157 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 441 projects 42 799 documents

Benny Farm : managing complexity

by Jacques Lachapelle , published 2007-05-01
Destined to accommodate veterans, Benny farm has recently avoided demolition in order to become, for one, a sustainable development project internationally recognised thanks to the Holcim Foundation award presented to l'ŒUF.

Such a journey did not happen without rough patches. It comprises several stages with one of them resembling a competition: the definition of the master plan. It is questionable whether or not it is really a competition. Like a conventional ideas competition, four agencies did present master plans. But there was no jury per say. Previously, a Task Force formed of residents of Benny Farm as well as the neighbourhood, elaborated objectives. The architects were present during those meetings. The submitted projects were discussed by the Task Force and presented to the public for comments. The firm Saïa, Barbarese, Topouzanov Architectes was appointed by the CLC, principal developer, but their master plan continuously evolved and part of its completion was allotted to l'OEUF.

In view of all the uncertainties known by the project, a competition became a way of channelling ideas and making them progress. In comparison with the typical competition aiming at an original solution, what becomes of the purpose of a competition in an open planning and participative process? In this situation, the competition reveals itself to be a means of a closer monitoring of the process. There is no place here for authoritarianism to the benefit of attentive listening. Considering the energies needed, such a competition seems only to justify itself in cases of great social complexities where contributors are more than simple consumers but full users and citizens.

Be that as it may, Benny farm can certainly be placed in Montreal's great experiences on social projects, like Milton Park for instance. But on another level, it raises the question of social housing in contemporary architecture as well as the relevance of competition in regards to this issue. With this consideration, the L.E.A.P. gets involved via the competition launched by Anne Cormier approaching the students of the Canadian architecture schools for which the second part will start this summer.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 557 projets 43 122 documents

Benny Farm : gérer la complexité

par Jacques Lachapelle , publié le 2007-05-01
Destiné à loger des vétérans, l’ensemble Benny Farm a récemment évité la démolition pour devenir, entre autres, un projet de développement durable reconnu à l’échelle internationale grâce au prix Holcim remporté par l’OEUF.

Un tel parcours ne s’est pas fait sans heurts. Il comprend nombre d’étapes dont un volet s’apparente au concours : la définition du plan d’ensemble. Mais s’agit-il vraiment d’un concours? Comme un concours d’idées conventionnel, il y a bien eu la réalisation de plans d’ensemble par quatre agences, mais il n’y a pas de jury à proprement parler. Au préalable, un Groupe de travail, formé de résidents du site et du quartier, a élaboré les objectifs. Les architectes ont assisté à ces réunions. Les projets soumis ont été débattus par le Groupe de travail et présentés pour fins de commentaires à la population. Les architectes Saïa, Barbarese, Topouzanov et associés ont été retenus par le maître d’ouvrage, la SIC, mais leur plan d’ensemble a continué d’évoluer et une partie de sa réalisation a été confiée à l’OEUF.

Devant tous les aléas que connaissait le projet, le concours est devenu un moyen de canaliser les idées et de les faire avancer. En comparaison du concours typique qui vise à trouver une solution originale, que devient la finalité d’un concours dans un processus ouvert de planification et de consultation? Le concours révèle ici un moyen de contrôler de manière toujours plus serrée le processus. Ici, pas de place pour l’autoritarisme au profit de l’écoute. Compte tenu des énergies nécessaires, un tel type de concours ne semble se justifier que dans des cas de grande complexité sociale, où les intervenants ne sont plus de simples consommateurs, mais des usagers et citoyens à part entière.

Quoi qu’il en soit, on peut certainement placer Benny Farm dans les belles expériences montréalaises de pro- jets sociaux, comme l’a été par exemple Milton Park. Mais, à un tout autre niveau, il soulève la question du logement social dans l’architecture actuelle et de la pertinence des concours face à cette problématique. À cet égard, le LEAP s’implique par le biais du concours lancé par Anne Cormier auprès des étudiants des écoles d’architecture canadiennes qui connaîtra à l’été 2007 son deuxième volet.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires