaas. The “new” is in fact the old, as suggest the designers, and all architecture is but a reference to, and recycling, of history.

In contrast to this disenchanted vision, HBGB's winning proposal states loud and clear its utopianism and cavalier approach. With a resounding “schlack!” the authors cut, lift and suspend the Seminary's buildings into the air in order to insert a playful megastructure dedicated to mutant arts. Inspired by collage, comics and photomontages à la Superstudio, the project features an educational aspect without the need for teachers, where students roam freely, blissfully, in a fluid and boundless interior, laptops in hand.

In a more practical approach, Lapalme's winning project, which doesn't contest the basis of the design competition, articulates a vision of the School of Architecture based on the daily use and mastery of technical elements. It is not an emblem, but an iconoclast “shed” which advocates production over exhibition, prototype over final image, and loading dock over public entry. The project is based on an ethical position which favors minimal but necessary actions, as well as the rigor of the plastic effect design process.

Among the disappointments of the design competition, it is necessary to mention the almost total absence of projects dealing with the new digital culture and its possible dialogue with more ancient artifacts from a bygone age of manual and artisanal production. Equally as surprising is the small number of projects that sought to establish a concrete and daily link with the old city at the gates of the school. Nearly fifty years ago, the Austrian architect Hans Hollein was already parodying the tendency for modern architecture to produce unusual monuments in a blank landscape though his work with surrealist photomontages (such as Aircraft Carrier City in Landscape, 1964). A large number of entries in the competition seem to have followed the same process – unfortunately without the same sense of irony.

(Translated by Konstantina Theodosopoulos)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

Quel futur pour le patrimoine bâti?

par Nicholas Roquet, publié le 2013-04-05
Ouvert à tous, et donnant droit à la notoriété plutôt qu’à un mandat de construire, le concours d’idées est devenu depuis vingt ans un événement de plus en plus rare. Il faut donc féliciter l’École d’architecture de l’Université Laval d’avoir marqué le 50e anniversaire de sa création par la tenue en 2010 d’un concours d’idées international. Prenant pour terrain d’expérimentation l’École d’architecture elle-même, ce concours a offert aux étudiants et enseignants une rare occasion d’imaginer une pédagogie alternative, tout en invitant le milieu professionnel à retourner aux sources mêmes de la pratique.

Au moment de sa fondation en 1960, l’École d’architecture de l’Université Laval se voulait une école moderne, animée par de jeunes professionnels. Paradoxalement, elle loge maintenant dans l’un des ensembles construits parmi les plus anciens au Canada : le Séminaire de Québec. Érigé de la fin du XVIIe à la fin du XIXe siècle, le Séminaire est un élément dominant et hors normes dans le paysage de la ville. Son vaste quadrilatère rompt avec la géométrie et l’échelle des rues voisines, tandis que ses toits et clochers marquent fortement les perspectives sur le Vieux-Québec. Mais autant le Séminaire se démarque dans le paysage, autant il est austère et introverti au niveau de la rue. En effet, l’École d‘architecture est presque invisible pour le passant : installée en majeure partie aux étages supérieurs, et sur cour plutôt que sur rue. Le programme du concours a donc demandé aux concurrents de repenser l’École dans sa relation au site : par l’ajout de nouveaux équipements ; par la réorientation des parcours publics ; et enfin par la création d’un « emblème » qui ferait la promotion de l’École (et par extension, de la création architecturale) dans l’espace de la ville. La nature exacte des nouvelles fonctions et leur implantation étaient laissées entièrement libres.

Malgré ces ambitions modestes, le titre du concours — Ajout manifeste — contenait néanmoins une provocation : à savoir qu’un simple ajout à un édifice patrimonial pourrait agir comme instrument de polémique. En effet, dans le modernisme du début du XXe siècle, le manifeste incarne toujours un appel à la rupture : un moment de nouvelle théorisation des buts et moyens de l’architecture, et ainsi, un nouveau fondement pour la pratique. À ce point de vue, le concours invitait implicitement les concurrents à repenser la formation en architecture, dans ses rapports à l’histoire, à la matière et à la technologie.

Promesse tenue ? Pas entièrement. Malgré près d’une centaine d’envois provenant de plusieurs pays, les six projets sélectionnés et exposés à l’Université Laval au printemps 2011 reflètent une indécision profonde (au sein du jury comme des concurrents) entre deux approches opposées : le manifeste comme programme théorique et le manifeste comme objet spectaculaire.

Parmi les six projets primés, trois ont répondu à la problématique du concours en mettant l’accent sur l’autonomie formelle de l’intervention. S’appuyant sur l’évolution passée du Séminaire par ajout d’ailes distinctes, Aljebouri (lauréat) propose un volume nouveau qui s’insère habilement aux circulations existantes sur le site. L’implantation relève d’une gestuelle libre, qui transperce les murs de la cour du Séminaire pour dévoiler le paysage fluvial derrière. L’autonomie de l’ajout est affirmée par son parcours dynamique et sa structure en porte-à-faux, qui projettent le visiteur dans le vide. Pourtant, malgré ses qualités spectaculaires, le projet ne fait que réarticuler sous une forme nouvelle la vision pittoresque qui a reconfiguré Québec à la fin du XIXe siècle : l’architecture et la ville ne se consomment ici qu’avec les yeux.

Les qualités optiques prédominent aussi dans le projet de Decq (mention honorable), sorte de haricot miroitant déposé dans la cour du Séminaire. Il n’y a ici, entre les édifices existants et l’ajout, d’autre relation que visuelle. Le nouveau volume est une boîte programmatique hermétique qui anime et module l’espace de la cour sans participer à la vie interne de l’École. L’aspect le plus intéressant du projet est sans doute l’ambiguïté qu’il propose entre autonomie et inflexion. Généré à partir d’une sphère, l’ajout se déforme progressivement au contact du lieu réel ; à l’inverse, les façades du Séminaire sont déformées — voire dissoutes — par la stéréométrie complexe de sa peau réfléchissante.

Plus sage, le projet de Kim (lauréat) mise sur la fiction historique en érigeant le « quatrième côté » (jamais réalisé) de la cour du Séminaire. La contemporanéité de l’intervention se traduit par un jeu de ressemblance/dissemblance visà- vis des édifices existants. Tout en reprenant leur plan étroit et leurs toits à versants, le projet subvertit le modèle historique en faisant flotter le nouveau volume au-dessus d’une cour creusée, et en substituant à la figure de la fenêtre une enveloppe légère et translucide.

Mais tout compte fait, les projets les plus amusants et provocateurs sont ceux qui ont misé sur la dimension théorique ou le potentiel pédagogique de l’ajout. Ainsi, le projet de Boucher (mention honorable) semble a priori mettre de l’avant un paradigme formel contemporain : l’architecture comme bulle atmosphérique, libérée de la gravité terrestre et du poids du passé. Or, il n’en est rien : les sphères abstraites qui constituent l’intervention sont en réalité des objets trouvés, qui renvoient à Buckminster Fuller, Haus-Rucker-Co et Rem Koolhaas. Le « nouveau » est en fait le vieux, semblent suggérer les concepteurs ; toute architecture n’est que référence et recyclage d’histoire.

À l’inverse de cette vision désenchantée, la proposition de HBGB (lauréat) affirme haut et fort l’utopisme et la désinvolture. Avec un « Schlack ! » retentissant, ses auteurs coupent, soulèvent et suspendent les édifices du Séminaire dans les airs, pour y insérer une mégastructure ludique dédiée aux arts mutants. Inspiré tout à la fois par le collage, la bande dessinée et les photomontages de Superstudio, le projet met en scène une pédagogie sans professeur, où des étudiants béats errent librement dans un intérieur fluide et sans limites, l’ordinateur portable sous le bras.

Plus pragmatique, la proposition de Lapalme (lauréat) n’en conteste pas moins les prémices du concours, en articulant une vision de l’école d’architecture axée sur les usages quotidiens et la maîtrise de la technique. Ici point d’emblème, mais un « shed » iconoclaste qui prône la production sur l’exposition, le prototype sur l’image de synthèse, et le quai de livraison sur l’entrée publique. Le projet repose sur une position éthique qui privilégie des gestes minimaux, mais nécessaires, et la rigueur du processus de conception à l’effet plastique.

Parmi les déceptions de ce concours, il faut néanmoins compter l’absence quasi totale de propositions posant la question de la nouvelle culture numérique et de son rapport possible avec des artefacts plus anciens, issus de modes de production manuels et artisanaux. Tout aussi surprenant est le faible nombre de projets ayant cherché à établir un rapport concret et quotidien avec la ville ancienne aux portes de l’École. Il y a près de cinquante ans, l’architecte autrichien Hans Hollein parodiait déjà par des photomontages surréalistes (tel Aircraft Carrier City in Landscape, 1964) la tendance de l’architecture moderne à se produire sous forme de monument insolite dans un paysage vierge. Un nombre considérable d’envois à ce concours semble avoir participé du même procédé — malheureusement sans la même ironie.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires