205 competitions documented 451 competitions listed
5 409 projects 50 789 documents
Elementary school in 1964: in search of an equation between standard plans and the wager of industrialization
by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2020-09-16
Organized by the government of Quebec, the "provincial architecture competition for elementary school" was launched in the midst of the "quiet revolution", under the watchful eye of the religious authorities hitherto in charge of education. Traditional schools had to make way for new spatial organizations and a vast educational project began with the publication of the now famous "Parent Report" (1964). What is felt today as the sad memory of the so-called "prefabricated" places of education is probably not what the organizers had foreseen in terms of the renewal of school architecture. The fact remains that the analysis of the jury report shows the disproportionate importance of two criteria that converged on the same principle: identifying new standard plans and verifying that they could accommodate the industrialization of construction.

Nearly sixty years after its publication, the "Parent Report" is today a historical document, sometimes obsolete. However, at the time of its publication, the report directed by Alphonse-Marie Parent, in 5 volumes of nearly 1500 pages, was published by the Royal Commission on Education between 1963 and 1964 and was a milestone in the "quiet revolution" in Quebec. It proposed, no more and no less, the creation of a Ministry of Education, compulsory schooling until the age of 16, the creation of "CEGEPs" and, in general, the democratization of higher education. In other words, we are moving from religious education to education for all, as Claude Corbo, former rector of the Université du Québec à Montréal, wrote in 2002.

It is in this vast educational site in Quebec that the "provincial architecture competition for elementary schools" was organized as early as 1964. Its goal was to propose new concepts for elementary schools and was looking for "model plans". The program - which will appear summary in terms of contemporary "functional and technical programs" (FTP) - included: twelve classrooms, including one kindergarten class, a library, a dining room, a gathering space as well as changing rooms and staff quarters. The clientelism that the academic authorities are sometimes criticized for was already included in the "list of premises": "Immediate environment: Taking into account the different clienteles: schoolchildren, faculty and the general public. Provide for each of these clienteles to have access to the school either on foot or in motor vehicles. »

Chaired by the architect Jean Damphouse, the jury was composed of the architects Raymond Affleck, Jean Paul Carlhian, Alfred Roth, Victor Prus, and the "designer" (sic in the publications) François Lamy. It should be noted that the jury did not include an expert in education or a representative of the school milieu, but was composed of an industrial designer and five architects, including the famous Alfred Roth, considered the Swiss expert for having contributed to the revival of educational architecture in the 1950s. Assistant to Le Corbusier and then collaborator of Marcel Breuer, representative of the "Neues Bauen" movement, the modernist "new objectivity", Alfred Roth settled in Zurich and worked regularly with Alvar Aalto.

In other words, the program of the 1964 "Canadian" competition must have seemed elementary to the Swiss modernist. It was asked to take into account the immediate environment, without specifying which one, and three types of classrooms were distinguished according to whether they accommodated 30, 33 or 35 students. It was suggested, for example, that for classrooms of 35 students, during a teaching period, students would be required to use three different methods of work: work in homogeneous groups, work in sub-groups for research, and individual work for further training.

Equipped with such pedagogical refinement, the jury selected 14 projects, according to particularly deterministic criteria, including those of Melvin Charney, Jean Michaud, from the Rosen, Caruso, Vecsei consortium and the Ouellet, Reeves, Guité, Alain consortium. The description of the fourteen projects and the jury's comments appeared in the April 1965 issue of Architecture-Bâtiment-Construction magazine, and while black and white printed graphic documents are sometimes difficult to read today, the dualism of the jury's comments is clearly displayed in two columns of lapidary statements listing the "pros" and "cons".

For one project, the jury emphasized that "its universal character is suitable for possible prefabrication" because its "plan is clear and well-disciplined", for another, that it "lends itself to expansion" or that "the plan is well organized", that the "project lends itself to expansion possibilities" or that the "good natural lighting of the classrooms by means of skylights is well designed". Melvin Charney's project is credited as an "interesting prefabrication proposal" whose fire stairs are described as "pretentious". The "difference in levels between the cafeteria and the common room" of the beautiful modernist project by St-Gelais, Tremblay and Tremblay is deplored, while the extreme refinement of the project by Rosen, Caruso, Vecsei, a subtle and skillful mix of borrowings from the architectures of Louis Kahn and Aldo Van Eyck, is considered a "project well studied in all its aspects" but whose "abundance of exterior walls and excess circulation surfaces" leads to fears of "high construction costs".

The comparative publication of the competition results in April 1965, in the only specialized Quebec magazine at the time, Architecture - Bâtiment - Construction, had a great impact on the imagination of architects for more than a decade, with sometimes questionable results.

There were only a few competitions in the field of education in Canada in the 1960s and 1970s, mainly for universities, and it was not until the late 1980s and especially the 1990s that the aging building stock required new consultations and reflections. These were strongly encouraged, this time, by the numerous studies, mainly sociological, carried out in particular in the Swiss and French contexts. However, in a characteristic way and contrary to the importance of competitions dedicated to school buildings in all European countries, one can legitimately be surprised that schools are not considered as architectural issues in North America.

Jean-Pierre Chupin
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

205 concours documentés 451 concours répertoriés
5 409 projets 50 789 documents
L’École primaire en 1964 : à la recherche d’une équation entre des plans types et le pari de l’industrialisation
par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2020-09-16
Organisé par le gouvernement du Québec, le « concours provincial d’architecture pour les écoles primaires » fut lancé en pleine « révolution tranquille », sous le regard attentif des autorités religieuses jusqu’alors chargées de l’éducation. Les écoles traditionnelles devaient faire place à de nouvelles organisations spatiales et un vaste chantier pédagogique s’amorçait avec la publication du désormais célèbre « Rapport Parent » (1964). Ce qui est ressenti aujourd’hui comme la triste mémoire des lieux d’éducation dits « préfabriqués » n’est probablement pas ce qu’avaient prévu les organisateurs en matière de renouveau de l’architecture scolaire. Il reste que l’analyse du rapport de jury montre l’importance démesurée de deux critères qui convergeaient sur un même principe : identifier de nouveaux plans types et vérifier qu’ils pourraient accommoder l’industrialisation de la construction.

Près de soixante années après sa parution, le « Rapport Parent » fait aujourd’hui figure de document historique, parfois désuet. Mais, au moment de sa parution, le rapport dirigé par Alphonse-Marie Parent en 5 volumes de près de 1500 pages, sera publié par la Commission royale d’enquête sur l’enseignement entre 1963 et 1964 et s’affirmera comme un jalon de la « révolution tranquille » au Québec. On y propose, ni plus ni moins, que de créer un ministère de l’Éducation, de rendre la scolarisation obligatoire jusqu’à 16 ans, de créer des « cégep » et, de façon générale, de démocratiser l’enseignement supérieur. Autant dire que l’on passe de l’éducation religieuse à l’éducation pour tous comme l’écrira Claude Corbo, ancien recteur de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, en 2002.

C’est dans ce vaste chantier de l’éducation au Québec, que le « concours provincial d’architecture pour écoles primaires » sera organisé dès 1964. Il avait pour but de proposer des nouveaux concepts d’écoles primaires et recherchait des « plans types ». Le programme – qui apparaîtra sommaire au regard des « programmes fonctionnels et techniques » (PFT) contemporains – comprenait : douze classes, dont une de maternelle, une bibliothèque, une salle à manger, un espace de rassemblement ainsi que des vestiaires et des locaux du personnel. Le clientélisme que l’on reproche parfois aux autorités académiques était déjà inscrit à même la « liste des locaux » : « Environnement immédiat : Tenir compte des différentes clientèles : les écoliers, le corps professoral et le public en général. Prévoir que chacune de ces clientèles peut avoir accès à l’école soit à pied, soit dans des véhicules-automobiles. »

Présidé par l’architecte Jean Damphouse, le jury était composé des architectes Raymond Affleck, Jean Paul Carlhian, Alfred Roth, Victor Prus, et du « designer » (sic dans les publications) François Lamy. Soulignons que le jury ne comportait pas d’expert en éducation ou de représentant du milieu scolaire mais était composé d’un designer industriel et de cinq architectes, dont le célèbre Alfred Roth, considéré comme l’expert suisse pour avoir contribué au renouveau de l’architecture éducative dans les années 1950. Assistant de Le Corbusier puis collaborateur de Marcel Breuer, représentant du mouvement « Neues Bauen », la « nouvelle objectivité » moderniste, Alfred Roth s’établit à Zurich et travailla régulièrement avec Alvar Aalto.

Autant dire que le programme du concours « canadien » de 1964 dût lui paraître élémentaire au moderniste suisse. On demandait de tenir compte de l’environnement immédiat, sans préciser lequel, et on distinguait trois types de salles de classe selon qu’elles accueillent 30, 33 et 35 élèves. On suggérait par exemple, pour les salles de 35, qu’au cours d’une période d’enseignement, les élèves seraient appelés à utiliser trois méthodes différentes de travail : soit le travail en groupe homogène, le travail en sous-groupe pour la recherche, le travail individuel pour le perfectionnement.

Équipé d’un tel raffinement pédagogique le jury sélectionna 14 projets, selon des critères particulièrement déterministes, dont ceux de Melvin Charney, de Jean Michaud, du consortium Rosen, Caruso, Vecsei et celui du consortium Ouellet, Reeves, Guité, Alain. La description des quatorze projets et les commentaires du jury paru dans la revue Architecture-Bâtiment-Construction d’avril 1965 et si les documents graphiques imprimés en noir et blanc sont parfois difficile à lire aujourd’hui, le dualisme des commentaires du jury s’affiche clairement en deux colonnes d’énoncés lapidaires listant les « pour » et les « contre ».

Le jury soulignait ainsi, pour tel projet, que « son caractère universel s’adapte à une préfabrication possible » puisque son « plan est clair et bien discipliné », pour tel autre, qu’il « se prête à l’agrandissement » ou que « le plan est bien organisé », que le « projet se prête à des possibilités d’expansion » ou encore, que le « bon éclairage naturel des classes au moyen de lanterneaux est bien conçu ». Le projet de Melvin Charney est crédité comme une « proposition intéressante de préfabrication » dont les escaliers de secours sont qualifiés de « prétentieux ». On déplore la « différence de niveaux entre la cafétéria et la salle commune » du beau projet moderniste de St-Gelais, Tremblay et Tremblay, tandis que l’extrême raffinement du projet de Rosen, Caruso, Vecsei, subtil et savant mélange d’emprunts aux architectures de Louis Kahn et de Aldo Van Eyck, est considéré comme un « projet bien étudié dans tous ses aspects » mais dont « l’abondance des murs extérieurs et l’excès des surfaces de circulation » fait craindre un « coût élevé de la construction ».

La publication comparative des résultats du concours en avril 1965, dans la seule revue québécoise spécialisée d’alors, Architecture – Bâtiment – Construction, eut un grand impact sur l’imagination des architectes pendant plus d’une décennie, avec des résultats parfois contestables.

Il n’y eut que de rares concours dans le domaine de l’éducation au Canada dans les années 1960 et 1970, essentiellement pour des universités, et il fallut attendre la fin des années 1980 et surtout les années 1990 pour que le parc immobilier vieillissant impose de nouvelles consultations et réflexions. Celles-ci seront fortement encouragées, cette fois, par les nombreuses études, essentiellement sociologiques, menées en particulier dans les contextes suisses et français. Mais, de façon caractéristique et contrairement à l’importance des concours dédiés aux édifices scolaires dans tous les pays d’Europe, on peut s’étonner légitimement du fait que les écoles ne soient pas considérées comme des questions architecturales en Amérique du Nord.


Jean-Pierre Chupin
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires