221 competitions documented 460 competitions listed
5 871 projects 58 771 documents
Toward a Canadian Culture of Architectural Competitions
by Jean-Pierre Chupin, published 2022-05-19
The Canadian Competitions Catalogue is proud to be first to presents all the projects submitted by the 11 national and international teams selected to participate in the two phases "Block 2" competition in Ottawa in 2021 and 2022. The administrative term "Block 2" does not say anything about the democratic, cultural, historical, heritage and urban importance of this segment of Wellington Street located in front of the Canadian Parliament. In the words of John Rauston Saul, the moral compass of this great competition, it was no more and no less than the completion of Parliament Square, which began a century and a half ago in a great inaugural architectural competition.

To propose to rename this site "Parliament Square" would be an initiative that is all the more powerful and appropriate in terms of "Canadian-style" democracy, since the term "precinct" only affirms the frank, secure and - dare we say it - "police-like" limits of this public space where the complexity of the Canadian Federation is expressed. Since I had the honour of being associated with this process in 2016 through meetings and presentations to the Public Services and Procurement Canada team in charge of Parliament Hill, I can testify that it was a question of pushing the limits and preserving democratic openness from the beginning to the end of this adventure.

In July 2016, in a special issue of Architecture Québec magazine, I had written an informed - and altogether, concerned - article on the Quebec competitions of the 2010s. This reflection had aroused the interest of Thierry Montpetit, the architect in charge of the thorny Block 2 file. This moody text was entitled: "There is no point in competing if the competition is not up to scratch". In it, I complained about a way of doing things that had crept into Quebec and that increasingly limited the exercise to 3 competitors, to juries that were a little too expeditious, and to jury reports that were emptied of their didactic and informative role. Quebec had been for a long time a precursor in the field of public competitions and there was reason to be alarmed by a trivialization or worse by an extreme simplification of the formula. Thierry Montpetit was then ambivalent about the relevance of a competition, but he wished to initiate a debate within the service in charge of restructuring the parliamentary hill. Armed with a clear definition, that a complex situation required a complex and proven democratic procedure such as a competition, it was not difficult for me to list the elements of the situation. It was early 2017, when heritage and urban issues were competing with tensions between local and national issues. The main concern was urban integration, but we didn't want to dodge the magnitude of the national symbol. We wanted to ensure the functionality of the parliamentary offices - since it is a large machine or, if we prefer, a parliamentary organization - but we also wanted to reassure citizens about the proper use of public funds. All the elements of a great competition seemed already in place.

In order to better inform the government experts about the subtleties of the competition, I had put together a series of historical, theoretical and comparative. slide presentations, and the civil servants and their guests were amused by these academic presentations, which were as long as they were far from the "executive summaries" in the form of "bullets points" that pretend to summarize everything in 5 points. I spoke as much about the Duomo of Florence as about the beautiful series of library competitions in Quebec, for which the audience, although not very inclined to emotion, was very admiring. My mission was to deconstruct the supposed virtues of calls for tender to reveal those of competitions. But the shadow of the sadly failed "Bank Street" competition, at the beginning of the 2000s, on a site adjacent to Parliament Hill, with similar but lesser stakes, regularly came back on the table as a counter-example obscuring all the discussions of the representatives of public procurement in Canada. It was necessary to deconstruct this apparent failure to discover that it hid more dubious political decisions than problems with the functioning of the jury.

The stakes of the "Block 2" site seemed complex enough to compare with historical and legendary competitions, but one last argument was missing. In retrospect, it is not certain that my team and I would have succeeded in convincing people of the need for the competition, so much resistance was displayed around the coffee machine at these information meetings. The argument would come from higher up as on June 21, 2017, Prime Minister Trudeau announced that the former U.S. Embassy – right in the middle of Block 2 - would become a space under the governance of Indigenous Peoples. The paradoxical reversal of this symbol of U.S. imperialism, a political move to be sure, made this house of Indigenous Peoples, or "Indigenous Peoples Space," an injunction whose added complexity now left no room for the usual public procurement practices. After this highly political and democratic decision, the formula of the competition imposed itself with force. From a hypothetical modern competition with typical stakes, we moved, within a few hours, to a true hypermodern competition placed under the aegis of equity, diversity, inclusion and reconciliation. The so-called "Block 2" competition was born. Five years later, we can appreciate the results and especially understand what made some of the best architectural teams in the world sweat when faced with the magnitude of this complex situation. The reader can judge this by comparing the proposals.

The space of this editorial is too limited to explain and recount these five years of competition development, nor all the lessons that accompanied its implementation, including the introduction of the German team of (phase eins) - undoubtedly the best competition organization agency in the world - as well as the role of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in the regulation of the procedure with the attentive but benevolent eyes of Peter Ortved and Jonathan Bisson. It will be necessary one day to explain in detail all that the team, piloted by Assistant Deputy Minister Rob Wright with the support of Thierry Montpetit, produced in terms of expert reports, preliminary analysis, preparatory meetings, etc. Everything, absolutely everything that constitutes an excellent competition was mobilized in the service of quality. For the sake of confidentiality, we will unfortunately not be able to recount the hours and days of deliberations of an immense jury coordinated with the greatest respect for the diversity of points of view by the architects Bruce Haden and Anne McIIlroy. However, as a researcher familiar with national and international competitions, I would like to express my admiration for the impeccable organization of this great historic competition.

Yest, at the same time, we can only regret that the Ordre des Architectes du Québec has decided to abolish the competition committee and the competition accreditation procedure in December 2021, at a time when Quebec's expertise was being admired by Ottawa's elected officials. The validation procedure for Quebec competitions, which was put in place in the mid-1990s - I remember, as I was there - has long protected clients, competitors and professional advisors alike. To think that everything is fine now as far as the organization of competitions is concerned, to renounce to check their organization, while undermining the role of competitions in the amplitude of public procurement, is first of all, to dangerously underestimate the fragility of a complex procedure. Competitions are never cast in the concrete of an infallible methodology. Each competition is unique, because each situation is unique. We have yet to understand how abolishing the OAQ competition committee will affect a 3-decades competition culture, but the fact remains that a significant part of Quebec's expertise will have actively contributed to the success of the "Block2" competition.

I hope that the expertise developed for this competition will serve as an encouragement and that we will witness in the coming years the emergence of a new competition culture in Canada. Competitions are certainly not the only roadmaps to quality as the will also benefit from all those initiatives and policies currently in the making that aim to ensure the highest expectations for public buildings and environments in Canada. These 11 projects for Block 2, that a small team of 4 students from the Université de Montréal has just juxtaposed on the pages of the Canadian Competitions Catalogue, already offer themselves as a great lesson in contemporary architecture. You may now be the judge!

Jean-Pierre Chupin, Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence.
IMPORTANT NOTICE : Unless otherwise indicated, photographs of buildings and projects are from professional or institutional archives. All reproduction is prohibited unless authorized by the architects, designers, office managers, consortiums or archives centers concerned. The researchers of the Canada Research Chair in Architecture, Competitions and Mediations of Excellence are not held responsible for any omissions or inaccuracies, but appreciate all comments and pertinent information that will permit necessary modifications during future updates.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partners

221 concours documentés 460 concours répertoriés
5 871 projets 58 771 documents
Vers une culture canadienne des concours d’architecture
par Jean-Pierre Chupin, publié le 2022-05-19
Le Catalogue des concours canadiens est fier de présenter en primeur l’intégralité des projets soumis par les 11 équipes nationales et internationales sélectionnées pour participer concours en deux phases dit du « Bloc 2 » à Ottawa en 2021 et 2022. L’expression administrative « Bloc 2 » ne dit rien pourtant de l’importance à la fois démocratique, culturelle, historique, patrimoniale et urbaine de ce segment de la rue Wellington situé en face du Parlement canadien. Pour reprendre les mots justes et sages de John Rauston Saul, qui fut le compas moral de ce grand concours, il s’agissait ni plus ni moins que de compléter la place du Parlement commencée, il y a un siècle et demi, dans un grand concours d’architecture inaugural.

Proposer de renommer ce site en « Place du Parlement » serait une initiative d’autant plus forte et appropriée sur le plan de la démocratie « à la canadienne » que celle « d’enceinte parlementaire », « precinct » en anglais, ne fait qu’affirmer les limites franches, sécuritaires et - osons le terme - « policières » de cet espace public où s’exprime la complexité de la Fédération canadienne. Puisque j’eus l’honneur d’être associé dès à ce processus dès 2016 au fil des rencontres et des présentations devant l’équipe de Services publics et approvisionnement Canada en charge de la colline Parlementaire, je suis en mesure de témoigner qu’il aura été question de repousser des limites et de préserver l’ouverture démocratique du début à la fin de cette aventure.

En juillet 2016, dans un numéro spécial de la revue Architecture Québec, j’avais écrit un article informé – et somme toute inquiet - sur les concours québécois des années 2010. Cette réflexion avait suscité l’intérêt de Thierry Montpetit, architecte en charge de l’épineux dossier du Bloc 2. Ce texte d’humeur s’intitulait pourtant : « Rien ne sert de concourir si le concours n’est pas au point ». J’y pestais contre une façon de faire qui s’était insinuée au Québec et qui limitait de plus en plus souvent l’exercice à 3 concurrents, à des jurys un peu trop expéditifs et à des rapports de jurys vidés de leur rôle didactique et informatifs. Le Québec avait été de longue date un précurseur en matière de concours publics et il y avait de quoi s'alarmer d’une banalisation ou pire d’une extrême simplification de la formule. Thierry Montpetit se disait alors ambivalent sur la pertinence d’un concours, mais il souhaitait initier un débat au sein du service chargé de restructurer la colline parlementaire. Armé d’une définition claire, voulant qu’à situation complexe il fallait une procédure démocratique complexe et éprouvée telle que le concours, il ne me fut pas difficile de lister les éléments de la situation. Nous étions au début 2017 et les problématiques patrimoniales et urbaines le disputaient aux tensions entre les enjeux locaux et nationaux. On s’inquiétait surtout de l’intégration urbaine, mais on ne voulait pas esquiver l’ampleur du symbole national. On voulait assurer la fonctionnalité des bureaux parlementaires – puisqu’il s’agit bien d’une grande machine ou si l’on préfère d’un organisme parlementaire – mais on voulait tout autant rassurer les citoyens sur le bon usage des fonds publics. Tous les éléments d’un grand concours semblaient déjà réunis.

Pour mieux informer les experts du gouvernement aux subtilités de la mise en concours, j’avais constitué une série de présentations de diapositives historiques, théoriques, comparatives, etc., et les fonctionnaires et invités s’amusaient de ces présentations académiques aussi longues qu’éloignées des « executive summaries » en forme « bullets points » qui prétendent tout résumer tout en 5 points. Je parlais autant du Dôme de Florence que de la belle série de concours de bibliothèque au Québec, dont l’auditoire, pourtant peu enclin à l’émotion, se disait fort admiratif. Ma mission consistait à déconstruire les prétendues vertus des appels d’offres pour dévoiler celles des concours. Mais l’ombre du concours tristement raté de « Bank Street », au début des années 2000, sur un site jouxtant la colline parlementaire, avec des enjeux analogues bien que moindres, revenait régulièrement sur la table comme un contre-exemple obscurcissant toutes les discussions des représentants de la commande publique canadienne. Il fallut d’ailleurs déconstruire cet apparent échec pour découvrir qu’il cachait des décisions politiques douteuses plus que des problèmes de fonctionnement du jury.

Les enjeux du site du « Bloc 2 » m’apparaissaient déjà suffisamment complexes pour se comparer aux concours historiques et légendaires, mais il manquait un dernier argument. Rétrospectivement, il n’est pas certain que mon équipe et moi serions parvenus à convaincre de la nécessité du concours tant les résistances s’affichaient autour de la machine à café de ces réunions d’information. L’argument allait venir de plus haut puisque le 21 juin 2017, le Premier Ministre Trudeau annonça que l’ancienne ambassade des États-Unis – située en plein cœur du Block 2 - deviendrait un espace placé sous la gouverne des Peuples autochtones. Le retournement paradoxal de ce symbole de l’impérialisme américain, coup politique à n’en pas douter, faisait de cette maison des peuples autochtones, ou « Indigenous Peoples Space », une injonction dont le surcroît de complexité ne laissait désormais plus aucune place aux pratiques habituelles des marchés publics. Après cette décision hautement politique et démocratique, la formule du concours s’imposa avec force. D’un hypothétique concours moderne aux enjeux classiques, nous venions de passer en quelques heures à un véritable concours hypermoderne placé sous l’égide de l’équité, de la diversité, de l’inclusion et de la réconciliation. Le concours dit du « Bloc 2 » venait de naître. Cinq années plus tard, on peut en apprécier les résultats et surtout comprendre ce qui a fait transpirer certaines des meilleures équipes d’architectes au monde face à l’ampleur de cette situation complexe. Au lecteur d’en juger en comparant les propositions.

L’espace de cet éditorial est trop restreint pour expliquer et raconter ces cinq années d’élaboration du concours, ni tous les enseignements qui accompagnèrent sa mise en place, incluant l’introduction de l’équipe allemande de (phase eins) – sans aucun doute la meilleure agence d’organisation de concours au monde - ainsi que le rôle dévolu à l’Institut Royal d’Architecture du Canada dans la régulation de la procédure avec le regard attentif mais bienveillant de Peter Ortved et de Jonathan Bisson. Il faudra un jour expliquer dans le détail tout ce que l’équipe, pilotée par le Sous-ministre adjoint Rob Wright avec l’assistance de Thierry Montpetit, a produit en termes de rapports d’expertise, d’analyse préliminaires, de rencontres préparatoires, etc. Tout, absolument tout ce qui constitue un excellent concours a été mobilisé au service de la qualité. Par souci de confidentialité, on ne pourra malheureusement pas relater ces heures et ces journées de délibérations d’un immense jury coordonné dans le plus grand respect de la diversité des points de vue par les architectes Bruce Haden et Anne McIIlroy. On m’autorisera cependant, en qualité de chercheur familier des concours nationaux et internationaux, de simplement signifier mon admiration pour l’organisation impeccable de ce grand concours historique.

Pourtant, on me permettra du même élan de regretter que l’Ordre des Architectes du Québec ait décidé de supprimer le comité des concours et la procédure d’accréditation des concours en décembre 2021, au moment où l’expertise québécoise suscitait l’admiration des édiles d’Ottawa. La procédure de validation des concours québécois, qui fut mise en place au milieu des années 1990 – je me souviens, j’en étais – a longtemps permis de protéger à la fois les clients, les concurrents et les conseillers professionnels. Penser que tout va bien désormais en matière d’organisation des concours, renoncer à vérifier leur organisation, tout en minimisant le rôle des concours dans l’amplitude de la commande publique, c’est d’abord sous-estimer dangereusement la fragilité d’une procédure complexe. Le concours n’est jamais coulé dans le béton de la méthodologie infaillible. Chaque concours est unique, car chaque situation est unique. Nous verrons ce qu’il adviendra désormais d’une culture des concours au Québec constituée sur 3 décennies, mais il reste qu’une part non négligeable de l’expertise québécoise aura contribué activement à la réussite du concours du « Bloc2 ».

J’ose espérer enfin que l’expertise développée pour ce concours servira d’encouragement et que nous assisterons dans les prochaines années à l’émergence d’une nouvelle culture des concours au Canada. Les concours ne sont évidemment pas les seules feuilles de route de la qualité et ils bénéficieront aussi de toutes ces initiatives et politiques actuellement en germe qui visent à assurer la plus haute qualité pour les édifices et environnements publics au Canada. Ces 11 projets pour la « Place du Parlement », qu’une petite équipe de 4 étudiants de l’Université de Montréal vient de juxtaposer sur les pages du Catalogue des concours canadiens, s’offrent d’ici là comme une grande leçon d’architecture contemporaine. Il vous appartient d’en juger à présent!

Jean-Pierre Chupin, Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l’excellence.
AVIS IMPORTANT : Sauf indication contraire, les photographies d'édifices et de projets proviennent d'archives professionnelles ou institutionnelles. Toute reproduction ne peut être autorisée que par les architectes, concepteurs ou les responsables des bureaux, consortiums ou centres d'archives concernés. Les chercheurs de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en architecture, concours et médiations de l'excellence ne peuvent être tenus responsables pour les omissions ou les inexactitudes, mais souhaitent recevoir les commentaires et informations pertinentes afin d'effectuer les modifications nécessaires lors de la prochaine mise à jour.
info@ccc.umontreal.ca
Production
Partenaires