150 competitions documented 411 competitions listed
4 274 projects 42 109 documents
HELP

The Canadian Competitions Catalogue is the digital library of projects pertaining to architecture, design, urban planning, and landscape architecture conceived in the framework of a competition in Canada.

The CCC’s website broadcasts part of the information assembled in the document database, designed and updated by researchers from Université de Montréal’s Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture.

The Canadian Competitions Catalogue is continuously being updated, and aims to document competitions organized in and for Canada, since 1945. The quantity and quality of documents is variable from one competition to another (see percent documented heading). Please note that all documents contained in the database are not accessible via the CCC’s public interface (see list of accessible documents heading).

Search

Search by keyword, individual’s name or year in order to yield information pertaining to competitions or projects in the search engine.

Please note that the search engine yields results containing full words and character strings within words. A minimum of 4 characters must however be entered.

The search function yields information in the database pertaining as much to competitions as to individual competition proposals. For example, searching for an individual through his/her name, would pull up all the competitions in which the individual has participated; be it as a designer, member of the jury, or organizer. Furthermore, this search would also yield all the projects that this individual has submitted as a designer in the context of a Canadian competition.

Results can then be displayed in chronological or alphabetical order, or according to the province or level of documentation.

Tables function according to two display methods: by list or by thumbnail (see standardized icons above each table).

Search in the ‘Maps + Statistics’ tab

By default, the map displays all inventoried competitions, however, for competitions whose level of documentation is less than 50%, geolocation data may remain approximate.

Results can be filtered by city, by Canadian province, or by choosing either ‘other location’ or ‘siteless competition’ for ideas competitions, or ‘competition outside Canada’ for competitions organized by Canadian institutions outside Canadian borders (ex. Canadian Embassy in Berlin).

Results can then be displayed in chronological or alphabetical order, or according to the province or level of documentation.

Tables function according to two display methods: by list or by mosaic (see standardized icons above each table.

Percent Documented

Competitions:

The percentage of documentation of competitions has been determined according to the following criteria:

0% The competition has not been documented. The given information is fragmentary

25% The competition is poorly documented. The launch year is, however, reliable information

50% The competition is moderately documented

75% The competition is rather well documented. This percentage concerns the great majority of ‘documented’ competitions

100% The competition is almost entirely documented (including the preliminary design documents of projects)

Projects :

25% is allocated for each of the following items:

- Presentation panels

- Preliminary design documents

- The project summary and jury’s comments

- The Project team

List of general and/or accessible documents

The ‘list of accessible documents’ related to the pages of a ‘project’ is not to be confused with the ‘list of general documents’, available in the database but not always accessible to the general public.

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

157 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 441 projets 42 799 documents
AIDE

Le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens est la bibliothèque numérique des projets d’architecture, de design, d’urbanisme et d’architecture de paysage conçus dans le cadre de concours au Canada.

Le site Internet du CCC diffuse une partie de l’information et des documents rassemblés dans la base de données documentaire conçue et mise à jour par les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours de l’Université de Montréal.

Le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens est en construction permanente, et vise à documenter les concours organisés, au Canada et pour le Canada, depuis 1945. La quantité et la qualité des documents disponibles varient d’un concours à l’autre (voir rubrique : pourcentage de documentation). Veuillez noter que tous les documents contenus dans la base de données ne sont pas accessibles via l’interface publique du CCC (voir rubrique : liste des documents accessibles).

Recherche

Le moteur de recherche vous permet d’entrer un mot-clé, un nom propre ou une année afin de trouver des concours ou des projets de concours.

Veuillez noter que le moteur de recherche considère autant les mots entiers que les chaines de caractères à l’intérieur d’un mot. Vous devez cependant entrer au moins 4 caractères du mot recherché.

La recherche permet de retrouver dans la base de données à la fois des concours et des projets de concours. Par exemple, la recherche d’un individu par son nom permettrait d’une part d’afficher tous les concours dans lesquels celui-ci a été impliqué, comme concepteur, membre du jury ou organisateur, et d’autre part, tous les projets que cet individu aurait soumis en tant que concepteur dans le cadre d’un concours canadien.

Les résultats obtenus par la recherche peuvent ensuite être affichés par ordre chronologique, par ordre alphabétique du nom du concours ou du nom de la province, et par ordre de niveau de documentation.

Les tableaux fonctionnent selon deux modes d’affichage, par liste ou par mosaïque de vignettes (voir icônes standardisées en haut de chaque tableau).

Recherche dans l’onglet « Cartes + Statistiques »

Par défaut, la carte affiche tous les concours répertoriés sachant que pour les concours dont le niveau de documentation est inférieur à 50%, les informations de géolocalisation peuvent être encore approximatives.

Vous pouvez filtrer les résultats par ville, par province canadienne ou encore en choisissant une « autre localisation » soit : « concours sans site » pour les concours d’idées, ou « concours hors Canada » pour les concours organisés par une institution canadienne pour un site étranger (ex. Ambassade du Canada à Berlin).

Les résultats obtenus par la recherche peuvent ensuite être affichés par ordre chronologique, par ordre alphabétique du nom du concours ou du nom de la province, et par ordre de niveau de documentation.

Les tableaux fonctionnent selon deux modes d’affichage, par liste ou par mosaïque de vignettes (voir icônes standardisées en haut de chaque tableau).

Recherche dans l’onglet « Filtres + Catégories »

La page Filtres + Catégories permet d’afficher l’ensemble des concours répertoriés dans la base de données selon les critères sélectionnés.

Les concours répertoriés peuvent être affichés par ordre chronologique, par ordre alphabétique du nom du concours ou du nom de la province, et par ordre de niveau de documentation.

Les tableaux fonctionnent selon deux modes d’affichage, par liste ou par mosaïque de vignettes (voir icônes standardisées en haut de chaque tableau).

Pourcentage de documentation

Concours :

Le pourcentage de documentation des concours a été déterminé grâce au barème suivant:

0% Le concours n’est pas documenté. Les informations données sont fragmentaires.

25% Le concours n’est que très faiblement documenté. L’année de lancement est une donnée fiable.

50% Le concours est moyennement documenté.

75% Le concours est assez bien documenté. Ce pourcentage concerne la grande majorité des concours dits documentés.

100% Le concours est presque entièrement documenté (incluant les documents de conception des projets)

Projet :

Une tranche de 25% est accordée pour chacun des items suivants :

- Les planches de présentation

- Les documents de conception du projet

- Le résumé du projet et les commentaires du jury

- L’équipe de conception

Listes des documents généraux et / ou accessibles

Attention à ne pas confondre la « liste des documents accessibles » relatifs aux pages d’un « projet », avec la « liste des documents généraux » qui sont contenus dans la base de données mais qui ne sont le plus souvent pas accessibles au grand public.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires