159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents
INTRODUCTION

The Canadian Competitions Catalogue (CCC) is the digital and bilingual library for architecture, urban design, and landscape architecture projects designed in the context of competitions in Canada. The CCC is published by the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Prac-tices in Architecture at the Université de Montréal (www.crc.umontreal.ca). Professor Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D, directs the updating of this library.

The Canadian Competitions Catalogue (CCC) was created in 2002 by 3 researchers at the Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (www.leap.umontreal.ca ) (Jean-Pierre Chupin, Denis Bilodeau and Georges Adamczyk), in order to facilitate comparative research on contemporary architecture. In 2006, the CCC became partially accessible to the public, gradually becoming a true collective resource with few equivalents worldwide.

This vast library of projects now comprises information and documentation on over 412 of the 0 currently listed competitions, which corresponds to nearly 4,536 projects and 43,089 documents related to projects imagined and/or realized in Canada since 1945. This collective resource is regularly updated in accordance with the advancement of research projects, but its updates are more and more frequent thanks to the generosity of professional firms and competition organizers across the country.

The CCC remains firm on its principle that every project, even those that are not realized, should be considered as both a source of knowledge and new ideas. Along with this principle the CCC earned much recognition from the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) in 2012. While seeking to construct the present, each project anticipates the future while reflecting on the past. The spotlight projected upon the winner of a competition is perhaps what blinds us from seeing that the non-winning projects are not merely the remains of a selection process, but represent 'potential architectures' with an equally important role in the edification of cultures and societies. Submitted to the challenge and rigour of a collective and qualitative judgement, each competition proposal seeks a better way of redefining our living environments, as a manifesto for the quality of our spaces and locales.

Within the framework of a major grant obtained in 2012 from the Canada Foundation for Innovation and the Quebec Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie, but also thanks to funding from the Fonds Québécois de Recherche Société Culture, from the Office of Research and Development at the University of Montreal, and its Faculté de l’aménagement, the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture has entirely redesigned its relational and documentary database. The new infrastructure, unveiled to the public on February 2014, optimizes and systematizes the study of competitions understood as privileged experimental situations, allowing for a comparative analysis of projects and conception strategies, identifying technical innovation, and contributing to the history of Canada's built environment. The Chair's main vocation being to harness the varied expertise of the researchers at the Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle to which it is closely affiliated, this new infrastructure confirms the Canadian leadership in the digital documentation of competitions regarding the various scales of the built environment.

The public website of the CCC offers the maximum information on competitions and projects, and uses the best of contemporary technology in terms of global positioning, visual indexing, search tools and interactive display. A specialized dynamic web-based interface for simple data consultation is now compatible with many mobile platforms, available to researchers, professionals and the greater public (with access restricted to public data). For competitions organized prior to 1995, where documents were not in digital format, the new system allows for the production of on-site digital documentation in firms or archives, which include hemispherical photographic animations of physical models (3D photography by Ortery Technologies).

Considering that in a digital library of projects, each competition is exemplary for conducting scientific comparisons – and in fact constitutes a research project in its own right – and considering, above all, that each architectural, urban planning, design, or landscaping project is a true object of research and of culture, we expect that the new infrastructure of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue will become a unparalleled scientific research resource within a few years. By allowing a cross-comparative analysis of thousands of projects, the CCC resource will grow comparable, relatively speaking, to the great databases that precipitated the dramatic evolution of knowledge in many other fields.

NB. The database, which supports the Canadian Competitions Catalogue, is constantly being updated. The chair holder of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture as well as the L.E.A.P. affiliated researchers seek the collaboration of practitioners, competition organizers, and the general public in order to continue building the Canadian Com-petitions Catalogue. If you wish to provide information or documentation regarding currently undocumented Canadian competitions, please contact researchers or research assistants affiliated with the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture or the L.E.A.P.

info@ccc.umontreal.ca

Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D.

Professor and director of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture

School of Architecture / Faculty of Environmental Design

Université de Montréal

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 105 documents
INTRODUCTION

Le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens (CCC) est une bibliothèque numérique bilingue rassemblant des informations et des documents sur les projets d’architecture, d’urbanisme, de design et d’architecture de paysage conçus dans le cadre de concours au Canada. Le CCC est une publication de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture (www.crc.umontreal.ca). La mise à jour est dirigée par le professeur Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D. (Université de Montréal).

Imaginé dès 2002, pour les besoins d’une recherche comparative sur l’architecture contemporaine, par des professeurs du Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (www.leap.umontreal.ca ) (Jean-Pierre Chupin, Denis Bilodeau et Georges Adamczyk), le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens (CCC) a été partiellement ouvert au grand public en 2006, entrainant progressivement la constitution d’une véritable ressource collective ayant peu d’équivalents dans le monde.

Cette bibliothèque de projets comprend des informations et documents sur plus de (413 concours, plus de 4 536 projets et plus de 43 105 documents ) d’architecture, d’urbanisme, de design et d’architecture de paysage conçus, imaginés et/ou réalisés, depuis 1945 au Canada. La mise à jour régulière du CCC dépend à la fois des projets de recherche et de la générosité des bureaux professionnels et des organisateurs de concours.

Le CCC repose sur un principe qui lui vaut une reconnaissance de la Fondation Canadienne pour l’Innovation (FCI) : tout projet, même non réalisé, doit être considéré comme un mixte de connaissances éprouvées et de nouvelles idées. Tout en cherchant à construire le présent, chaque projet anticipe le futur en réfléchissant le passé. La lumière médiatique projetée sur les lauréats des concours serait aussi ce qui nous empêche parfois de comprendre que les projets non réalisés ne sont pas les laissés pour compte d’un processus de sélection, mais qu’ils représentent des « architectures potentielles » dont le rôle historique est tout aussi déterminant dans l’édification des cultures et des sociétés. Soumis à l’émulation du concours et aux exigences du jugement qualitatif collectif, chaque projet de concours cherche la meilleure façon de redéfinir nos lieux de vie, tel un manifeste pour la qualité des espaces et des lieux.

Dans le cadre d’une subvention obtenue de la Fondation Canadienne pour l’Innovation et du Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie du Québec en 2012, mais également grâce aux soutiens du Fonds Québécois de Recherche Société Culture, du Bureau Recherche et Développement de l’Université de Montréal et de la Faculté de l’aménagement, la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et le pratiques contemporaines en architecture a procédé à une refonte majeure de la structure logicielle de la base de données documentaires du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens. La nouvelle infrastructure du CCC, ouverte au grand public en février 2014, permet d’optimiser et de systématiser l’étude des concours comme autant de situations expérimentales privilégiées permettant l’analyse comparative des projets et des stratégies de conception, d’identifier les innovations techniques et de contribuer à l’histoire de l'environnement bâti au Canada. La Chaire ayant vocation à mobiliser les expertises des chercheurs du Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle auquel elle est arrimée, la nouvelle infrastructure confirme l’avance canadienne en matière d’analyse et de documentation numérique raisonnée des concours aux différentes échelles de l’environnement bâti.

La partie publique du CCC permet d’offrir le maximum d’information sur les concours et les projets en mobilisant les meilleures technologies contemporaines tant en matière de géolocalisation, d’indexation visuelle, que de requête et d’affichage interactif. Une interface web dynamique de consultation simple des données peut désormais fonctionner sur diverses plateformes mobiles à l’usage des chercheurs, des professionnels de l’environnement bâti et du grand public (avec accès restreint aux seules données publiques). Pour les concours organisés avant 1995, dont les documents n’étaient pas en format numérique, le nouveau système permet la collecte de données effectuées sur site dans les bureaux et les archives, et permet en particulier de créer des animations photographiques et hémisphériques des maquettes de projets soumis aux concours (3D photography par Ortery Technologies).

Si l’on considère que dans une bibliothèque numérique de projets, chaque concours, est propice aux comparaisons scientifiques – et constitue un projet de recherche en soi – et si l’on considère surtout que chaque projet d’architecture, de design, d’urbanisme et de paysage est un véritable objet de recherche et de culture, on comprend que la nouvelle infrastructure du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens, en permettant de croiser les informations sur plusieurs milliers de projets, constituera en quelques années une ressource scientifique de premier plan, comparable, toutes proportions gardées, aux grandes bases de données qui ont précipité l’essor fulgurant des connaissances dans de nombreux domaines.

NB. La base de données qui supporte le site du Catalogue des Concours Canadiens est en construction permanente. Le titulaire de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours ainsi que les chercheurs du L.E.A.P. sollicitent la collaboration des concepteurs, des organisateurs de concours et du public afin d’enrichir le CCC. Pour nous transmettre des informations ou des documents concernant des concours canadiens qui ne sont pas encore documentés, nous vous prions de prendre contact avec le directeur scientifique du CCC à l‘adresse : info@ccc.umontreal.ca

Jean-Pierre Chupin, Ph.D., Directeur scientifique du CCC

Professeur titulaire, Directeur de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture

École d'architecture / Faculté de l'aménagement

Université de Montréal

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires