208 competitions documented 454 competitions listed
5 539 projects 52 536 documents
3 successful competitions (-) 2 built (=) 1 potential Pritzker Prize
by Andy Nguyen, Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2021-04-05
In 2014, after a long process, in 3 competitions organized in parallel by the Montreal Botanical Garden museum institution Space for Life, 3 projects were selected in coincidence with the celebrations of the 375th anniversary of Montreal. The implementation of two of them did not begin until 2018 with the temporary closure of the Biodôme, and then with that of the insectarium in 2019. The Biodome reopened to visitors in 2020 and the insectarium is scheduled to be completed in June 2021. The third was to reinvent the rose garden set in the Glass Pavilion of the Botanical Garden. The project has already been forgotten, including by the media. It is now to be regretted, as it was designed by Lacaton and Vassal, valiant winners of the Pritzker Prize in 2021.

These 3 competitions reinforced the biodiversity pole forming the largest museum complex in the natural sciences in Canada. By launching a series of international competitions, the organizers aimed to reinforce Montreal's place in a vast planetary movement in favor of biodiversity. Specifically, the goal was to update or design three museums: the metamorphosis of the Insectarium, the renewal of the Biodôme and the construction of a new glass pavilion at the Botanical Garden. The two-stage competitions called for the creation of living, evolving, permeable and ecological spaces while promoting an immersive experience for visitors. Some thirty teams composed of architects, museologists and immersive space designers from nine different countries submitted their projects to a jury chaired by French architect Édouard François. The criteria were not lacking in ambition:

- Create an immersive experience, an emotion that will reconnect with nature;
- Aim for a balance between the visitor experience and the architecture;
- Create an architecture with identity, that speaks;
- Integrate a biophilic approach;
- Achieve LEED Platinum certification;
- Take advantage of the opportunity to produce an architectural concept;
- Develop an architecture that will still be effective in 25-30 years;

In a word, Space for Life invited the design of projects with a strong identity, capable not only of attracting, but above all of increasing the number of visitors.

In the competition for the Insectarium, the proposal of the multidisciplinary team composed of the German firm Kuehn Malvezzi, the Quebec architectural firms Pelletier de Fontenay and Jodoin Lamarre Pratte, in association with the engineering firms Dupras Ledoux and NCK, was selected by the jury for its mastery of the sensibility and the museum experience, which it placed under the emblem of the metamorphosis. Seeking an innovative response to "the notion of the genetic code of the program and of the Insectarium", the consortium transformed the "biophilic" center into a scenographic circuit and arranged the creation of real experiential spaces where the insect is king. By proposing a route oriented on a break in scale and perspective, the museum offered visitors the chance to admire and have a sensory experience with insects. The winning team distinguished itself from the three other finalists (Lacaton & Vassal, Druot, FABG and SNC-Lavalin; Atelier Ville Architecture Paysage, Marc Mimram, Arup ing. and Martin Roy ing.; in Situ atelier d'architecture, Bouthillette Parizeau ing. and SDK ing.) in its relationship between architecture and nature. With the new identity architecture in glass, the Insectarium building became invisible to the benefit of nature and its interpretation. This vision of the project allowed the creation of a space where insects, nature and humans could live in symbiosis. Through an immersive sequence of landscapes underwater and underground, apnea on the surface, the Insectarium was transformed into a mnemonic body reviving the rapprochement between humans and insects. Marc Carignan, a regular contributor to the Métro newspaper at the time, concluded that "[the] simple but effective design will aim to stimulate our five senses through a metaphorical journey that will immerse us in the skin [...] of insects". With work only having begun in 2019, and the reopening of the Insectarium scheduled for the summer of 2021, it will soon be possible to judge.

The competition for the renewal of the Biodome was won by the team made up of the American/English architectural firm AZPML, and the Quebec firms KANVA and NEUF architects, and the engineering firms Bouthillette Parizeau and NCK. The winning proposal focused on total immersion within four ecosystems. By working with the shape of the large walls under the dome designed by Taillibert, the cultural complex exploited the interstitial spaces to offer a potential for renewal. With its multiple innovative and immersive interventions, the winning project distinguished itself from the 3 other finalist teams (Cloud 9, Coll. Leclerc, N.F.O.E., Pageau Morel ing. and SDK ing; Atelier Ville, MARC ARUP and Martin Roy; BNIM, L'OEUF, Architecture 49 and Dupras Ledoux). As a support for the museological path, the walls provided visitors with a diversity of points of contact with nature and wildlife. Visiting the building at its opening in 2020, journalist T'Cha Dunlevy confirmed in a Montreal Gazette article that "once inside, visitors are greeted by an organic convergence of imposing white walls that bend and tilt playfully - evoking the shapes of American artist Richard Serra's stunning steel sculptures - leading to a luminescent atrium from which one can access any of the Biodôme's five intuitively reimagined worlds”. The renewed Biodôme is no longer just a museum, but an educational center where visitors can wander freely. It took four years after the competition was launched for the rehabilitation work to begin.

Unfortunate in the case of the competition for the Insectarium, for which they had proposed a concept that was undoubtedly judged too sketchy or too minimalist - virtues that have since been amply underlined by the awarding of the Priztker Prize - the team composed of the French architectural firms Lacaton et Vassal and Frederic Druot Architecture, the Quebec firm FABG and the engineering firm SNC Lavalin was the winner of the competition for the Glass Pavilion at the Botanical Gardens. It was a compact glass box highlighting the rose garden in a daring and fragile way, which was undoubtedly risky given the winters in Montreal. Its architecture, characterized by a simple volume and a double envelope, was intended to provide a protected and clement microclimate for the precious rose collection. The "glass rose garden" became not only a poetic and decorative place, but also the object of exchanges and discussions consistent with the Botanical Garden's mission of conservation, education and research. However, even if the three other finalists (In situ atelier d'architecture, Bouthillette Parizeau ing. and SDK ing.; Saucier Perrotte, Pageau Morel ing. and Pasquin St-Jean ing.; Kuehn Malvezzi, Pelletier de Fontenay, Jodoin Lamarre Pratte, Dupras Ledoux ing. and SDK ing.) met the criteria envisioned by Espace pour la vie, the winning project stood out with a clear concept illustrating a refined and minimalist aesthetic for a place where poetry and conviviality should meet.

These 3 competitions were promising. The city was about to inherit the work of three major international architectural firms in Kuehn Malvezzi, AZPML and Lacaton & Vassal. This was without counting on political permutations. As Jeanne Corriveau mentioned in an article in Le Devoir in 2017, "In 2014, Pauline Marois' government had granted $45 million to fund three Space for Life projects, namely the expansion of the Insectarium, the redevelopment of the Biodome and the construction of a glass pavilion at the Botanical Garden. However, this funding was withdrawn by the Couillard government, forcing the City to assume the entire cost”. As a result, it was the Glass Pavilion project that was dropped, leaving the way clear for the rehabilitation of the Biodome and the Insectarium.

Since then, Lacaton & Vassal has been awarded the renowned Pritzker Prize in 2021. This prize, self-proclaimed "Nobel of architecture", has amply underlined the qualities of sobriety and economy of this French agency which advocates a sustainable architecture where responsibility does not only concern human beings, but also the planet. The organizers must certainly regret all the more bitterly the abandonment of the Roseraie, as the architecture of Lacaton and Vassal now symbolizes worldly the institution Espace pour la vie in its essential mission. There is still time to look for financing, but the bill for professional fees this time may be much higher.

Andy Nguyen, Jean-Pierre Chupin


References:
Jeanne Corriveau, « Insectarium: la facture de l’agrandissement grimpe », Le Devoir, November 22nd, 2017. https://www.ledevoir.com/politique/montreal/513621/montreal-la-facture-grimpe-pour-l-agrandissement-de-l-insectarium.

Macarignan, « Futur Insectarium: L’architecture invisible », Journal Métro, January 19th, 2017. https://journalmetro.com/uncategorized/1078260/futur-insectarium-larchitecture-invisible/.

T'Cha Dunlevy, « Revamped Biodôme reopening after two-year, $37-million renovation », Montreal Gazette, August 20th, 2020. https://montrealgazette.com/news/local-news/revamped-biodome-reopens-after-two-year-37-million-renovation.

IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

208 concours documentés 454 concours répertoriés
5 539 projets 52 536 documents
3 Concours réussis (-) 2 construits (=) 1 Pritzker Prize potentiel
par Andy Nguyen, Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2021-04-05
En 2014, au terme d’un long processus, dans 3 concours organisés en parallèle par l’institution muséale du Jardin botanique de Montréal Espace pour la vie, 3 projets ont été sélectionnés en coïncidence avec les célébrations du 375e anniversaire de Montréal. La mise en œuvre de deux d’entre eux n’a débuté qu’en 2018 avec la fermeture temporaire du Biodôme, puis avec celle de l’insectarium en 2019. Le Biodôme a rouvert ses portes aux visiteurs en 2020 et la fin des travaux pour l’insectarium est prévue pour juin 2021. Le troisième devait réinventer la roseraie sertie dans le Pavillon de verre du Jardin botanique. Le projet a déjà été oublié, y compris par les médias. Il faut aujourd’hui le regretter, car il avait été conçu par Lacaton et Vassal, valeureux lauréats du Pritzker Prize en 2021.

Ces 3 concours renforçaient le pôle de biodiversité formant le plus important complexe muséal en sciences de la nature au Canada. En lançant une série de concours de grande envergure à l’échelle internationale, les organisateurs avaient comme objectif de renforcer la place de Montréal dans un vaste mouvement planétaire en faveur de la biodiversité. Concrètement, il s’agissait d’actualiser, ou de concevoir, 3 musées : la métamorphose de l'Insectarium, le renouvellement du Biodôme et la construction d'un nouveau pavillon de verre au Jardin botanique. Concours en deux étapes, ils appelaient la création de lieux vivants, évolutifs, perméables et écologiques tout en favorisant l’expérience immersive des visiteurs. Une trentaine d’équipes composées d’architectes, de muséologues et de concepteurs d’espaces immersifs provenant de neuf pays différents ont soumis leurs projets à un jury présidé par l’architecte français Édouard François. Les critères ne manquaient pas d’ambition :

- Créer une expérience immersive, une émotion qui rétablira le contact avec la nature;
- Viser un équilibre entre l'expérience de visite et l'architecture;
- Créer une architecture identitaire, qui parle;
- Intégrer une approche biophilique;
- Atteindre une certification LEED Platine;
- Profiter de l'opportunité pour produire un concept architectural;
- Développer une architecture qui sera encore efficace dans 25-30 ans;

En un mot, Espace pour la vie invitait à la conception de projets à l’identité forte, capables non seulement d’attirer, mais surtout d’augmenter la clientèle.

Dans le cadre du concours pour l’Insectarium, la proposition de l’équipe pluridisciplinaire composée de l’agence allemande Kuehn Malvezzi, des firmes d’architecture québécoises Pelletier de Fontenay et Jodoin Lamarre Pratte en association avec les bureaux d‘ingénieurs Dupras Ledoux et NCK, fut sélectionnée par le jury pour sa maîtrise de la sensibilité et de l’expérience muséale qu’elle plaçait sous l’emblème de la métamorphose. Cherchant une réponse innovante à « la notion de code génétique du programme et de l'Insectarium », le consortium a transformé le centre « biophilique » en circuit scénographique et a disposé la création de véritables espaces expérientiels où l’insecte est roi. En proposant un parcours orienté sur une rupture d’échelle et de perspective, le musée offrait la chance aux visiteurs d’admirer et d’entretenir une expérience sensorielle avec les insectes. C’est dans un rapport de l’architecture à la nature que l’équipe lauréate se distingua des trois autres finalistes (Lacaton & Vassal, Druot, FABG et SNC-Lavalin ; Atelier Ville Architecture Paysage, Marc Mimram, Arup ing. et Martin Roy ing. ; in Situ atelier d'architecture, Bouthillette Parizeau ing. et SDK ing.). Par la nouvelle architecture identitaire en verre, le bâtiment de l’Insectarium devenait invisible au profit de la nature et de son interprétation. Cette vision du projet permettait la création d’un espace où les insectes, la nature et les humains pouvaient vivre en symbiose. Par une séquence immersive de paysages sous l’eau et sous terre, en apnée à la surface, l’Insectarium se transformait en corps mnémotechnique ravivant le rapprochement des humains et des insectes. Marc Carignan, qui contribuait alors régulièrement au journal Métro, en concluait que : « [le] design simple, mais efficace visera à stimuler nos cinq sens au fil d’un parcours métaphorique qui nous plongera dans la peau […] des insectes ». Les travaux n’ayant débuté qu’en 2019, et la réouverture de l’Insectarium étant prévue pour l’été 2021, il sera bientôt possible d’en juger.

Le concours du renouvellement du Biodôme fut remporté par l’équipe constituée de la firme d’architecture américaine/anglaise AZPML, et des firmes québécoises, KANVA et NEUF architectes, et des agences d’ingénierie Bouthillette Parizeau et NCK. La proposition gagnante misait sur une immersion totale au sein de quatre écosystèmes. En travaillant la forme des grands murs sous la coupole dessinée par Taillibert, le complexe culturel exploitait les espaces interstitiels pour offrir un potentiel de renouveau. Par ses multiples interventions innovatrices et immersives, le projet lauréat se distinguait des 3 autres équipes finalistes (Cloud 9, Coll. Leclerc, N.F.O.E., Pageau Morel ing. et SDK ing. ; Atelier Ville, MARC ARUP et Martin Roy ; BNIM, L'OEUF, Architecture 49 et Dupras Ledoux). Supports du parcours muséologique, les murs procuraient aux visiteurs une diversité de points de contact avec la nature et la faune. Visitant la réalisation à l’ouverture en 2020, le journaliste T'Cha Dunlevy confirmera dans un article de Montreal Gazette « (qu’)une fois à l'intérieur, les visiteurs sont accueillis par une convergence organique d'imposants murs blancs, qui se plient et s'inclinent de manière ludique - évoquant les formes des étonnantes sculptures en acier de l'artiste américain Richard Serra - menant à un atrium luminescent à partir duquel on peut accéder à n'importe lequel des cinq mondes intuitivement réimaginés du Biodôme ». Le Biodôme renouvelé n’est donc plus seulement un centre muséal, mais devient un centre éducatif où déambulent librement les visiteurs. Il aura fallu attendre quatre ans après le lancement du concours pour que les travaux de réhabilitation débutent.

Perdante du concours pour l’Insectarium, pour lequel elle avait proposé une esquisse sans doute jugée trop sommaire ou trop minimaliste – vertus qui seront depuis amplement soulignées par l’octroi du Prix Priztker – l’équipe composée des agences d’architecture françaises Lacaton et Vassal et Frederic Druot Architecture, de la firme québécoise FABG et de la firme d’ingénierie SNC Lavalin fut lauréate du concours du Pavillon de verre du Jardin botanique. Il s’agissait d’une boîte de verre compacte mettant en valeur la roseraie de façon audacieuse et d’une fragilité sans doute risquée compte tenu des hivers à Montréal. Son architecture caractérisée par un volume simple et une double enveloppe devait constituer un microclimat protégé et clément pour la précieuse collection de roses. La « roseraie de verre » devenait non seulement un lieu poétique et décoratif, mais faisait l’objet d’échanges et de discussions en cohérence avec la mission de conservation, d’éducation et de recherche du Jardin botanique. Pourtant, même si les trois autres finalistes (In situ atelier d'architecture, Bouthillette Parizeau ing. et SDK ing. ; Saucier Perrotte, Pageau Morel ing. et Pasquin St-Jean ing. ; Kuehn Malvezzi, Pelletier de Fontenay, Jodoin Lamarre Pratte, Dupras Ledoux ing. et SDK ing.) répondaient aux critères envisagés par l’Espace pour la vie, le projet gagnant se démarquait par un concept clair illustrant une esthétique raffinée et minimaliste pour un lieu où devaient se rencontrer poésie et convivialité.

Ces 3 concours étaient prometteurs. La ville héritait du travail de trois grandes firmes d’architecture de renom international en Kuehn Malvezzi, AZPML et Lacaton et Vassal. Ce fut sans compter avec les permutations politiques. Comme le mentionnait Jeanne Corriveau dans un article du Devoir en 2017, « en 2014, le gouvernement de Pauline Marois avait accordé un montant de 45 millions pour financer trois projets d’Espace pour la vie, soit l’agrandissement de l’Insectarium, le réaménagement du Biodôme et la construction d’un pavillon de verre au Jardin botanique. Ce financement a cependant été retiré par le gouvernement Couillard, ce qui force la Ville à assumer la totalité des coûts ». Résultat, ce fut le projet du Pavillon de Verre qui écopa pour laisser le champ libre à la réhabilitation du Biodôme et de l’Insectarium.

Depuis, la firme Lacaton et Vassal a été couronnée du célébrissime prix Pritzker en 2021. Ce prix, autoproclamé « Nobel de l’architecture », a amplement souligné les qualités de sobriété et d’économie de cette agence française qui prône une architecture durable où la responsabilité ne concerne pas seulement les êtres humains, mais bien la planète. Les organisateurs doivent certainement regretter d’autant plus amèrement l’abandon de la Roseraie que l’architecture de Lacaton et Vassal symbolise aujourd’hui mondialement l’institution Espace pour la vie dans sa mission essentielle. Il est encore temps de chercher un financement, mais la facture des honoraires risque cette fois d’être beaucoup plus salée.

Andy Nguyen, Jean-Pierre Chupin


Références :

Jeanne Corriveau, « Insectarium: la facture de l’agrandissement grimpe », Le Devoir, 22 novembre 2017. https://www.ledevoir.com/politique/montreal/513621/montreal-la-facture-grimpe-pour-l-agrandissement-de-l-insectarium.

Macarignan, « Futur Insectarium: L’architecture invisible », Journal Métro, 19 janvier 2017. https://journalmetro.com/uncategorized/1078260/futur-insectarium-larchitecture-invisible/.

T'Cha Dunlevy, « Revamped Biodôme reopening after two-year, $37-million renovation », Montreal Gazette, 20 août 2020. https://montrealgazette.com/news/local-news/revamped-biodome-reopens-after-two-year-37-million-renovation.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires