159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 536 projects 43 089 documents

Public spaces and private investors

by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2006-08-01
Consciously engaging ourselves in a meaningful debate, we present two competitions organized by private investors eager to raise the stakes when it comes to architecture, all the while, being mindful of their responsibility to create public space: 91 residential high-rises from near and far, for the 2005 Absolute Ideas Architectural Competition in Mississauga and four projects for the Caisses populaires Dejardins of Drumondville from 1991. If the first competition, by the nature of its contemporary scale may impresse future architects with the audacity of its submissions and the quality of its winning design by the young and brilliant Chinese firm, Mad Office, the second competition is without a doubt more modest in budget and urban environment, yet is no less grandiose in architectural ambition. Many Quebecois architects will remember that its instigator, Professor Jean-Louis Robillard of l'Université du Québec à Montréal, known for his devotion to quality architecture and his love of polemics, was clearly looking to engage in a debate with Desjardins brass, by coercing provincial decision-makers to get involved in the early 1990s. To the equation « public spaces and private investors », he enthusiastically adds: « the promotion of young architecture ». In honour of the 25th anniversary of ARQ magazine (architecture québec), of which Robillard co-founded with Pierre Beaupré and Pierre Boyer-Mercier, we thought it appropriate to dust off this sometimes forgotten competition, by showcasing sections of ARQ number 65, just fifteen years after its original publication.

Lastly, due to the invaluable assistance of our partner in crime from l'Université Laval, Professor Jacques White, we are presenting the thirty projects that were submitted in the first phase of the Dolbeau Mistassini Performance Space, along with additional images of the laureate project of Croft Pelletier for the Wendake Huronne-Wandat Nation Museum.

With these 600 new images, the Laboratoire d'étude de l'architecture potentielle, by means of the CCC database, have over 5000 pieces of potential architecture available to the public. So who is ready for a debate on public space?
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

150 concours documentés 411 concours répertoriés
4 274 projets 42 109 documents

Espaces publics et promoteurs privés

par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2006-08-01
Soucieux de contribuer au débat, nous présentons deux concours organisés par des investisseurs privés prêts à assumer des enjeux architecturaux et disposés à prendre en considération leur responsabilité dans la constitution de l’espace public : 91 tours d’habitation venant du monde entier, pour le concours Absolute Design Ideas Competition à Mississauga en 2005 et 4 projets de Caisses populaires Desjardins pour Drummondville en 1991. Si le premier concours, très récent, impressionnera certainement les futurs architectes par l’audace des réponses et la qualité du projet lauréat conçu par la jeune et brillante firme chinoise, MAD office, le deuxième concours fut sans doute plus modeste dans son budget et son environnement urbain, mais il est important de souligner qu’il ne le fut certainement pas dans ses ambitions architecturales. Bien des architectes québécois se souviendront que son initiateur, le professeur Jean-Louis Robillard de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, connu pour son engagement dans l’architecture de qualité, dans le débat, voire dans son amour de la polémique, cherchait clairement, en proposant aux gestionnaires de Desjardins, à susciter une prise de conscience chez les décideurs québécois du début des années 1990. À l’équation « espaces publics et promoteurs privés », il rajoutait avec vigueur : « promotion de la jeune architecture ». À l’occasion du 25e anniversaire de la revue ARQ, Architecture Québec, dont il fut un des fondateurs avec Pierre Beaupré et Pierre Boyer-Mercier, il nous a semblé important de faire un petit clin d’œil à ce concours, sans doute un peu oublié, en publiant des extraits du numéro 65 de la revue ARQ, tout juste quinze années plus tard.

Enfin, nous présentons un aperçu des 30 projets qui furent soumis par les concurrents pour la Salle de spectacle de Dolbeau Mistassini en première phase, ainsi que des images complémentaires du projet lauréat des architectes Croft Pelletier pour le Musée de la Nation Huronne-Wendat à Wendake.

Avec ces 600 nouvelles images, le Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle, par l’entremise du CCC, soumet désormais plus de 5000 documents d’architecture potentielle à l’appréciation du grand public. Au fait, à quand le débat sur l’espace public ?
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires