220 competitions documented 459 competitions listed
5 860 projects 57 289 documents
When the construction site turns into a forbidden party
by Marc-Antoine Fournier, Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2022-01-19
The City of Montreal launched the Vivre le chantier Sainte-Cath: Mise en valeur de la rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest competition in the spring of 2016 with the aim of mitigating the impacts of the redevelopment of one of its most emblematic arteries. A subject rarely tackled, the mitigation of construction sites gave rise to a multidisciplinary reflection on the transformation of the city, taking advantage of "a space of freedom, outside the perennial character of urban spaces that are under construction, to create new experiences" (Marmen, 2014). The projects in this competition invite us to reflect on the capacity of a construction site to reinforce the festival identity of a metropolis such as Montreal. The unfolding of the competition, however, did not go as planned.

Sainte-Catherine Street was for a long time the main commercial artery of Montreal and one of the most important in Canada. With 1,200 businesses, stores, restaurants and theaters, it crosses the downtown area from west to east, linking numerous neighborhoods of contrasting natures. Three universities make it a student hub and more than 500,000 people travel along it every day. The diversity of users and events make Sainte-Catherine Street a gathering place at the crossroads of work, culture, education, heritage, and therefore tourism.

The vast restructuring of Sainte-Catherine Street was an opportunity to organize the competition Vivre le chantier Sainte-Cath, which attempted not only to mitigate the site’s direct impacts but also to define a festive experience. The symposium Quel chantier! - Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains, held in the fall of 2014 by the Bureau de design de la Ville de Montréal in collaboration with the Cité du design de Saint-Étienne, allowed to formulate preliminary recommendations that guided the development of the program:

- Changing users' perceptions of the process of a construction site by making it attractive and lively;
- Defining an innovative urban experience in the context of the construction site;
- Directing and informing all street users in a safe and efficient manner;
- Reducing the nuisance associated with the various works and obstacles;
- Allowing the diffusion of information in situ relative to the evolution of the construction site in real time;
- Informing users about future developments (program).

The competition invited multidisciplinary teams (architecture, urban planning, marketing, graphic design, industrial design and communication). Of the eighteen original competitors, five finalists were selected, each one receiving a lump sum of $24,900. The winning firm, KANVA, was awarded $695,000 but the project was unfortunately abandoned when the municipal administration changed.

The line between rationality and creativity proved difficult to negotiate for most of the finalists. Workshop Architecture proposed an elevated public plaza; an island floating above the site. Combined with a network of metal walkways, the plaza is a space of "considerable impact" (jury report) and offers spectacular views. Standard construction equipment such as a gantry crane, metal staircases, and a construction elevator, made the team confident in the installation’s capacity to adapt to the ongoing construction site; a belief that the jury did not share, noting that "functionally and operationally, the installations use construction site materials and equipment, which is an advantage in terms of use, handling, and sturdiness [...] (but) the jury has a poor understanding of the integration between the installations and the construction site." (jury report).

The Intégral Jean Beaudoin team proposed a series of six squares with varied characteristics deployed in a "large ribbon of temporary public spaces" (team text): Bleury observatory, Saint-James square, construction site observatory and temporary squares in Phillips square, Ville-Marie pier, Mansfield cinema stage. The diversity of the typologies developed were intended to generate a variety of appropriations that would suit the users’ different needs, but the jury underlined the installations’ lack of adaptability: "the heavy and massive structures do not present the modularity and flexibility necessary in the context of an evolving construction site" (jury report). The project was considered too generic; it "could just as easily have been built in another context" (jury report).
L. McComber's team relied on a strategy of light and modular installations. The use of standard construction equipment such as concrete barriers, site fences, scaffolding and platforms allowed installations to adapt to the construction in progress, while providing a signage and information interface for users. The jury appreciated the proposal’s graphic identity: "the signage is sober, efficient and chic like Sainte-Catherine Street" (jury report). However, there were doubts about the long-term attractiveness of the concept and its apparent lack of vision: "the interventions are characterized by several small-scale gestures that are not on the scale of the major commercial artery that is Sainte-Catherine" (Jury Report).

Annexe U invited the celebration of the excessiveness of Sainte-Catherine through a series of walkways, towers and modular installations acting as "a unifying gesture, a seam perpetuating the dynamism of the artery" (team text). The graphic signature, refined in the second stage, and the aesthetic language of the project seduced the jury, which nevertheless noted the distance between the team’s discourse and its proposal: "the performance responds to the issues of the program, but it does not however deliver the excess and the effervescence that the team speaks of. The user experience is also not very varied. It is more about contemplation and little about wandering" (jury report).

The winning proposal, developed by KANVA, offered a surprising and original response to the problem of site mitigation, combining flexibility and iconicity in a bold biomorphic installation. A series of gigantic inflatable arches are deployed on Sainte-Catherine Street like a protective shell to shelter, protect, animate, and articulate the construction site. The ideas of mutation and transformation associated to major urban works are translated into a formal language reminiscent of biological metamorphosis, more precisely of the "process [...] guiding an organism from its embryonic stage to its final stage" here referred to as IMAGO (team text). The evolutionary parallel poetically mirrors the urban development and the transformation process that the project accompanies. The proposed experience is the most convincing out of the finalists’ projects, offering "a surprising promenade and a rich experience" (jury report). The inflatable modules had to be made of recyclable high-strength polyester composite that responds to different climatic conditions while still being washable and easily replaceable. The lightness of the structures had to allow for quick and efficient installation, de-installation, and modulation with as little impact on the progress of the work as possible. In its report, the jury praised the relevance of KANVA's environmental response "both in their material and narrative approach" (jury report). The arches partially contain the dust and noise of the site while the perforations in the structure prevent water and snow overloads and facilitate natural ventilation. It should be noted that signage, although strongly exploited by competing firms, is given only minimal attention here. The firm’s aesthetic identity having been criticized in stage 1, KANVA wanted to stray away from the graphic route: a choice that seems to have played in the team's favor.
The projects of the final stage offered a limited range of interpretations, a series of variations on the same theme. Marie-Claude Plourde, architect, notes the redundancy of the proposals in a post published on Kollectif, positing the hypothesis that a directive and well-documented brief may have standardized the finalist projects (Plourde, 2016). The widespread use of catchy keywords is indicative of the commercial and event-driven nature of the project with many teams having included marketing and communications experts into the design process.

Despite a gesture described as "emblematic on the scale of Sainte-Catherine Street and its importance" (jury report), one can question the links that anchor the winning proposal to its context. As part of the event Quel chantier! - Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains, Jean-Pierre Grunfeld argues that a construction site cannot be separated from its context, it "must become a reflection of the project that gives rise to it and in this sense cannot be reproduced from one place to another [...] it then rises from the generic character of the usual experience of a site without a project" (Marmen, 2014). KANVA's arches, although elegant, could have been developed in response to any urban construction site. Tudor Radulescu, architect and co-founder of the firm asserts that "[the] concept can be used on other commercial arteries. Not just on Sainte-Catherine" (Colpron, 2019). Where IMAGO fits into the Montreal context, however, is in the festive nature of the proposal. Montreal is a city of festivities and ephemeral outpourings, hosting over forty festivals annually. These festivals and the temporary installations that accompany them are part of the city's identity and remain a necessary space for experimentation. KANVA's biomorphic structures are part of this festive and effervescent atmosphere that is typical of Montreal, not by their form, but rather by their singular experimental vision. We will never be able to verify those assumptions, however, as the winning project fell victim to the change of municipal guard, abruptly cancelled by the Plante administration which cited the possible schedule delays the project could elicit.

Colpron, Suzanne. «Concours d'architecture: un projet boudé par Montréal de nouveau primé.» La Presse (2019). 9 janvier 2022. .

Marmen, Patrick. Colloque Quel chantier! Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains. Synthèse. Ville de Montréal. Montréal, 2014. 9 janvier 2022. .

Plourde, Marie-Claude. Le chantier pour repenser la ville durable? Regard sur Sainte-Cath. 30 septembre 2016. 9 janvier 2022. .
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

221 concours documentés 461 concours répertoriés
5 882 projets 59 423 documents
Quand le chantier tourne à la fête interdite
par Marc-Antoine Fournier, Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2022-01-19
Au printemps 2016, la Ville de Montréal lançait le concours Vivre le chantier Sainte-Cath : Mise en valeur de la rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest dans le but d’atténuer les impacts des travaux de réaménagement de l’une des artères les plus emblématiques de la métropole. Rarement prise en compte, la mitigation des chantiers donnera lieu à une réflexion pluridisciplinaire sur la transformation de la ville en profitant « d’un espace de liberté à l’extérieur du caractère pérenne des espaces urbains qui sont en construction pour créer de nouvelles expériences » (Marmen, 2014). Les projets de ce concours invitent à réfléchir sur la capacité d’un chantier à renforcer l’identité festivalière d’une métropole tel que Montréal. Le chantier du concours de chantier ne s’est pourtant pas réalisé comme prévu.
La rue Sainte-Catherine fut longtemps l’artère commerciale principale de Montréal et l’une des plus importantes au Canada. Regroupant 1200 commerces, boutiques, restaurants et salles de spectacles, elle traverse le centre-ville d’ouest en est, liant de nombreux quartiers de natures contrastées. Trois universités en font un pôle étudiant et plus de 500 000 personnes s’y déplacent tous les jours. La diversité des utilisateurs et des évènements font de la rue Sainte-Catherine un lieu rassembleur à la croisée du travail, de la culture, de l’éducation, du patrimoine et donc du tourisme.

Le vaste chantier de restructuration de la rue Sainte Catherine fut l’occasion d’organiser le concours Vivre le chantier Sainte-Cath par lequel on tentait, non seulement de mitiger les impacts directs mais aussi de définir une expérience festive. Le colloque Quel chantier! – Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains tenu à l’automne 2014 par le Bureau de design de la Ville de Montréal en collaboration avec la Cité du design de Saint-Étienne a permis de formuler quelques pistes préliminaires qui ont guidé l’élaboration du programme :

- Changer les perceptions des usagers relatives au déroulement d’un chantier en le rendant attrayant et vivant;
- Définir une expérience urbaine innovante dans le cadre du chantier;
- Acheminer et diriger, de façon efficace et sécuritaire, tous les usagers de la rue;
- Diminuer les nuisances associées aux différents travaux et entraves;
- Permettre la diffusion d’information in situ relative à l’évolution du chantier en temps réel;
- Informer les usagers au sujet des aménagements futurs (programme).

Le concours invitait à constituer des équipes multidisciplinaires (architecture, urbanisme, marketing, design graphique, design industriel et communication). Des dix-huit concurrents originaux, cinq finalistes ont été retenus, recevant la somme forfaitaire de 24 900$. La firme lauréate, KANVA, s’est méritée la somme de 695 000$, mais la réalisation du projet fut malheureusement abandonnée lors du changement de l'administration municipale.
La ligne entre rationalité et créativité s’est avérée difficile à négocier pour la plupart des propositions finalistes. Workshop Architecture proposait une place publique en hauteur; une île qui flotte au-dessus du chantier. Alliée à un réseau de passerelles métalliques, la place constitue un espace à « l’impact considérable » (rapport du jury) et aux vues en plongée spectaculaires. Constituée d’équipements de construction standards comme une grue à portique, des escaliers métalliques et un ascenseur de chantier, l’équipe fait le pari que l’installation saura s’adapter au chantier en cours; conviction que le jury ne partageât pas en notant qu’ « au plan fonctionnel et opérationnel, les installations utilisent des matériaux et des équipements de chantier, ce qui représente un avantage en termes d’utilisation, de manipulation et de robustesse […] (mais) Le jury perçoit mal l’intégration entre les installations et le chantier » (rapport du jury).

L’équipe d’Intégral Jean Beaudoin proposait une série de six places aux caractéristiques variées, déployées en un « grand ruban d’espaces publics temporaires » (texte de l’équipe): estrade-observatoire Bleury, parvis Saint-James, observatoire de chantier et places temporaires du square Phillips, quai Ville-Marie, estrade-cinéma Mansfield. La diversité des typologies développées devait générer des appropriations variées à la mesure des différents usagers de la rue, mais le jury soulignât le caractère peu adaptable des installations : « les lourdes et massives structures ne présentent pas la modularité et la flexibilité nécessaires dans le cadre d’un chantier en évolution » (rapport du jury). Le projet fut considéré trop générique; il « aurait pu tout aussi bien voir le jour dans un autre contexte » (rapport du jury).

L’équipe de L. McComber misait sur une stratégie d’installations légères et modulables. L’utilisation d’équipements de construction standards tels que glissières de béton, clôtures de chantier, échafaudages et plateformes permet de s’adapter facilement au chantier en cours tout en offrant une interface signalétique et informative aux usagers. L’identité graphique de la proposition fut appréciée du jury : « la signalétique est sobre, efficace et chic comme la rue Sainte-Catherine » (rapport du jury). On doutait cependant de l’attractivité à long terme du concept et du manque de vision : « les interventions se caractérisent par plusieurs gestes de moindre envergure qui ne sont pas à l’échelle de la grande artère commerciale qu’est Sainte-Catherine » (rapport du jury).

Annexe U invitait à célébrer la démesure de l’avenue Sainte-Catherine à travers une série de passerelles, de tours et d’installations modulables comme « geste unificateur, une couture perpétrant le dynamisme de l’artère » (texte de l’équipe). La signature graphique, raffinée en deuxième étape, et le langage formel et esthétique du projet séduisirent le jury qui relevât cependant la distance entre le discours la proposition : « la prestation répond aux enjeux du programme, mais elle ne livre toutefois pas la démesure et l’effervescence dont parle l’équipe. L’expérience des usagers est également peu variée. Elle se situe davantage dans la contemplation et traite peu de la déambulation » (rapport du jury).

La proposition lauréate, développée par KANVA, offrait une réponse étonnante et originale à la problématique de mitigation du chantier, alliant flexibilité et iconicité en une installation biomorphique audacieuse. Une série d’arches gonflables gigantesques devaient se déployer sur la rue Sainte-Catherine comme un écrin protecteur afin d’abriter, de protéger, d’animer et d’articuler le chantier et ses usagers. On s’inspire ici des idées de mutation et de transformation relatives aux grands travaux urbains transposées en un langage formel rappelant la métamorphose biologique, plus précisément le « processus […] guidant un organisme de son stade embryonnaire jusqu’à son stade final » ici nommé IMAGO (texte de l’équipe). Le parallèle évolutif reflète avec poésie le développement urbain ainsi que le processus de transformation que le projet accompagne. L’expérience proposée est la plus convaincante des projets finalistes offrant « une déambulation surprenante et une expérience riche » (rapport du jury). Les modules gonflables devaient être constitués de composite polyester haute résistance recyclable qui répondent aux différentes conditions climatiques en étant lavables et facilement remplaçables. La légèreté des structures devait permettre une installation, une désinstallation et une modulation rapides et efficaces qui auront peu d’impacts sur l’avancement des travaux. Dans son rapport, le jury salue la pertinence de la réponse environnementale de KANVA « tant dans leur approche matérielle que narrative » (rapport du jury). Les arches permettent de contenir partiellement la poussière et le bruit du chantier alors que les perforations de la structure permettent d’éviter les surcharges d’eau et de neige tout en facilitant une ventilation naturelle optimale. Il est à noter que la dimension signalétique, fortement exploitée par les firmes concurrentes, ne fait ici l’objet que d’une attention minimale. L’identité graphique ayant été critiquée à l’étape 1, KANVA voulait reléguer cet aspect en deuxième étape : un choix qui semble avoir joué en faveur de l’équipe.

Les projets finalistes, à l’image des projets soumis à l’étape 1, offraient une gamme d’interprétations limitée, laissant l’impression de variations sur un même thème. Marie-Claude Plourde, architecte, relève la redondance des propositions dans un billet publié sur Kollectif, avançant la possibilité qu’un cahier des charges directif et bien documenté ait pu uniformiser les projets finalistes (Plourde, 2016). L’utilisation généralisée de mots-clés accrocheurs est révélatrice du caractère commercial et événementiel recherché; on remarque la contribution d’experts marketing et de communication au sein de plusieurs équipes.

Malgré un geste qualifié « d’emblématique à l’échelle de la rue Sainte-Catherine et de son importance » (rapport du jury), on peut questionner les liens qui ancrent la proposition lauréate dans son contexte. Dans le cadre de l’événement Quel chantier! – Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains, Jean-Pierre Grunfeld soutient que le projet de chantier ne saurait être distinct de son contexte, il « doit devenir le reflet du projet qui le fait naître et en ce sens ne peut être reproductible d’un lieu à un autre […] il s’élève alors du caractère générique de l’expérience usuelle d’un chantier sans projet » (Marmen, 2014). Les arches de KANVA, bien qu’élégantes, auraient pu être développée en réponse à n’importe quel chantier urbain, tel que le sous-entend Tudor Radulescu, architecte et cofondateur de la firme : « [le] concept peut servir sur d’autres artères commerciales. Pas juste sur Sainte-Catherine » (Colpron, 2019). Là où IMAGO s’inscrit dans le contexte montréalais, cependant, est dans le caractère festif de la proposition. Montréal est une ville de fêtes et d’effusions éphémères, hôte de plus de quarante festivals annuellement. Ces festivals et les installations temporaires qui les accompagnent font partie prenante de l’identité de la ville et demeurent un espace d’expérimentation nécessaire. Les structures biomorphiques de KANVA s’inscrivent dans cette atmosphère de fête et d’effervescence typique à Montréal, non pas par la forme, mais par leur vision expérimentale singulière. Ce que nous ne pourrons jamais vérifier de visu puisque la réalisation du projet lauréat, victime du changement de garde municipale, fut brutalement annulée par l’administration Plante qui a évoqué les impacts incertains du projet sur l’échéancier des travaux.

Colpron, Suzanne. «Concours d'architecture: un projet boudé par Montréal de nouveau primé.» La Presse (2019). 9 janvier 2022. .

Marmen, Patrick. Colloque Quel chantier! Le design au secours des grands chantiers urbains. Synthèse. Ville de Montréal. Montréal, 2014. 9 janvier 2022. .

Plourde, Marie-Claude. Le chantier pour repenser la ville durable? Regard sur Sainte-Cath. 30 septembre 2016. 9 janvier 2022.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires