156 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 426 projects 42 638 documents

Competition for the 1970 Osaka Expo: When Canadian Identity was not a Circus Affair

by Izabel Amaral, published 2010-06-01
The 2010 universal Shanghai exposition reminds us that such major events always make us dream, in the present as in the past, but a return on the 1970 Osaka Expo, a great Canadian competition, leaves us contemplating on some aberrations of the use of architects' talents in the arts of.... circus. Since the mid-19th century, exhibitions have however offered memorable buildings, whether they are great halls housing a number of exhibitions, from London's Crystal Palace to the Galerie des Machines in Paris, or whether they are national pavilions: the 1929 German Pavilion in Barcelona by Mies van der Rohe, the 1967 American Pavilion in Montreal by Buckminster Fuller, or the 1958 Philips thematic pavilion in Brussels, the famous “poême électronique” by Le Corbusier and Xenakis.

When it comes to national pavilions, architecture has the function not only to host an exhibition but also to represent a country in the international context. A national pavilion is also a kind of temporary embassy, thus architecture plays the role of the country's diplomatic representative abroad. On the occasion of universal exhibitions, architectural competitions can be considered as a privileged milieu for the discussion of a society's values. In this context, the mission of the jury is more difficult because the choice is not confined to matters related to innovation or architectural quality, but involves very broad socio-political issues. In such cases, albeit rare, the delicate subject of the representation of the country's image is predominant. Today, as Canada was represented by a pavilion endorsed by the Cirque du Soleil in Shanghai, relegating the role of architects to the dignified role of technical consultants, it is perhaps time to revisit a historical episode of which there are still lessons to be learned, for the winning project of Arthur Erickson was actually a success at all levels.

The site of Expo '67 in Montreal was still underway when the Canadian government decided to confirm its participation in the exhibition that was to follow, scheduled for 1970 in Osaka and the first of its kind in Asia. With the theme "Progress and Harmony for Mankind", it revealed to the world the image of a developed and forward-thinking Japan, far from the depravity and aftermath of the Second World War. Some of the countries participating in the exhibition organized national architectural competitions in order to select their own national pavilions, and this was particularly the case in the United States, Finland, Brazil and Canada.

The competition for the Canadian pavilion at Osaka in 1970 brought together 208 architects, many of whom were also authors of buildings on the site of the 1967 exhibition in Montreal. The winning architects, Arthur Erickson and Geoffrey Massey, were also the designers of three buildings: the pavilion of Man in His Community, its annex, the pavilion of Man and his Health, and, lest we forget, the architects of the Canadian pavilion! With historical hindsight, we can now say that this multiple election was not the result of coincidence or manipulation but a direct consequence of the designers' particular sensitivity towards the image of a country that sought to assert its modernity. The 1970 Canadian pavilion project in Osaka evoked the grandeur and simplicity of Canadian territory, with its mountains, its vast sky, great forests and abundant water, where the entire form - very assertive and very clear – with four mirror-covered volumes, forming a truncated pyramid with a central courtyard. This project, heavy with symbolism and kaleidoscopic visual effects delighted the jury members and all the visitors to the Expo, it made the cover of almost every Japanese catalogue and magazine of the time; it was the foreign pavilion most visited and received among other prizes, the prize by the Architectural Institute of Japan and the Massey prize.

This month, the Canadian Competitions Catalogue invites you, where the coverage of major expositions is propitious, to discover not only the memorable project of the grand Canadian architect who died last year, but also the projects by Melvin Charney, Roger D 'Astous, the group Affleck, Desbarats, Dimakopoulos, Lebensold, Sise and other names, who have since become famous across Canada.

Coincidence or not, a little more than a decade after the exhibition of Osaka, Arthur Erickson developed the project for the Canadian Embassy in Washington. This reminds us that between the architecture of a universal exhibition event and that of a permanent architecture, questions of diplomatic and cultural representation arise, just as questions of creativity and imagination, but not always questions of transparency of either procedures or judgements. The enthusiasm with which the country experienced the universal expositions of Montreal in 1967 and of Vancouver in 1986 therefore merits a rediscovery of a competition that is already forty years old: given that there are always challenges to raise in architecture.
(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

157 concours documentés 413 concours répertoriés
4 442 projets 42 706 documents

Concours pour l'Expo Osaka 1970 : quand l'identité canadienne n'était pas une affaire de cirque

par Izabel Amaral, publié le 2010-06-01
L’exposition universelle de Shanghai 2010 nous rappelle que ces grands événements font toujours rêver, au présent comme au passé, mais un retour sur l’Expo d’Osaka de 1970, objet d’un grand concours canadien, laisse songeur sur certaines dérives actuelles du recours au talent des architectes dans les arts du... cirque. Depuis la moitié du XIXe siècle, les expositions ont pourtant offert des édifices mémorables, qu’il s’agisse des grands halls abritant plusieurs expositions, du Crystal Palace à Londres à la Galerie des Machines à Paris, ou qu’il s’agisse de pavillons nationaux : le pavillon allemand à Barcelone 1929 de Mies van der Rohe, le pavillon américain à Montréal 1967 de Buckminster Fuller, ou le pavillon thématique Philips à Bruxelles en 1958, ce poème électronique de Le Corbusier et Xenakis.

Lorsqu’il s’agit de pavillons nationaux, l’architecture a pour fonction non seulement d’abriter une exposition, mais également de représenter un pays dans le contexte international. À l’occasion des expositions universelles, les concours d’architecture peuvent être considérés comme un lieu privilégié de discussion sur les valeurs d’une société. Dans un tel contexte, la mission du jury est autant plus difficile que le choix ne relève pas uniquement de questions liées à l’innovation ou à la qualité architecturale, mais qu’elle met en jeu des visées sociopolitiques très larges. Dans de tels cas, certes plus rares, le sujet délicat de la représentation de l’image du pays est prédominant. Aujourd’hui, lorsque le Canada se fait représenter à Shanghai par un pavillon signé Cirque du Soleil, reléguant les architectes au digne rôle de consultants techniques, il est peut-être temps de revenir sur un épisode historique qui n’a pas dû livrer toutes ses leçons : car le projet lauréat d’Arthur Erickson et Geoffrey Massey fut effectivement une réussite à tous les niveaux.

Le chantier de l’Expo 67 à Montréal était encore en cours, lorsque le gouvernement canadien décida de confirmer sa participation à l’exposition qui devait suivre, prévue à Osaka pour 1970 et première du genre en Asie. Avec le thème « progrès et harmonie pour l’humanité », elle devait révéler au monde l’image d’un Japon développé et avant-gardiste, loin des turpitudes et des séquelles de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Quelques-uns des pays participants à cette exposition ont organisé des concours nationaux d’architecture afin de choisir leurs pavillons nationaux et ce fut en particulier le cas des États-Unis, de la Finlande, du Brésil et du Canada.

Le concours pour le pavillon canadien à Osaka 1970 a réuni 208 architectes, plusieurs desquels étaient aussi auteurs de bâtiments sur le site de l’exposition montréalaise de 1967. Les architectes gagnants, Arthur Erickson et Geoffrey Massey, étaient déjà les concepteurs de trois édifices : le pavillon de l’Homme dans la communauté, son annexe, le pavillon de l’Homme et la santé, et, ne l’oublions, les architectes du pavillon canadien ! Avec le recul historique, nous pouvons dire aujourd’hui que cette élection multiple ne fut pas le résultat d’une coïncidence ou d’une manipulation, mais bien une conséquence directe d’une sensibilité particulière des concepteurs à l’image d’un pays soucieux d’affirmer sa modernité. Le projet du pavillon canadien à Osaka 1970 évoquait la grandeur et la simplicité du territoire canadien, avec ses montagnes, son vaste ciel, ses grandes forêts et son eau abondante, le tout sous la forme — très affirmée et très claire — de quatre volumes recouverts de miroirs, formant un tronc de pyramide avec une cour centrale. Ce projet, chargé de symbolisme et d’effets visuels kaléidoscopiques a séduit les membres du jury et tous les visiteurs de l’Expo; il a fait la couverture de presque tous les catalogues et revues japonaises de l’époque ; il a été le pavillon étranger le plus visité, et a reçu entre autres les prix de l’Institut d’architecture du Japon et le prix Massey. Le Catalogue des Concours Canadiens vous invite, en ce mois propice à la médiatisation des grandes expositions, à découvrir non seulement ce mémorable projet du grand architecte canadien décédé l’an dernier, mais également les projets de Melvin Charney, Roger D’Astous et du groupe Affleck, Desbarats, Dimakopoulos, Lebensold, Sise et d’autres noms devenus depuis célèbres d’une côte à l’autre du territoire canadien.

Coïncidence ou non, un peu plus d’une dizaine d’années après l’exposition d’Osaka, Arthur Erickson a élaboré le projet pour l’ambassade canadienne à Washington. Cela nous rappelle qu’entre l’architecture événementielle d’une exposition universelle et celle d’une architecture permanente se jouent des questions de représentation diplomatique et culturelle, aussi de créativité et imagination ; mais pas toujours de transparence des procédures et des jugements. L’enthousiasme avec lequel le pays a vécu les expositions universelles de Montréal 1967 et Vancouver 1986 mérite encore de revisiter un concours datant déjà de quarante ans : l’architecture étant toujours un défi à relever.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires