159 competitions documented 412 competitions listed
4 488 projects 42 994 documents

Toronto Update: Dundas Square (1998) and Fort York Visitor Center (2009)

by Anne Cormier, published 2011-02-11
The elected of the Queen City have not hesitated in recent years to use the competition process to transform large public spaces including the Nathan Phillips Square and the shores of Lake Ontario. Toronto seems today to be the top ranking city of urban design competitions...

Toronto documentation, however has arrived in dribs and drabs (notice to interested parties), as the L.E.A.P. lab at Université de Montréal begins 2011 by presenting two competitions of great interest a few years after they were held. Their archival in the CCC will contribute to a more complete picture of the role of competitions in the development of the city of Toronto as well as to the architectural and urban ideas that we can draw from. The winning project of the first competition introduced this month, Dundas Square, is now built; the Fort York Visitor Center meanwhile is awaiting funding and should be built shortly. Eleven years have passed between these two competitions and we note that the passage of a decade is manifested mainly through the digital mode of representation and the emergence of obvious concerns for sustainable development.

Dundas Square is situated at the heart of the city, at the intersection of Yonge Street, the main thoroughfare of the city, and Dundas Street. This is a new urban space that was destined to become the Times Square of Toronto and to the achievement of which a section of the urban fabric dotted with small shops typical of Yonge Street has been compromised to the chagrin of some.

In the first phase, 48 teams submitted their candidature and outlined their intentions, of these, six competitors were selected to develop a project in the second phase with remuneration. Competitors had to contend with an irregular site perimeter, an underground parking on three and a half floors built by a third party, a connection to the subway and PATH (the Toronto underground system), a ticket office (T.O. TIX, the Toronto equivalent to the New York TKTS) and many popular activities. The program also announced the installation of giant screens in front of the buildings bordering the square.

Curiously, this noisy context inspired at least two of the most sober proposals including that of the winners Brown and Storey Architects, a firm renowned for its sensitive urban interventions who was inspired by their own work on the ravines of Toronto to develop a very nuanced project relying on the history of the site. Kohn Schnier Architects less known for the discretion of their interventions have equally opted for serenity nestled "in the eye of the tornado". In use however, once the winning design was built and adjacent buildings completed, it appears that the tornado has prevailed.

The competition for the Fort York Visitor Centre, launched in anticipation of the bicentennial celebrations of the War of 1812, offered a fascinating architectural design exercise with regards to the history, the territory as well as the notions of limit and scale. As a reminder, the War of 1812 was between Great Britain and the United States where Fort York situated in the Upper Canada had twice been looted during the clashes.

The fort built on the shores of Lake Ontario, at the mouth of Garrison Creek (garrison of the French word ‘garnison'), is now surrounded by huge pillars of the Gardiner Expressway, an endless elevated infrastructure that separates Toronto's downtown and lakefront, by the important footprint of the CN rail and Bathurst Street. With time and urbanization, embankments have erased Garrison Creek and moved the shore of the lake 500 meters south. The territorial context of the fort was upset to the point of becoming completely incomprehensible.

The four firms that participated in the competition following a call for candidacies, proposed highly developed projects, each of them offering an original strategy to reinterpret this very challenging context. In all cases, the projects implemented under the pillars of the Gardiner Expressway or against them, negotiated between the strangely bucolic nature of the "commons" situated near the fort, the reality of the contemporary city and the relationship to the Gardiner highway. And in the end, the sharpness and strength of the peaceful representation of the winning proposal, Patkau Architects / Kearns Mancini Architects, which offer a skillful and idyllic reading of the highway (one of the renderings has been used by the Fort York Foundation on the homepage of their website, www.fortyorkfoundation.ca/FYFnews.html) significantly weighed in the balance of the architectural judgment. For you to see...


NOTE: The author would like to express her thanks to Marie-Paule Macdonald, professor at the University of Waterloo, for her comments and infos.
(translated by Carmela Cucuzzella)
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

159 concours documentés 412 concours répertoriés
4 536 projets 43 089 documents

Mise à jour torontoise : Dundas Square (1998) et Fort York Visitor Center (2009)

par Anne Cormier, publié le 2011-02-11
Les élus de la ville reine n’ont pas hésité au cours des dernières années à recourir au processus du concours pour en transformer d’importants espaces publics dont le Nathan Phillips Square ou les rives du lac Ontario. Toronto semble aujourd’hui être bonne première au palmarès des villes de concours urbains.

La documentation torontoise nous arrivant cependant au compte-goutte (avis aux intéressés), le Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (LEAP) amorce en 2011 en présentant, quelques années après leurs tenues, deux concours d’un grand intérêt. Leur archivage au CCC contribuera à dresser un portrait plus complet du rôle des concours dans le développement de la ville de Toronto et des idées architecturales et urbaines qui en sont issues. Le projet lauréat du premier concours présenté ce mois-ci, Dundas Square, est aujourd’hui construit, le Fort York Visitor Centre, quant à lui en attente de financement, devrait être réalisé sous peu. Onze années se sont écoulées entre les deux concours et on notera que le passage d’une décennie se manifeste principalement dans ces projets au niveau de la maîtrise de la représentation numérique et de l’apparition de préoccupations évidentes pour le développement durable.

Dundas Square est situé au cœur de la ville, à l’intersection de la rue Yonge, l’artère principale de la ville, et de la rue Dundas. Il s’agit d’un nouvel espace urbain qui était destiné à devenir le Time Square de Toronto et à la réalisation duquel une section du tissu urbain ponctué de petits commerces typiques de la rue Yonge a été sacrifiée au grand dam de certains.

En première étape, 48 candidats ont présenté une équipe et exposé leurs intentions, de ceux-ci six concurrents ont été retenus pour élaborer un projet en seconde étape contre rémunération. Les concurrents ont dû composer avec un site au périmètre irrégulier, un stationnement souterrain de trois étages et demi réalisé par un tiers, une connexion au métro et au PATH (le Toronto souterrain), une billetterie (T.O. TIX, le pendant torontois du TKTS new-yorkais), ainsi que plusieurs activités populaires. Le programme annonçait également l’installation d’écrans géants en façade des édifices en bordure du square.

Curieusement, ce contexte tapageur aura inspiré au moins deux propositions des plus sobres, dont celle des lauréats Brown and Storey Architects, une firme reconnue pour ses interventions urbaines sensibles qui s’est inspirée de son travail sur les ravins de Toronto pour développer un projet tout en nuances tablant sur l’histoire du site. Kohn Shnier Architects moins connus pour la discrétion de leurs interventions auront également pris le parti de la sérénité lovée «dans l’œil de la tornade». À l’usage cependant, une fois le projet lauréat réalisé et les édifices adjacents complétés, il semble bien que la tornade l’ait emporté.

Le concours pour le Fort York Visitor Centre, lancé en prévision des célébrations du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812, proposait un exercice de conception architecturale fascinant traitant de l’histoire, du territoire ainsi que des notions de limite et d’échelle. À titre de rappel, la guerre de 1812 a opposé la Grande-Bretagne aux États-Unis et le Fort York situé dans le Haut-Canada aura été pillé à deux reprises au cours des affrontements.

Le fort construit sur les rives du lac Ontario, à l’embouchure de Garrison Creek (garrison du français « garnison »), est aujourd’hui cerné par les gigantesques piliers de l’autoroute Gardiner, cette interminable infrastructure surélevée qui sépare le centre-ville de Toronto de son front de lac, par l’importante emprise ferroviaire du CN et par la rue Bathurst. Avec le temps et l’urbanisation, des remblais ont effacé Garrison Creek et déplacé la rive du lac 500 mètres au sud. Le contexte territorial du fort a été bouleversé au point d’en devenir totalement incompréhensible.

Les quatre firmes qui se sont prêtées à l’exercice du concours à la suite d’un appel de candidatures ont proposé des projets originaux et très développés, autant de stratégies de réinterprétation de ce contexte difficile. Dans tous les cas, les projets implantés sous les piliers de la Gardiner, ou tout contre eux, traitent d’une négociation entre la nature étrangement bucolique des commons situés à proximité du fort, la réalité de la ville contemporaine et le rapport à l’autoroute Gardiner. Et en fin de parcours, la netteté et la force de représentation tranquille de la proposition des lauréats, Patkau Architects/Kearns Mancini Architects, qui offre une lecture habile et idyllique de l’autoroute (un des rendus est d’ailleurs repris par la Fort York Foundation en page d’accueil de son site en 2011 aura à l’évidence pesé significativement dans la balance du jugement architectural. À vous de voir.

AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires