159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents

''7 doigts de la main'', four teams, one venue for circus and theatre

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2014-03-19
The competition process is sometimes blamed for delays in the construction of a project. However, the "Centre de diffusion culturel Guy-Gagnon" competition, organized in the Montreal borough of Verdun in 2011, went rather smoothly, with 4 of the better known architectural teams participating, a perfectly functioning jury, and respect of established criteria. Thus, the delays in construction, cannot be attributed to the competition process, but rather to a disregard for financial engagements at the municipal level, an accumulation of political circuses.

In this CCC update, we present a competition whose winning proposal should already be built. This project, of great importance to Verdun, despite its rather modest budget, should not go unnoticed in the history of competitions in Quebec, due to its basis for comparisons, amongst its many qualities. Before discussing the momentous occasion in which four of the top firms were reunited in a single competition for the first time, let us underline a few paradoxes. Firstly, this competition proves that controversies are more often revealed, rather than provoked, by the competition process. The situation is indeed a paradoxical one, as all four projects have already traveled the world, having been published in the 2013 annual edition of the international Competitions magazine, directed in Louiseville by our American counterpart Stanley Collyer. Printed in China, and disseminated by some thousands of copies, the proposals for the Édifice Guy-Gagnon are included in the same volume which revealed the finalists for the famous international competition for the National Museum of Fine Arts in Quebec City, along with other influential competitions organized in Taiwan, Scotland, the US, Germany, Great Britain, or even Denmark. Suffice it to say that these four proposals have already extensively traveled, much like the famous circus troupe 'Les 7 doigts de la main', who made frequent use of this community space along the St-Lawrence, before traveling the world. It remains that as late as autumn 2013, user organisations were still attempting to mobilize the municipal players, hoping to gain leverage from the oncoming municipal elections, in order for funds reserved and duly destined to the École de cirque de Verdun (ÉCV) to finally be invested.

The order called for the redevelopment of an old arena, transforming it into a centre for the promotion of performing and circus arts, including a performance hall with seating for approximately 400 individuals. The terms of the competition clearly demonstrated its ambitions: "In order to obtain an architectural work or great quality, translucence, material eloquence, and inventiveness must be displayed. The renewal of this building demands a remodelling of the envelope, in harmony with its site on the banks of the St-Lawrence." What draws our attention, in this short editorial summary, concerns the functioning of the judgement with regards to well-defined criteria, always respected by the jury throughout the process. The two published jury reports clearly summarize the way in which the teams were selected, before summing up the stages in the judgement of proposals. This level of detail is rare enough to warrant notice, for jury reports often water-down or even omit information. This is a shame, as reading a true and detailed report can afford one a glimpse into the dynamics and issues of the jury process, and we come to the realization that the risk of controversy is thus diminished.

Four teams spearheading the advancement of architectural quality competed on this occasion. Éric Gauthier represented FABG, Manon Asselin the TAG/JLP consortium, Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte their eponymous agency, while Dan Hanganu also represented his team. The judgement must not have been easy, as both quality and experience were indeed present in all competitors. FABG's project emerged victorious due to its great spatial flexibility, a necessity for versatile equipment, as well as the promise of the lateral hall, lit up in warm amber and opening up towards the river. All proposals drew first from the site's riverside potential, favouring its importance over that of integration into the urban fabric. For Saucier + Perrotte, it was a question of "profiting from the bucolic character of the site by creating an architectural form that would impose itself upon the landscape in a unique manner." A unification strategy for the programmatic elements allowed this team to work on covering the built entities in unabashed monumentality, a powerful form, and characteristic of the research of this renowned team. An analogous ambition emerges from TAG/JLP's proposal, with, in addition, an oft-perceived exaggerated emphasis on "potential heritage." That is to say, the designers displayed it as the fifth element of a monumental sequence of "modern architectural heritage of the river landscape in Montreal": a sequence beginning with the cross atop Mount Royal, passing through the Biodome, the French Pavilion at Expo 67 (now a casino), and Habitat 67 to finally end in Verdun - no risk of comparison here! With a project that may reveal itself somewhat more tormented, in comparison with the great conceptual sobriety displayed by FABG's "neutral" proposal, Hanganu's team worked, on one hand, the idea of dual frontality (a challenge it seems immediately abandoned by the other teams), all the while articulating these facades in what has become Hanganu's signature: a large, modern central space on two levels, lit from above in a way destined to set the city in relation to the river's edge in an architectural promenade.

What were the judgement criteria that guided the process up until the final jury report? Under the rather vague emblem of a "strong identity", five qualitative levels were gauged: 1- Atmosphere (an ancient term once again fashionable, but overall rather ageless), 2 - the quality of the relation of the building to its site between river and city, in an effort to include transparency, 3 - the functionality and innovation of the entity (a possibly paradoxical double injunction, but those are often necessary to get designers thinking), 4 - volumetric questions and questions of integration and materials, and 5 - (the inevitable) "technical feasibility and potential to respect the budget". We will not paraphrase here that which the jury report took the time to summarize, for each project and with regards to the criteria. Rather, we will invite readers to consult the actual report under the "General" heading in the competition's page, where they will discover excellent proposals which constitute, once gathered, a true example of what history will no doubt come to call the "Quebec school of the 2000's".

All these architects participated in the broadcasting of a culture of innovation, and most of all to the edification of a Circus - with a capital C - which has absolutely nothing derogatory when one takes the measure of Quebec's international level of expertise in this domain.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

156 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 426 projets 42 638 documents

«7 doigts de la main», 4 mousquetaires, une salle de spectacle et du cirque

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2014-03-19
On accuse parfois le processus de mise en concours de retarder l’édification d’un projet. Dans le cas du Centre de diffusion culturel Guy-Gagnon, organisé dans l’arrondissement de Verdun à Montréal en 2011, les choses furent rondement menées : 4 équipes d’architectes parmi les plus en vues étaient au rendez-vous, le jury a parfaitement fonctionné, les critères ont été bien respectés, mais au vu des retards pris pour le déclenchement de la construction, on réalise que le problème ne vient pas du concours, mais du manque de respect des engagements financiers au niveau municipal. Un petit cirque politique en retardant un autre.

En 2014, le projet lauréat n’a toujours pas été construit. Ce projet, important pour l’arrondissement de Verdun, mais au budget somme toute modeste, ne passera pas inaperçu dans l’histoire des concours au Québec, car il permet plusieurs comparaisons et ce n’est pas la moindre de ses vertus. Avant d’évoquer la rencontre au sommet entre 4 équipes de concepteurs qui se retrouvent pour la première fois rassemblées en finalistes dans le même contexte, soulignons quelques paradoxes. Ce concours permet en effet de mettre en évidence que certaines controverses sont plus souvent révélées que provoquées par la mise en concours. La situation est paradoxale puisque les 4 projets ont déjà fait le tour du monde après avoir fait l’objet d’une publication dans le numéro annuel publié en 2013 du magazine International Competitions dirigé par notre complice américain Stanley Collyer depuis Louisville. Imprimé en Chine, diffusé à plusieurs milliers d’exemplaires, les projets du concours pour l’Édifice Guy-Gagnon ont trôné dans le même volume qui a révélé les finalistes du grand concours international pour le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec aux côtés de grands concours organisés à Taiwan, en Écosse, aux É.-U., en Allemagne, en Grande-Bretagne ou encore au Danemark. Autant dire que ces quatre projets ont déjà passablement voyagé, comme la célèbre troupe de cirque « Les 7 doigts de la main » qui a longtemps utilisé ces espaces communautaires en bordure du Saint-Laurent avant de courir le monde. Il reste qu’à l’automne 2013, des associations d’usagers tentaient encore de mobiliser les acteurs municipaux, profitant des élections, pour que soient enfin investis les fonds réservés et dument destinés à l’École de cirque de Verdun (ÉCV).

La commande visait le réaménagement d’un ancien aréna pour accueillir un lieu de diffusion des arts de la scène et du cirque comprenant une salle de spectacle d’environ 400 places. Le mandat posait clairement les ambitions : « Dans le souci d’une oeuvre architecturale de qualité, translucidité, matérialité et inventivité devront être au rendezvous. Cette requalification du bâtiment exige un remodelage de l’enveloppe du bâtiment, en harmonie avec son site sur le bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent ». Mais, dans ce court résumé éditorial, ce qui retiendra d’abord notre attention concerne le fonctionnement du jugement autour de critères bien énoncés et sérieusement pris en compte par le jury au cours du processus. Les deux rapports qui ont été rendus publics résument clairement la façon dont les équipes ont été sélectionnées avant de résumer les étapes du jugement des propositions. La chose est suffisamment rare pour être soulignée. Les rapports sont souvent édulcorés, quand ils ne sont pas purement et simplement occultés. C’est un tort, car en lisant un vrai rapport détaillé, on prend la mesure des dynamiques et des enjeux et on réalise rapidement que les risques de controverses s’en trouvent amoindris.

4 équipes de mousquetaires de la qualité architecturale se sont affrontées à cette occasion. Éric Gauthier représentait FABG, Manon Asselin le consortium TAG/JLP, Gilles Saucier et André Perrotte leur agence éponyme, tout comme Dan Hanganu représenta son équipe. Le jugement n’a pas dû être aisé, car la qualité et l’expérience étaient effectivement au rendez-vous. Le projet de FABG a remporté la mise sur la base d’une grande flexibilité spatiale, appréciable pour un équipement destiné à tout faire, mais on ne pouvait manquer de remarquer aussi la promesse du hall latéral, écrin lumineux d’une chaude couleur ambrée très ouvert sur le fleuve. Toutes les propositions ont d’abord misé sur le potentiel du site, oubliant un peu l’arrimage urbain pour penser le paysage fluvial. Pour Saucier + Perrotte, il s’agissait de « tirer parti du caractère bucolique du lieu en créant une forme architecturale qui s’imposera dans ce paysage de manière unique ». Une stratégie d’unification des éléments du programme a permis de travailler au recouvrement des ensembles dans le sens d’une monumentalité assumée, une forme forte caractéristique des recherches de cette équipe renommée. Une ambition analogue émerge du projet TAG/ JLP avec de surcroît une emphase que d’aucuns trouveront exagérée sur le « patrimoine potentiel », c’est-à-dire sur ce que les concepteurs ont affiché comme le cinquième élément d’une séquence monumentale du « patrimoine architectural moderne du paysage fluvial de Montréal » : une séquence qui partirait de la croix du Mont-Royal pour rejoindre Verdun en passant par le Biodôme, le Pavillon Français de l’Expo 67 (désormais transformé en casino) et Habitat 67 : ne craignons pas les comparaisons ! Avec un projet que l’on trouvera légèrement plus tourmenté, en comparaison de la grande sobriété conceptuelle affichée par la « neutralité » du projet de FABG, la proposition de l’équipe Hanganu travaillait d’une part les deux frontalités (défi auquel les autres équipes ont visiblement renoncé d’emblée), tout en articulant ces façades sur ce qui fait la marque de la maison Hanganu : un grand espace central et moderne en double hauteur éclairé de façon zénithale et destiné à mettre en relation la ville et le bord du fleuve dans une promenade architecturale.

Quels étaient ces critères de jugement qui ont scandé le processus jusque dans le rapport final du jury ? Sous l’emblème, plutôt vague, de la « Force identitaire », on a cherché à jauger de 5 niveaux qualitatifs :

1. L’atmosphère (terme ancien de nouveau en vogue, mais somme toute intemporel) ;
2. La qualité de la relation du bâtiment avec son site en bordure du fleuve et la ville dans un souci de transparence ;
3. la fonctionnalité et l’innovation de l’ensemble (une double injonction possiblement paradoxale, mais il en faut pour faire cogiter les concepteurs) ;
4. Les questions d’intégration, de volumétrie et de matérialité ;
5. L’inévitable « faisabilité technique et potentiel de respect du budget ».

On ne paraphrasera pas ici ce que le rapport de jury a pris le temps de résumer pour chaque projet et en fonction de chacun de ces critères. On se contentera d’inviter le lecteur à la lecture de ce long rapport à la rubrique « généralités » de la fiche du concours et on l’invitera à la découverte de ces excellentes propositions qui constituent un véritable rassemblement de ce que l’histoire appellera sans doute un jour « l’École québécoise des années 2000 ».

Tous ces architectes ont participé à la diffusion de la culture de l’innovation et surtout à l’édification d’un Cirque — avec un grand C — et cela n’a absolument rien de péjoratif quand on prend la mesure de l’expertise québécoise, de niveau mondial, en la matière.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires